We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Comfortable”
Review of Hotel 5 Terre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 5 Terre
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Comfortable”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

After a 12 hour train ride from southern Germany, we were ready for a small bite to eat and a good nights sleep. When we got off the train in Monterosso we considered taking a cab as it was dark and after 9:00pm. My mother and I each had one piece of luggage and decided to wander down to the hotel after asking a cab driver for directions. Each with about 50 lbs of luggage the walk to Hotel 5 Terre was short and easy, I would say probably 10 minutes max.

We were welcomed at the hotel and given a map of the area as well as a train schedule without asking. We were escorted to our room within minutes and truly appreciated this gesture. We will call this check in absolutely painless. Yes, there were cats in the hotel and no, it was not the equivalent of a zombie apocalypse as some reviewers have insinuated. The cats do not go near any of the guest rooms, nor the sitting area or bar where guests use the wi-fi. I digress...

The rooms were quite small, and the bathroom was in unique form. I would not recommend our two double bed room to anything more than a couple. There is little room for turning around and three would certainly be a crowd. Beds were comfortable and clean. After a long day exploring each of the towns this is likely all you will need. Pardon this detail, but while sitting on the toilet my knees touched the shower, and such is a testament to the unique design of the bathroom. Neither the small room, nor the challenge of the toilet, took away from the quality of our stay as we were genuinely greeted every time we stepped foot in the lobby, we were referred to stores in town that would be of interest to us, and the coffee at the lobby bar was strong and fresh. All we really needed for our relaxing stay. To top it off there was an excellent European breakfast served each morning.

I will return to Hotel 5 Terre, and look forward to referring it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayCanada09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    171
    65
    15
    6
See reviews for
72
205
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed 6 nights in this hotel in June, the room had a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden, the bed was enormous (a must in the heat) It is located in the new part of Monterosso and only a short step to the train station and the beach, The owners are very friendly and helpful and the two cats in the foyer don't trouble anyone. The breakfast was excellent, a very big selection. The hotel is very clean and every morning the women were hard at work! Something you don't see a lot of in Ireland. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody visiting this area, they only do breakfast though, but there are plenty of nice restaurants around. There is a nice friendly atmosphere between the owners and the staff.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and there wasn't any noise, ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We booked the Hotel 5 Terre on-line as our regular travel agent could find a place for us. The Hotel is only a short walk from the beach with many restaurants and cafes nearby. It is also located within walking distance from the train station, over reasonably flat terrain with your suit cases in tow.

The rooms are modern with sound proof windows and block out shutters so you get a good nights sleep. The bathroom and shower cubicle, although recently renovated, was a bit small and a tight squeeze. Perhaps all rooms are not so squeezy. The room did not have a fridge but we were able to take ice from the bar to enjoy a night cap in our room.

Staff at the Hotel are friendly and very willing to please even though they do not speak much English. Part of the fun in travelling is to cross the language barrier and work it out!

A well presented and generous Buffet Breakfast was included with our accommodation which comprised of fresh ham, chease, hard boiled eggs and a range of fruit, croisants and jam. The coffee was also pleasant, rather than the often bitter coffee found in hotel dining rooms.

We also met several similar minded Australian's who had booked this hotel online after their travel agent could find anything.

Overall, the Hotel 5 Terre is in a good, quiet location close to everything you want in the best town on the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is owed by a couple. It is very clean and close to the train station. It is 10 minutes walk from train station and 7 minutes from the beach. We are family of 4 with luggages and we don't want to walk long distance uphill to old town. Breakfast at the hotel is wonderful. Check in and out are quick and easy. Hotel has small garden with fountain in front and upper level. We ordered cocktail and coffee each night and relax . Book direct and pay cash with cheaper price. No wifi in room but available in lobby or garden. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel has elevator so no problem with higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitesandbeache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

After being told I could call from the station for a pickup - I was eventually told on the phone to turn right & walk. Ok bad start. Two cats in the foyer to greet us - another bad sign to me. Our room was like a nursing home from 1950. I complained & we were moved. Ok - a bit better, but air con didn't work. I don't get the rave reviews this "quaint" place receives. Maybe my expectations were higher. Having said that it was clean, breakfast standard fare, neat & tidy & the staff as helpful as they could be..but this place is very dated.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in late May, 2014. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel is clean, offers a nice breakfast, and has a relaxing garden/terrace area. The room itself was not small but the shower in the bathroom was very small. We would stay here again. The walls are quite thin so if you are a light sleeper, I would suggest asking for a corner room. The first night we were there we didn't have a neighbor and there was no issue. However, the last night, we had to call the front desk to ask for them to quiet the neighboring guests. Even normal volume of speaking was able to be heard.

Room Tip: see suggestion above about walls being thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rissa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at Hotel 5T in May 2014 - my husband & I and our 2 daughters (ages 18 & 21). The staff were so friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean. The rooms are small, but similar in size to hotels we stayed at in Ireland and Spain so we weren't surprised. There was plenty of hot water and many rooms have A/C. Our daughters room had A/C but the first room they offered my husband and me did not. They found another room for us that did have AC and although it was on the back part of the hotel, it was really quiet. Breakfast was very good--with varieties of coffee, tea, & juice to drink, deli meats and cheeses along with several different types of bread were offered. Also fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt as well as hard boiled eggs were on the breakfast buffet. In regards to the cat situation, we only saw one inside the hotel and it was curled up on a towel on a chair near the front desk. We saw other cats outside & they were very mellow and didn't bother anyone. The wi-fi does only work in the lobby, but there's plenty of seating and it's clean and comfortable. We often had a 2nd cup of coffee in the lobby while we caught up on emails etc online. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
157 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
4.8 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 5 Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 5 Terre

Property: Hotel 5 Terre
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 21, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 5 Terre 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 5 Terre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Terre Hotel
Hotel 5 Terre Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing