We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a little beach time”
Review of Hotel 5 Terre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 5 Terre
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Okotoks, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a little beach time”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We picked this hotel because it advertised parking in Cinque Terre and we needed a car to get to the rest of our vacation. What we didn't expect to find was a great place to stay for some beach time and an overall pleasant 3 days. This is where everyone from any walk of life can stay and have a relaxing time. Putting the key on the hook when you leave your room seems odd at first, but it underlines the gentleness of the feel of this place. Breakfast was straightforward but good and when it came time to do laundry we were pointed to a commercial laundry that washed and dried all of our clothes and delivered it back to the hotel the same day. If you like friendliness and great staff this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travel4fun-eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    175
    67
    16
    6
See reviews for
73
213
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel was like stepping back in time. It felt like the set of a 50's movie and I loved it. It was spotlessly clean and the service was excellent. The breakfast was more than adequate and a nice start to the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My Italian is minimal and their English was minimal but we could communicate quite well. The lounge was very nice and we enjoyed the patio. Yes, the rooms were small but we found this throughout Italy. Hotel 5 Terre is in a great location, close to the beach, within walking distance to trains and restaurants. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed 6 nights at Hotel 5. Initial impressions were not great. The decor is very dated and the staff while friendly and accommodating, lack that reassuring sense of organization. However, I think much of this is about our perceptions of what a hotel is and once we adjusted our expectations, we settled in and enjoyed our stay. Everything was in pefect working order and very clean.The breakfast was good. Would I stay again? Probably.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomoreschoolfees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Trying to find a hotel in Cinque Terra I must say is difficult. If you've never been there you just have no idea about any of these cities and how far up the hills you have to walk. This hotel was very clean, spotless really. Rooms were nothing special but clean and comfortable. The breakfast/continental was good but nothing special but it filled our bellies before a long day of hiking. The hotel was easy to find and just a short walk from the train station along the beach. My only complaint was the noise at night if you have your window open (no air conditioning) so this is a must if you want any kind of air at all in the room. The noise from other guests and the neighborhood seemed to be loud and annoying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sleeper568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spotless and well maintained. They are compact but enough room for luggage and sitting. Ask for room without bidet to increase bathroom space. The lounge in the lobby is a great gathering place on a rainy day or for gathering all your group members before heading out to explore. There are also three nice patio areas which served well for end of day "happy hour" get togethers before dinner. Located a block or so from the beach at the far end of the new part of Monterroso.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice hotel with decent sized rooms that are cleaned everyday. Good breakfast. The only negative is that the bed was too hard for me. Access from the station takes about 10 minutes with a level walk. Good WiFi speed but only on the ground floor andterrace.

Room Tip: Some parts of the narrow beach are owned by hotels or bars andyou need to pay for beach bed costing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckyhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Located close to train station and was very easy to walk to hotel. After visiting the other villages it was obvious that this was a plus b/c you didn't have to lug your luggaged up and down hills & steps. Located in "new part" of monterosso. "Old part" is just around the corner. Easy to get to dock and take ferry from village to village (just get an all day pass). The person who mentioned the two cats in the hotel should also note that cats are ALL over Italy and especially in all the Cinque Terre villages. The locals take care of them. So if you don't like cats avoid Italy all together. There was wifi in the loby & court, a small bar, free buffet breakfast with lots of options, very friendly staff, elevators and comfy beds. I'm not sure if we didn't have airconditioning or just didn't need it. The owner suggested to turn on the fan and open the window at night and it was wonderful and kept room cool to sleep. Was an odd old fashioned hair dryer that actually gave out more power than the other modern hairdryers other hotels in Italy provided. Overall had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
161 reviews
4.8 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
192 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 5 Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 5 Terre

Property: Hotel 5 Terre
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 21, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 5 Terre 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 5 Terre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Terre Hotel
Hotel 5 Terre Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing