We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for family gathering”
Review of Hotel 5 Terre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 5 Terre
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for family gathering”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spotless and well maintained. They are compact but enough room for luggage and sitting. Ask for room without bidet to increase bathroom space. The lounge in the lobby is a great gathering place on a rainy day or for gathering all your group members before heading out to explore. There are also three nice patio areas which served well for end of day "happy hour" get togethers before dinner. Located a block or so from the beach at the far end of the new part of Monterroso.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    166
    64
    15
    6
See reviews for
71
201
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice hotel with decent sized rooms that are cleaned everyday. Good breakfast. The only negative is that the bed was too hard for me. Access from the station takes about 10 minutes with a level walk. Good WiFi speed but only on the ground floor andterrace.

Room Tip: Some parts of the narrow beach are owned by hotels or bars andyou need to pay for beach bed costing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckyhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Located close to train station and was very easy to walk to hotel. After visiting the other villages it was obvious that this was a plus b/c you didn't have to lug your luggaged up and down hills & steps. Located in "new part" of monterosso. "Old part" is just around the corner. Easy to get to dock and take ferry from village to village (just get an all day pass). The person who mentioned the two cats in the hotel should also note that cats are ALL over Italy and especially in all the Cinque Terre villages. The locals take care of them. So if you don't like cats avoid Italy all together. There was wifi in the loby & court, a small bar, free buffet breakfast with lots of options, very friendly staff, elevators and comfy beds. I'm not sure if we didn't have airconditioning or just didn't need it. The owner suggested to turn on the fan and open the window at night and it was wonderful and kept room cool to sleep. Was an odd old fashioned hair dryer that actually gave out more power than the other modern hairdryers other hotels in Italy provided. Overall had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel could have been better. The location was okay but now that I've been I would probably try and stay on the other side of the bridge. Wifi available but not in the rooms only in the lobby which was annoying. Rooms very very small! There was a huge storm one night and the balcony doors did not keep the rain out so the floor was flooded the morning after. The owner has cats so if you're not a cat lover I would not recommend this hotel as they roam around the hotel as they please. Breakfast was less than average....mmm the more I think about it this hotel was less than average...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neat1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This trip could have been a complete disaster as my wife sprained her ankle. But the hotel staff was very helpful and always provided ice and advice on doctors and pharmacies etc.

The location could not be much better, less than 2 mins walk to the beach and 5 mins to the train station. It is a small village so could not be much more anyways.

They offer a basic breakfast which they allowed me to take to our room for my wife.

The parking space is limited but they make do with whatever they have, cramming all vehicles into one the available space and the hotel staff helps if you need to take your out.

All in all, a good stay in a clean decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0re_nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Perfect location in the cinque terre's busiest and beachiest town. Rooms were very, very tiny. We had a double bed and there was just enough room to walk around the edge. No a/c but it was only a problem during the day. Our room was on a very large shared balcony on the back side of the hotel, so not much view, but that was Okay for us. Breakfast was great. Staff were very polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

modern, spotless hotel. our room was on the small size, but adequate. very comfortable bed. no wi-fi in rooms but worked fine in the huge lounge and outdoor gardens.very peaceful gardens with large water fountain. great coffees from the bar which along with any other drinks you could order were brought out to you. very large dining room which provided a very good breakfast. staff were really attentive and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.5 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 5 Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 5 Terre

Property: Hotel 5 Terre
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 21, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 5 Terre 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 5 Terre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Terre Hotel
Hotel 5 Terre Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing