We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Punta Mesco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Mesco
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Value and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed in the small apartment next to the hotel as they were full. There was one bedroom and a couch/bed in the kitchenette area. There was also a balcony looking into the courtyard and other flats - very useful for drying that washing on a long trip although there was a laundry that picks up and drops off at the Hotel. The service is great with the staff helping us lug our heavy luggage up the three flights of stairs ( no lift) and they also supply a lock up garage nearby if you pre-arrange it. I must say the trains didn't bother us and certainly didn't disturb our sleep - I guess its the trade off for the location as nowhere is too far from the train. The hotel is also connected to a restaurant in the old town so they will give you a discount if mention it . The food is good too.
Most of the walk was closed when we were there but managed to do the first and last part of the coastal walk eventually. My advise is to set out as early as possible so that there are fewer people - it gets very narrow in parts but is well worth doing. Even with a 7yo with us the walk from Monterosso to Vernazza only took us 2 hrs with plenty of stops for photos and snacks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deddans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    133
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
67
181
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Our large extended family traveled to Italy this past September. After four hectic days in Rome, we decided to spend a few relaxing days at the beach in Monterosso. Thanks to the owners/staff at the Punta Mesco, It turned out to be the best three days of the entire trip. There were not enough rooms in the hotel for our stay so the owners rented us a small apartment next to the hotel for the same rate as a double room. The apartment as well as the rooms in the hotel were very nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything that we needed including beach towels and picnic supplies for our hike to Vernazza. The breakfasts were first class and we especially enjoyed the made-to-order espresso and cappuccino each morning! The staff gave us great recommendations for restaurants and invaluable information regarding activities and train schedules. We look forward to returning someday to Monterosso and, of course, the Punta Mesco.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunnerfmly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

As the hotel was full when we were looking to book, hotel managment offered us the use of the 'little apartment' next door at the same rate. Its therefore difficult for us to review the hotel rooms as such. What we can say is that the breakfast buffet was decent, as was the coffee. Service at the hotel was very good and it was pretty well located in the 'new' section of Monterosso. It was within walking distance of the train station which is good, but you could hear the trains during the night. The hotel rooms were closer to the line than the apartment so I imagine this would also be an issue there. The apartment itself was comfortable enough, it just felt a bit funny as it was like staying in someone's home that had been vacated for us. Probably worth giving the hotel a try based on the largely positive experience we had.

We loved Monterosso and the Cinque Terra.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WombatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unaweep Canyon, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Punta Mesco offered a very good buffet breakfast (included in rate). We enjoyed the selection & being able to get Cafe Americana refills! Rooms were recently remodeled & were clean & pleasant. No charge for internet (let me use a laptop). It was an easy walk from train station. Discounts were offered at a related restaurant but we didn't eat there. Staff very helpful & had good maps of the area. Value seemed much better than at the other hotels where we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjaespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was warm and very helpful. It was great for us that they spoke English. The breakfast was one of the best we've had in an Italian hotel. Good location--just a couple of short blocks from the beach. The bed was comfortable (although we were so tired after our flight, we would have slept well on a bed of nails). My only complaints were that the towels are very thin and the room doesn't have a lot of natural light (no windows except in the door that leads to the patio). By the way, neither we nor our friends who stayed there when we did had any problems with bugs in the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RivrVuMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stay during 3 nights , and the staff was helpfull, the room was nice, the breakfast buffet nice too, and the free wi-fi, was a good bonus.
Dont hesitate, the relation between price and quality , stay at Punta Mesco

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Do not stay here. I made the mistake on September 22nd because there were no other rooms in the Cinque Terre. At night the TV did not work so I decided to edit some pictures on my laptop while laying in bed. About 5 bugs immediately became attracted to the light of the screen and they looked like bed bugs. I asked for a room change but the hotel was sold out and it was 12:00am. I took all the bedding off the bed but I still woke up the next morning with bits all over my legs. I'm positive it happened in this hotel and I would stay away!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyrsa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Punta Mesco, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
In reply to your review, we would like to clarify some of your accusations.
Firstly,to prove your integrity, we would like to firmly and honestly declare that at no time
did you ask for a room change.
Secondly, the TV in the room was working.
Thirdly, looking up on bed bugs on the internet I read that they do not fly so they had to crawl all over you to get to your computer screen.They also tend to bite the face, neck, hands and arms
where you did not have a single bite.
Another thing we cannot fathom is why your accusations were not made to us on the morning
of your departure when you paid your bill, but only in the late afternoon when you collected your luggage. You then showed me that you had been bitten on your ankles which I confirm, but this was after being out the whole day probably walking the trails in the long grass.
The room you stayed in, as every other room in the hotel,
has been occupied almost every day this year and we have never had any complaints regarding bugs.
Your accusations are very serious and should not be made unless proven in some way.The
cleanliness of the hotel is one of our top priorities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
4.7 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.7 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Mesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Mesco

Property: Hotel Punta Mesco
Address: Via Molinelli 35, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Mesco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Punta Mesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Mesco Hotel
Hotel Punta Mesco Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing