We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Punta Mesco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Punta Mesco
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here and it was very pleasant. It's location (2 blocks from waterfront) is ideal. The rooms are modern and well kept. The bathroom is large compared to the other places we stayed in Italy. The staff were very good and helpful. The breakfast was first rate for Italy.

Only complaint was it can be a little noisy when people are coming and going, closing doors and drying their hair (loud hair dryers!). But this was a minor issue compared to the man y positives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBH68_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    144
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
74
191
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with the quality of this hotel. From the moment we walked in, the staff was very attentive to us. They offered us advice on what trails to hike, what places to see, and where to eat at. The location was close to the train station, making it very convenient. The breakfast offered a great variety of fresh fruit, assorted breads, cereals, yogurt, cappuccinos, meats, cheese, and more! It was some of our favorite breakfasts on the trip! This is a truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcwestland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days while in Cinque Terre. It was up the road from the beach, which made it quiet. We were in a small apartment in the building beside the hotel and it was perfectly comfortable. It came fully stocked with coffee, pots, pans and other such items, all for the same price as the hotel. We were given access to the internet, and also had the same breakfast as the hotel. Breakfast was very nice, consisting of the typical breakfast, but also fresh made juices and coffee/cappuchinos to order. If you are driving here, there is free parking across from the hotel in a secured lot. It is extremely easy to get to. One thing about Monterosso is that there are actually two parts to the town, separated by a foot tunnel. This hotel is on the side where the train station is located, so if coming by train, it is much more convenient. The restaurants we liked are on the other side though. In our mind, better to walk to dinner with no luggage. The staff were very helpful as well.

Room Tip: The apartment was on the third floor, in a building with no elevator. Internet in the room was slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights when visiting Cinque Terre region. The rooms are a reasonable size, clean and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms are small but again clean - what more do you need?

You will hear the occasional train rumbling past, but I think this will be true of many central hotels in Monterosso. The walls are quite thin so you may also hear your neighbours too.
Breakfast was plentiful, with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bread and cakes available.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, nothing's too much trouble.

Would use the hotel again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had two nights here. Lovely room, nice little terrace, clean and near new. Breakfast was included and was great with fresh fruit, great coffee etc. The staff here are the best we have come across in our travels, nothing is too much trouble. Location is great, close to beach, restaurants, train station, supermarket and even a laundry. Free parking is gold around here. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great stay at the Punta Mesco. On arrival, the staff, Manuel, took care of our every need with a smile and an explanation of all that Monterosso and the rest of Cinque Terre had to offer. The room was smallish, but adequate, and the bed was spacious and very comfortable. There is free parking, but you may be better served if you visited Cinque Terre by train as the drive down the mountainside into Monterosso can be breathtaking in more ways than one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Used this hotel as my base for exploring the Cinque Terre, stayed 8 nights. Service was amazing, everyone so welcoming and eager to help. Rooms were very clean, small but I was out and about daily right after breakfast just coming back for a couple of hours before dinner and at night. The hotel really is a 2 - 3 minute stroll from the train station, 1 minute from the waterfront. Breakfast is various fruit, cereals, yoghurt, sweet pastries, bread/toast and delicious ham, prosciutto and cheese. And, of course, espresso, cappuccino or "American" coffee. My ground floor room had a little patio so I could relax and read or sip a glass of the excellent local wine. I washed a few items and hung them to dry on the rack on the patio - they were out there all night and the following day, no problems. Rooms have the usual room safe and the standard European hair dryer. The little bars of soap they give you actually have a nice scent! I found the bed to be very comfortable. Walls are very thin, can't hear conversations but could hear voices etc. I will return to this hotel next time I visit the area.

Room Tip: No pool. I couldn't un-tick the rating. Bring your own wash cloths if you use one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
406 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Mesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Mesco

Property: Hotel Punta Mesco
Address: Via Molinelli 35, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Mesco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Punta Mesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Mesco Hotel
Hotel Punta Mesco Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing