We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find”
Review of Hotel Punta Mesco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Mesco
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
“A good find”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A great location, even if your bag is heavy and you are coming from the train station. The people at the front desk were so helpful and friendly, it was a pleasure to stay there. The rooms are small, but if you are out and about like you should be, it is the perfect place to retreat to in order to sleep. Great city, great stay. Breakfast is free and delicious

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    139
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
71
184
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
355 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

While visiting Monterosso my wife and I decided to stay the night and looked for a hotel on the beach.
There was no decent room available so we found ourselves at Hotel Punta Mesco which is just up the road from the beach. We were not disappointed at all and felt lucky to find this hotel.
It is 2 minutes easy walk to the sea front, 4 minutes to the train station and 5 minutes walk to the old part of the village. Great location!
Parking and wi-fi are free and the service is outstanding!
Rooms are not large but adequate, very very clean and the breakfast is very good. This can be eaten inside or outside if the weather permits.
No doubt we will stay here again if ever visiting the Cinque Terre again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacks1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
505 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Although the bed was not real comfortable, and the room was small, the ambiance, breakfast, location...all made up for this shortcoming.

The staff were outstanding, helpful, and willing to hold our luggage all day while we did some sightseeing...we returned, and actually decided to stay another night! The breakfast was adequate, and again...excellent staff! Would stay here again, but would prefer staying on the upper level...larger room and more comfortable bed!

Room Tip: Although it is a short block off the water, it is a great location, close to ristorantes, train stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalclear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at punta Mesco for 2 nights, and we had a wonderful time! The rooms were very nice and the location perfect! The staff were incredibly helpful and generous, giving us an amazing rate, and they even squeezed in an included breakfast, which was delicious! They gave us good information on the activities of the area and were just generally very pleasant and welcoming! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Punta Mesco was amazing. The location is perfect - just a short walk from the water and the train station. A small grocery store is just next door, and a delicious pizzeria on the same street. The staff was absolutely superb - definitely 5 star treatment. We were greeted very kindly at check-in and given great advice on all of the villages in Cinque Terre, as well as the hikes and ferry information to Porto Venere. We were also provided with the train schedules and information on ticket purchases. Our room was very clean, and comfortable. The room has an efficient heater and a/c system, and extra blankets and pillows. They also offer English tv channels (e.g. CNN news). When the nearby grocery store was closed during the siesta, the hotel staff was happy to provide us with free bottled water, and we were even able to eat our takeaway in the breakfast room! Check-out is at 10:00 but we were able to leave our luggage in the hotel, and even use their bathroom when we went back to pick up our luggage before leaving Cinque Terre. We were worried about the train disrupting our sleep because of the other trip advisor reviews, but we did not hear the train at all when the windows were closed! We slept very well, and were never disturbed. Our room number was 11. The breakfast was wonderful, with delicious cappuccino and brewed coffee, two types of juice, freshly baked croissants, fresh fruit, and strawberries, oats and cereals, bread, jam, and some cheese. Also, they own a restaurant in Monterosso al Mare, and guests are given a generous discount. Cinque Terre is a beautiful vacation spot, and Hotel Punta Mesco is definitely the best place to stay - excellent, kind service, and newly renovated clean rooms.

Room Tip: Room 11 was very quiet, we did not hear the train at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We had the room next to the side where the train went by and it was loud. The breakfasts were fine and the location was good, close, but you are tucked in a street up from the water front. The staff was nice and this is a very decent hotel to lay your head down, but that's all your really want in Cinque anyway. A basic 2 star hotel, with good service, good location, in a very beautiful part of the world.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie-Jar-Butte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I had been on the road all day long and arrived in Monterosso as the sun was setting. We had not booked ahead as we were uncertain from day to day where we would spend the night. As we looked around for a place to stay we found that the town was nearly shut down as it was the end of the season (last week of October). We took a look at two hotels on the boardwalk area and discovered them to be marginal to say the least. They were scruffy and didn't appear at all clean. The bedspreads looked to be worn out and dirty and my wife just couldn't imagine sleeping in the sparsely furnished room. The bathrooms weren't very inviting either. We were just about to resign ourselves to sleeping in the car but decided we would walk around some more as we needed dinner in any event. That's when we found "Hotel Punta Mesco". The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and after fetching our car from the waterfront we unloaded, with his help, our luggage and settled in. The room was big enough, very clean and fresh looking as was the whole facility. As it was off season I suspect the hotel wasn't very busy so we didn't experience the noises other reviewers have commented on. The breakfast was great and we especially appreciated the coffee! The staff at this hotel are exceedingly friendly and helpful and the free secured parking is a bonus. Not fancy but pleasant, comfortable and clean. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eaposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
585 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Mesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Mesco

Property: Hotel Punta Mesco
Address: Via Molinelli 35, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Mesco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Punta Mesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Mesco Hotel
Hotel Punta Mesco Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing