We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on your perspective...and time of the year”
Review of Hotel Punta Mesco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Punta Mesco
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I had been on the road all day long and arrived in Monterosso as the sun was setting. We had not booked ahead as we were uncertain from day to day where we would spend the night. As we looked around for a place to stay we found that the town was nearly shut down as it was the end of the season (last week of October). We took a look at two hotels on the boardwalk area and discovered them to be marginal to say the least. They were scruffy and didn't appear at all clean. The bedspreads looked to be worn out and dirty and my wife just couldn't imagine sleeping in the sparsely furnished room. The bathrooms weren't very inviting either. We were just about to resign ourselves to sleeping in the car but decided we would walk around some more as we needed dinner in any event. That's when we found "Hotel Punta Mesco". The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and after fetching our car from the waterfront we unloaded, with his help, our luggage and settled in. The room was big enough, very clean and fresh looking as was the whole facility. As it was off season I suspect the hotel wasn't very busy so we didn't experience the noises other reviewers have commented on. The breakfast was great and we especially appreciated the coffee! The staff at this hotel are exceedingly friendly and helpful and the free secured parking is a bonus. Not fancy but pleasant, comfortable and clean. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 374 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a part of a Rick Steves tour. It's in a very good location. You have to get past the fact that the train track is close by. The train is simply a fact of life and trust me: you will sleep right through it. The hotel is a nice place run by a very friendly family-run staff. Discounts for dining at Ristorante Belvedere which is already a good value. Lots of local families dining there. If we came back to Monterosso, we would try to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drobotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We only had time to spend one day and night in the Cinque Terre. The staff at the Punta Mesco were very friendly and helpful. They gave us great information about the status of the trails between towns (which were closed due to a mudslide). The rooms are fairly small, but who go's to the Cinque Terre to spend a lot of time in a hotel room.

The shower, on the other hand, was the best shower we experienced in Italy. Great pressure, nice and warm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Punta Mesco for 2 nights in early Oct 2012. The hotel was well-located, just a short walk from the train station in Monterosso. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

The room itself was average. It did not get much natural sunlight and had a musty/damp feel to it. As a consequence, we tried to spend as much time outside as possible.

For the amount that we paid to stay at this hotel, we felt the hotel was 'average', and did not particularly reflect value for money. However, Monterosso is an excellent base for your travels to Cinque Terre and I suppose that is why hotel rooms in this area are at a premium.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Can't wait to return to the Cinque Terre and beautiful Monterosso. This hotel provides all the creature comforts required by a traveler. Its a three star hotel with a pleasant staff, clean, quiet rooms with great showers and awesome breakfast buffett. Only a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, north side of the hotel. Didn't hear any train noise. This hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musky480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in Monterosso for 2 nights in September and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a short trip from the train station, close to the beach and very clean and comfortable. All staff were gracious and helpful, breakfast was very good, probably the most choice we had in all of Italy. We loved the area and will definitely stay here again when we return to La Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry_McCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

A little noisy being so close to the train tracks but overall amazing hotel with SUPERNICE staff/owners.

Stayed here 2 nights and loved it.. Would easily stay here again. Recommended by Rick Steve's.. Awesome breakfast in the morning... Only reason we wouldn't stay here again is to simply stay in old town Monterosso or to stay at an apartment in Vernazza...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Mesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Mesco

Address: Via Molinelli 35, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $128 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Mesco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Punta Mesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Mesco Hotel
Hotel Punta Mesco Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing