We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place to relax”
Review of Hotel Punta Mesco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Punta Mesco
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet place to relax”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A convenient walk from the Monterosso train station and two short blocks from the beach, you don't get the tourist foot traffic and you find a nice, quiet place with friendly and very helpful staff, a clean, comfortable room, and a good breakfast. I couldn't get a strong enough wi-fi signal in our room, but it worked well in the outside lounge in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    140
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
73
186
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel location is great - only a 5 min walk from the Monterosso stazione (quite convenient when you arrive to the town w/ your luggage), and just 2 mins to the beach. 

The staff is unbelievably friendly - especially Manuel (sp?) who manages the front desk in the evening. He was very accommodating for both my wife / I and also very knowledgeable about Cinque Terre. 

The hotel breakfast is great - prosciutto di parma, fresh fruit (lots of fresh fruit), assortment of breads / pastries / juices / etc. And great cappucinos.

The hotel is so accommodating, they gave us a to-go breakfast package / checked us out the night before because we had a very early morning departure the next day (430am departure), which was before the front desk opened. Very thoughtful. 

We had a standard room which is not too large (but not too small either - cozy, as many european accommodations go). There was good wifi, great A/C and plenty of hot water. 

I'd recommend staying here if you decide to stay in Monterosso. If we are back in Cinque Terre and decide to stay in Monterosso, we certainly will. 

-R

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We rented an apartement at Punta Mesco with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. It was lovely, clean and quiet. The service is excellent. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cestfantastique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel location is good, just a couple of minutes' walk from the beach and the train station. The staff is very friendly and helpful, I really liked the sense of hospitality they had. The fact that there is a closed parking possibility is good.

However, what was most disturbing was the inside noise. There seems to be absolutely no noise insulation from one room to the other. I woke up, because there was another person snoring in the next room in the night. In the morning the noise came from the people in the apartments above us (the hotel is on the ground floor of a building, above which there are regular flats for residents of Monterosso).

In the the end, the price was too high for the value you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DomenicoM333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We loved how close the hotel was to both the train station and the sea. Even though the train runs right past the hotel, we didn't find the train noise to be a problem. The breakfast spread was very nice (pastries, fruit, coffee, juice, cereal, yogurt). Our rooms were clean. Free WiFi was a plus. Small market a block away and plenty of restaurants nearby too. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyemedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Monterosso al Mare is a really calm and qute little village. It's got a beach and a storic town. This hotel is located in the "new town" near the beach. It's quite close to the railway, so you might hear the trains passing. Other than that - it's so quiet and peaceful.
The hotel is a little bit dated in decor, but is really clean and nice in every aspect. Great Breakfast and easy access to parking. Just tell the staff in advance you're driving there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel has set a very high standard for the rest of our Italian holiday. The breakfast was fantastic - best selection of fruit/pastries/ceereal, great coffee made by the happy, singing staff. An ideal start to the day. The room was clean, quiet and spacious. Wifi was free, and it was only a short walk to the beach and train station. Laundry facility nearby delivered clothing back to the room. The staff were friendly and helpful advising best walks and places to visit. Relaxing stay, one of the best we have experienced in our travels, definite recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
5.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Mesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Mesco

Property: Hotel Punta Mesco
Address: Via Molinelli 35, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Mesco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Punta Mesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Mesco Hotel
Hotel Punta Mesco Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing