We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Poesia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Poesia
Certificate of Excellence
Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

While this hotel may not have the view that some of the others do, this was a lovely place to stay with a great host who couldn't do enough for us. Champagne and pastries on arrival - excellent breakfast, large comfortable room and close to everything, being almost in the middle of the village.

Room Tip: The suite on the same level as reception was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Rob3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    35
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
136
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We found the place through Rick Steve's guidebook. We like that there was a cab waiting for us when we got off the train station that took us near La Poesia. While it isn't far to walk, it was a nice touch. The rooms are also nice. Each are unique and quaint. You are pretty far in that you won't hear any noise. We didn't even hear the trains passing. The best part of staying at La Poesia is the breakfast. Each morning, we got an omelette, coffee, fruit, and a type of grain. It definitely was more than we expected. I would definitely stay here again if I find my way to Monterosso again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chingjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I can see everyone loves the place and they are right - it is super clean, cosy, beautifully decorated and located in one of the tiny and charmings streets of Monterosso. No doubt the owner goes out of her way to make you feel at home. I loved the extra touches she thought of such as welcoming drinks, 24h heating in the winter or fabulous breakfast. This B&B is only a 5 min walk from the station and 1 min to the sea. The host is very friendly and tries hard to be nice and welcoming. I can see why most of the people either love her or might find her a bit too intense.

Now, having said that, first of all I do think that Monterosso is the least charming of all Cinque Terre villages. Yes, it has a better beach but itself as a village lacks the charm other villagest have. That is why, if I was to go again, I would choose another village. There are plenty beautiful rooms for rent in all the villages, most of them with spectacular balonies overlooking the sea and that is what La Poesia cannot offer.

Finally the price. It is outrageous. Yet most of the places in the villages are. In a way, when you pay that much for a night, you would normally expect a 24 h service, someone at the reception, addional things in your room. Again, I would not be prepared to pay that much again.

Main advice: if you decide to stay anyway, choose the room wisely. If you are happy to spend a small fortune, book Rosso suite. It is stylish, gorgeous, romantic and super spacious if a little cold in the winter. Aspasia rook is also nice. The other two rooms are shoe boxes. The only object fitting in is the bed, there is no space for anything else.

Hope that helps!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aeon_Flux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I just left Cinque Terre. Raining day and chilly weather, so poor time for the travel. Only thing I appreciate about 5 Terre is this hotel, La poesia. First of all, the hostess Ms. nicoletta is molto molto kind and warmhearted. It's perfect thing for the etrangers. Now I miss the hotel. Also, the location and the room is great.

Room Tip: Never disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cserpentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved this hotel. Nicoletta is The Best! She is extremely accomodating on anything you need. She set up a cab to pick us up at the train station. She met us down at the bottom of the village as the cars can not go into the village. We followed her to the hotel which would have been pretty impossible for us to find without her. We were delighted when we saw the rooms. My brother and sister-in-law had one of the smaller rooms, and they are very charming, but they are quite tight. Just enough room to walk around the bed is about it, but the rooms are decorated beautifully. Ours was the suite, which is about the size of an American hotel room. It was worth the extra money for a little more space. But don't worry if you get a smaller room as you won't be spending much time in it. From the moment we got there, Nicoletta took care of us. After we freshened up, she served us snacks and prosecco outside on the rooftop terrace. Her food is "to die for"!! The breakfasts she serves were the best we had anywhere in all of Italy. Monterosso is the quaintest town with lots of shops and restaurants and the beach all in easy walking distance. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. An afternote to anyone who wants to hike the trails. We did the one from Monterosso to Vernazza and thought we were going to Die! If you are not an avid hiker or very young, rethink this trip. 5 miles, and most of it is straight up old narrow steps. Read up on Rick Steves' write up of the different trails first. We also liked Monterossa better than Vernazza. We really wanted to stay in Vernazza, but there were no rooms left. Lucky for us because Monterosso was much more charming with more shops and restaurants. One more thing, Nicoletta, you were AWESOME!! If we ever go back to Cinque Terre, we would Definitely stay here.

Room Tip: This is a very small hotel with only 4 rooms. Any one would be nice, but one is a suite that affords...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnerchevygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This little place was so cozy and nice! Nicoletta was so friendly to my sister and I. We only stayed for a night, but she greeted us with wine and some snacks, and gave us maps of the area and recommendations on places to go eat. Very clean, very good value for the price. Breakfast is included and it was delicious! Thanks for the great stay, Nicoletta! We will be back to visit someday :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

La Poesia was a great find in Cinque Terre. accomodations were great and the breakfast was out of this world. Nicoletta is such a great lady and makes you feel so welcome. If you can take the train to Cinque Terre, a car is not necessary ... We went to all 5 of the towns (either walking or by train ). Beautiful area .. .worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
5.4 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Poesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Poesia

Property: La Poesia
Address: Via Genova 4, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Medieval center of Monterosso, located only 100 meters from the beach and the beginning of the hiking, you will find "La Poesia". Distinguished by its elegance, La Poesia represents the coming together of the ancient and the modern with its sailing style ceilings, beauty, and comfort. La Poesia, located in the naturalistic environment of Monterosso, is unique for its elegance, care of each individual detail, intimate and receiving atmosphere, which it will contribute to an unforgettable and pleasant stay in Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Poesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Poesia Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
La Poesia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing