We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, warm and friendly. Highly recommended!”
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was hard to leave Villa Steno after our 3rd night. We wish we had stayed at least one more day. Matteo and Carla are so warm and welcoming. Matteo sent us taxi and walking directions from the train that were excellent. Service before and during our stay could not have been better. The breakfast on their terrace restaurant is a beautiful way to start each day. We stayed in a larger room (a triple) which was exceptionally comfortable and this gives you a nice terrace garden overlooking the mountains, ocean and the original section of Monterosso al mare. The hotel is well located in the center of town for easy access to everything.

Room Tip: If you feel like splurging, the triple room with the private garden and terrace is a nice, peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjansen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Got great driving directions emailed from the staff. We drove in from Nice with no trouble and the hotel had parking. If coming by train it is a pretty good walk. Our room was great with two balconies and super views. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a cash discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rassaslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Vila Steno came highly recommended and did not disappoint. We stayed here in mid October with another couple and we could not have been happier. Like other reviews, Matteo, Carla and Anna were welcoming and helpful, never rushed and made us feel totally at home.We rang the hotel just before our arrival and they organized a taxi to be waiting for us at the station. A great way to start our stay in Monterosso. The rooms were spotless, well equipped and the colour tones created a peaceful setting. The balcony afforded us views of the town and sea, as did their outdoor terraces. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Villa Steno is the ideal place to stay for a visit to the Cinque Terre. Matteo and Carla do a wonderful job of making you feel at home. The breakfast was excellent. You have to try the lemon marmalade - to die for. The hotel is located very near the center of town with everything readily accessible.
The rooms are very comfortable. We appreciated the laundry service. We were able to park our car on site, which was very helpful. We are looking forward to our next visit and hope it is for longer than the three nights we stayed this time.
The Cinque Terre is an amazing place, and the Villa Steno will help make your time there even better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaylene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early November and can't wait to go back! The hotel itself is very clean and up to date. We had a lovely balcony looking out over the town and sea. The breakfast buffet was unbelievable....we ate out on their balcony with the same view and enjoyed their homemade lemon and orange marmalade, among other delicious treats! It was more like a Sunday brunch then an ordinary breakfast I have to say. They did our laundry for a very reasonable fee--delivered it folded back to our room in record time! The owners were very helpful when we had questions about the surrounding hikes/trains, etc. It is at the top of the old part of town and thus the great view. Very easy walk down into town. We loved the older part of town and spent most of our time there. Lovely, lovely town. Thanks Matteo for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Owners (Mateo, Carla, and Anna) were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Went on my honeymoon and was very satisfied with the room, the view, the food, the drinks, everything. If you are looking for a hotel to complete your vacation, this would be the one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Staying in this beautiful hotel was an extremely pleasant experience. The owners Matteo and Carla were extremely accommodating and very knowledgeable about the entire Cinque Terre region. We had a room with an awesome view of the small town and the ocean. I felt very welcome in their hotel, and the breakfast was the best of my whole trip. Be sure to try the lemon jam--it's delicious! This is a must-stay for the Cinque Terre region.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $153 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing