We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is such a well run, beautifully maintained lodging experience. Big thumbs up! The owners are great ! Everything works as it should and have state of the art security! Monterosso is an outstanding vacation spot and hotel steno is its jewel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaeltsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    85
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
367
584
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Matteo and Carla were welcoming, friendly and professional. The hotel was charming, but also afforded all of the modern conveniences you would need. The breakfasts were tasty and fresh. The view is breathtaking! My hosts gave me so much helpful information for planning our day trips and hikes, as well as my transportation to the airport. The hotel is sparklingly clean! The entire staff was eager to help me along the way. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience, and cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgmlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We just stayed our fourth time with Carla and Mateo. Each time seems to get better! They have just redone the flooring and updated the rooms. The tunnel between the old town and the new part of Monterosso had been damaged by a land slide. We took a taxi to get from the other side and were over charged by the taxi driver. When I mentioned this to Mateo he was furious and got a refund for the total taxi ride. The breakfast and cafe latte's are so special. The even provided a welcome drink when we arrived. Mateo and Carla are just incredible along with their two children. I can't think of a better place to stay in Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with it's own patio in the lemon garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomQ883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Steno for 3 nights to celebrate our 10th weddining anniversary and was a unique trip without our two children. The hotel was spotless, rooms delightful and views spectacular. However the best thing was the service all the staff were welcoming and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Had a really lovely time and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a find!! Villa Steno and the wonderful family who own and run the hotel made our stay an experience that we will never forget, words are hard to find to express just how wonderful this place is. Beautifully maintained both inside and out, it was very homely and comfortable, clean and refreshing. Our room had its own Terrace, along with its own mandarin tree, with spectacular views over the Town out to the Ocean, big enough for 2 adults and our 10 year old son. Monterosso Al Mare is the best of the 5 towns in the Cinque Terre in my opinion, the memories of both Villa Steno and Monterosso will stay with me forever. A very special thanks to Anna and her wonderful friendly and honest personality, so very glad we chose this place, it does not get any better than this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSmiths032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect when we arrived to Monterosso but we fell in love with the little town and Villa Steno. The owners were so kind and the breakfast that was included with our reservation was delicious! We were traveling with two grown daughters and the quad room was perfect! We also had amazing views. Definitely worth the trip...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriO634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Being our first visit to Cinque Terre we weren't sure where to stay, but all the reviews pointed here and fortunately they had space for a few nights, because it was absolutely the perfect choice.

This adorable house is set up on the hill amidst lemon groves with a gorgeous view of the old town. Upon arrival we were given a really nice welcome packet with information regarding the train schedule, a map, information about the town, and wifi connection. There was a recent mudslide in the area, which changed our plans a bit, but even then Mateo and Carla were full of tips, updates, and information. We could even park our car in their drive, which saved us a lot of hassle.

The walk down to the waterfront takes about 10 minutes and it's another 10 minutes to cross into the New Town area where the train station is if the tunnel isn't closed due to mudslides.

Mateo and Carla take such great care of their visitors with a very hearty breakfast complete with homemade organic lemon cake and preserves made from Villa Steno lemons and were even so thoughtful as to give us a lindt chocolate bunny on Easter Sunday.

We stayed in room 16, which has a quiet back patio. There's a stunning view and lounge chairs above the house, which look out over the city. It's perfect to check out at sunset while the bull frogs are noisy below.

If it's a rainy stay, like ours was, they also have great sat TV with programming from Germany, Italy, and the UK. We'd unquestionably stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duellema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
591 reviews
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
166 reviews
4.4 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Property: Hotel Villa Steno
Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing