We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Certificate of Excellence
Glenview IL USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel Vlla Steno was great. The views from our room and patio (#5) overlooked the city and Med and were excellent. Breakfast was fast and easy and the small parking was very conveneient as we drove into Monterosso. The only disappointment was the hiking trail was closed due to an avalanche. Carla and Matteo make you feel right at home and were extremely helpful and friendly. We will stay here again when we come back when our boys are old enough to handle the hiking. Food is excellent and there are many great choices only a shot walk away.

Room Tip: Room 5 was great. Very large. Had a king bed and then two singles on the way towards patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    81
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
350
564
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying all the other reviewers before me who said monterosso is best town to settle for accommodation if you are traveling with kids are 100% correct. This town has little more urban feel, beaches for kids and parks/play area. Now if you settle for monterosso you have to stay in Villa Steno, it's just perfect. Starting from quality of mattress, linens, breakfast to wonderful terrace views, it's very comfortable bed and breakfast. Mateo and Carla are very involved in making sure their guest are happy and leave with something to cherish for years to come:). Anamaria who is in charge when the owners are not around is the best to serve your needs. If you are traveling with young kids likes us and have budget please stay in their family cottage, the view on large patio is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelertalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at Monterosso half way through our honeymoon which was a glorious month in France and Italy. We had convinced our travel agent to book us into Villa Steno after reading the great reviews and were definitely not disappointed!

After a long day travelling from Nice we arrived late and were greeted by Carla who made us feel instantly welcome and showed us to our beautiful room overlooking the old town. The room had everything we needed and was one of our favourites for the trip - even after staying in 4 & 5 star hotels most nights.

Carla and Matteo made us feel like we were staying with family and we would love to return to Villa Steno one day.

During our two day visit we ate beautiful simple food at the restaurant beside the beach in the old town, trekked 1.5 hours to the next town for pizza and beer, laid in our deckchairs at the beach and even joined a Brazilian dance party under the stars. Monterosso is truly an amazing place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kama_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The only thing that exceeds the hotels charm and location is Carla and Matteo. The two of them welcome you to their place as a friend and proceeded to do everything possible to guarantee you the time of your life. What I found most interesting is as we met other international travelers, on the beautiful deck having cocktails before dinner, was everyone came to this hotel based on a strong recommendation of a friend or family member. I believe that say's it all! There is not enough words to describe the views, hiking paths between the five villages, the villages themselves, sunrises/sunsets, the sea and the excellent number of restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. Let me just end by saying this should be on everyone's bucket list.

Carla and Matteo that you for a unforgettable 40th anniversary!

Jim & Donna

Room Tip: There was only the two of us but got the triple room because of the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a pleasure to arrive at a hotel and receive such a warm and friendly welcome. The staff spoke excellent english and couldn't have been more accommodating. Unfortunately we only stayed one night but the information pack that we received at check in allowed us to maximise our stay. They were knowledgable about the local area generally and recommended a wonderful restaurant for dinner. The room had it's own private terrace with a lovely view of the old town and sea below. After check out we were even able to take a trip in the morning as the hotel kindly allowed us to leave our car in their carpark and take a welcome shower before leaving which was a real bonus.

Room Tip: We stayed in the quad room which was for a family and was nicely decorated, cool and clean. I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsbaker535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ten trips to Italy and Hotel Villa Steno is still one of my very favorite places. Matteo and Carla have created a perfectly wonderful, welcoming, comfortable, beautiful place to stay. Full of character and situated on a hill in the old town so the views are just breathtaking. Lots of helpful Cinque Terre info (maps, train and boat schedules, etc.) when you check in, plus everyone there is happy to help with anything else you might need. Very nice breakfast. Excellent free wifi. My three days there last week were a perfect finish for a beautiful trip. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view, if one is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Everything was perfect! Breakfast served in the morning was outstanding with rolls and pastries baked the same day, room and terrace with a great view and comfortable chairs to relax, amazing hosts who made us feel welcome and at home! Definetely my favorite place in Italy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataly167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
4.4 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Property: Hotel Villa Steno
Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing