We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Souvenir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Souvenir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This area is expensive to stay in, however we were plesantly surprised with the hotel souvenir. The rooms in the building we stayed in were basic, but they were clean and had windows. The staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was very good for a budget hotel. Overall a positive experience. The location is fine, it is only 2 min walk down to the water.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xcskiaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 387 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

The rooms were clean, and actually quite spacious by European standards. It was about a 10 minute walk from the train station, but Monterosso is actually quite flat, especially in comparison to the other Cinque Terre towns. The staff was really friendly, the breakfast was decent (croissants, buns, deli meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, juice and milk, and a coffee machine that made coffee/hot chocolate etc.)
My only complain is the noise, you could hear people walking up and down the stairs and closing doors, but I'm a light sleeper. My husband didn't notice at all.
The bathrooms were clean, the showers are on the small side and are hand held shower heads, but nothing to complain about. Pretty standard for Europe. I never once had to wait to use the shared bathroom. Overall a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimcanada2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, it's about a 10 min walk from the train station and is set up and away from the main streets where it could be noisy. It's only a couple mins walk to the beach and is so close to everything, although that's not hard because it is a small village. The hotel was pretty basic, we had a standard room but paid for the private bathroom facilities which was completely worth it. The bathroom may not look that great but the shower was amazing!! If there are noisy people staying in the hotel then you may be woken up, sound echoes and travels pretty well throughout the building in the halls. The breakfast was much better than I thought it would be with lots of options. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChelseaC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is clearly a hostel. The beds were rather hard, and no blankets were provided. It is also a fair hike (about 500m) uphill from the train station, which makes it difficult if you're carrying much luggage, and a pain if you're relying on the train to travel to the other Cinque Terre towns. Taxis are available. The shower heat was also hard to adjust, and took about 5 mins for hot water to arrive. There is a computer with free internet. However, as most other places in the Cinque Terre cost far more than this place, it is great value for money and good for those on a budget. It is not particularly noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 101Camellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Monterosso in general is not easy to access compared to driving up to your average hotel lobby, but then, Monterosso is not your average destination!

Our stay at the Hotel Souvenir was great but if I had come with my mother, she would have not been able to access our room. Therefore, I recommend it you have issues with climbing several flights of stairs to your room, you ask for a ground floor room. There is no elevator. But again, this is a small seaside village.

The breakfast was pleasant. The internet access was best on the patio but spotty in the dining room. Our front desk host was very gracious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with this charming hotel located on a quiet street, but still close to everything. Daniel and his staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble. When we arrived it was a little warm in our room and they immediately brought a large fan up to us when we requested it. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast was very good with plenty of options. There are no safes in the room, but no problem, the staff will keep things in a safety deposit box at the front desk. The beach is a 5-10 minute walk and the hotel provides beach towels for a minimum deposit which of course is returned when the towels are. There are many great restaurants close by and Daniel helped us with reservations. Lots of good shopping too. One more thing-thanks for the poster of the local music festival Daniel, my daughter has it in her room!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Seems like this hotel had come up recently as the the interiors looked very fresh and new. The best thing about this place was buffet breakfast which was very wholesome with hell lot of choices. Good rooms, however wifi was available only in the common area. We were staying on the third floor hence that was just a little irritating to go back and forth for the wifi. Great sitting area though and it is located in Monterosso - which is my favorite village of the 5.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monicashrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#4 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Souvenir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Souvenir

Address: Via Vincenzo Gioberti 24, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $137 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Souvenir 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Monterosso, at only 5 minutes from the beach, there is the Souvenir, a hotel with a unique design that mixes past and modern; it welcomes you with the quietness of its colours and the scents of its garden. It is easily reachable, at the Souvenir you can taste a fresh cocktail admiring the sunset from the common terrace or surrounded by the quietness of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Souvenir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Souvenir Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing