We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated gem of Cinque Terre!”
Review of L'Osteria

L'Osteria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tipico locale ligure a gestione familiare a trenta metri dal mare, esperienza decennale, piatti tipici della tradizione ligure cucinati con semplicita e passione!
Waterdown, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Understated gem of Cinque Terre!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well, we nearly gave this place a miss. The old cook was out in front trying to fill his dinning room. It was raining pretty badly but we walked around. It appeared empty. We're we wrong! :)

The place was packed except for one table. We filled it.
They has a limited offering but the owners son-in-law explained that an Osteria generally has a limited selection of good food and wine. The prices great and the service excellent. I had the ravioli bolognaise and my wife had a minestrone soup. Both were excellent.

The deserts were very good. 8€ per item. Creme brûlée and a semi frozen ice cream nugget with passion fruit. Well presented and very tasty. Mr creme brûlée wad very smooth. Near perfect consistency. Only thing missing for me were some vanilla bean flecks, but it tasted great anyway.

The cost, with a glass of wine, still waster and coca light was 91€.

We needed to get out to a shuttle that was waiting: VISA transaction in less than 1 minute.

As far as seasoning goes, the Italians seem to like salt. :)

Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    250
    71
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Keep walking”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Read the tripadvisor reviews and made reservation based on them. Food was salty to the point of being inedible.

Find somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tabtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food and welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We dined here twice on our 3 night stay in Monterosso and found our meals really enjoyable both times. There was a real warm and welcoming feeling to the restaurant and the food was lovely. I had the seafood ravioli one night and the baked seabass the 2nd night both were cooked perfectly and the salads were really fresh and tasty. The house wine was also very nice. The service was great and you could tell without asking it was a family run restaurant. Would recommend going early or booking a table we arrived about 6.30-7.00 and were served in a timely fashion - it did get quite busy as we were leaving. Prices were very reasonable, 2 courses each, drinks and desert came to a total of roughly 50-60 euro for the 2 of us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j0belly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Octopus!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved this restaurant. Great service. We all had seafood but I ordered octopus with roasted potatoes and tomatoes. It was little pieces (as one normally gets) but the whole octopus. So tender and the potaoes roasted in olive oil and oregano was impeccable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two of our best meals in Italy! Yes... we went back the very next night.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

L'Osteria is a fantastic restaurant. Every aspect was great including the daily specials, but what really showed was the care the staff put into their work. From food preparation to presentation, no corners were cut!

During our 5 night visit we found a few other good restaurants in Monterosso (there are quite a few to choose from) but this one stood out as the best for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMoccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to L'Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing