We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargin in Cinque Terra with some caveats”
Review of Hotel Villa Accini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Accini
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend in new Monterosso and stayed at the Villa Accini. We took the train and found the Villa fairly close (and within walking distance). It is seriously off the street, if you will, and you have to be looking for the sign as soon as you turn onto the street and walk under the train overpass -- the fence gate is to the right as you start uphill. And it is a steady walk up the hill. If it is hot, you will sweat. If you are lugging luggage, you will tote it or roll it yourself. The Villa is a good 100 yards uphill, and there is no doorman to run down and bring your baggage up the hill. In this respect, it is not a full-service hotel, so please don't come with those expectations and get frustrated with the staff. On the other hand, the grounds are nice and the walkway (also the road for small cars up the hill) is covered with wisteria. The staff was helpful but not "gushing" --- the room was sparse, but really very comfortable and quiet. Great bed, btw. We did not have much of a view from our room, but we were not expecting one. Honestly, the room was modest but nicely priced -- so many rooms in Monterrossa were quite expensive, particularly for the weekend, so we were very happy with our choice. The breakfast was fine but simple. Wifi was available for a charge in the lobby (only). The area is spectacular and although it was very crowded (it was a July weekend, after all) we would book the Accini again (and pack lighter). If you go, eat at Miky's -- the best in old Monterossa).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

A small, quiet and cozy hotel, set in the background of the rather busy street of Via Fegina, but still only 100m from the beach. We were lucky and got room 11 which has a large terrazzo. The service was excellent. We will gladly visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BL42E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Beware. This hotel without explanation canceled my two night confirmed reservation that I had made in January 2012. This was made three weeks before my expected stay in June. E-mail to both the hotel and the booking agency have gone unanswered. This has left me with paying a higher price for a less desirable hotel.
Book somewhere else with someone who will keep a reservation.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
9  Thank pulminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

For a night or two, this place will do just fine. It's set back off the beach so don't expect any views of the water. For that reason alone it loses a star. To be among the Cinque Terre, the famous chain of beach towns and be unable to see much from your hotel is a bit of a bummer.

Rooms are basic. Our bed was comfortable enough for one night but I wouldn't be enthused about spending a week on it. The bathroom features the typical Italian shower sized as if it were on an RV in America. I kept turning it off or to freezing cold every time I turned around and unfortunately ours had some drainage problems and started filling up.

The staff is nice. The hotel is at the end of a long uphill walkway with a gate at the bottom well out of view of the lobby. I suppose they have a camera down there. Someone on the staff has to be seated at the hotel desk for that gate to be opened when you push the buzzer. Hopefully someone is sitting there when you do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milesandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel after being unable to find a room at some other hotels that received higher ratings on Tripadvisor. While the reviews were mixed, I took a chance since there was little else available. This proved to be a mistake. First, the A/C in the room did not function properly requiring that the windows be kept open at night to avoid getting too hot. The problem with this is that I could not block the train noise from the nearby track. I tried to call the front desk to report the problem with the A/C but didn't know how to use the phone since no instructions were given on its use. The TV was very small and poorly positioned near the ceiling. The mini bar did not cool properly and it was never clear whether the few items it contained were left there by previous guests or were for sale by the hotel. If for sale, there was no mention of this.

There is Wi-Fi but you had to pay extra for it. I did not so am not sure how well it worked. Also, the bed is rock hard and, for me, very uncomfortable.

The service I was received did not make me feel as if the staff cared whether my stay was pleasant. Not once did anyone inquire whether I had a pleasant stay.

The one plus - the only plus really - was the breakfast. The choices were good - eggs, meats, cheeses, croissants, cereals, juices, coffee, and fruits.

I cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: most rooms offer no view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moosemizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Hotel Villa Accini was just gorgeous. The rooms were spacious and clean. Our friends room had a view out over the sea. It was well positioned for the beach and train station.
The staff were friendly and accomodating. We were able to sit in the garden surrounds and drink our own wine before heading into town for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

For €170 per night you should have better standard In the rooms. Some of the rooms are smaller and have no view, but still the same price. No WiFi.
Very nice breakfast and the location is nice. Many Scandinavian couples there.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Loifus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Accini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Accini

Address: Via Molinelli 16, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $144 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Accini 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Accini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accini Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Villa Accini Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing