We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cancels confirmed reservations”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Accini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Accini
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Arcadia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cancels confirmed reservations”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Beware. This hotel without explanation canceled my two night confirmed reservation that I had made in January 2012. This was made three weeks before my expected stay in June. E-mail to both the hotel and the booking agency have gone unanswered. This has left me with paying a higher price for a less desirable hotel.
Book somewhere else with someone who will keep a reservation.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank pulminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    57
    42
    13
    16
See reviews for
47
74
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

For a night or two, this place will do just fine. It's set back off the beach so don't expect any views of the water. For that reason alone it loses a star. To be among the Cinque Terre, the famous chain of beach towns and be unable to see much from your hotel is a bit of a bummer.

Rooms are basic. Our bed was comfortable enough for one night but I wouldn't be enthused about spending a week on it. The bathroom features the typical Italian shower sized as if it were on an RV in America. I kept turning it off or to freezing cold every time I turned around and unfortunately ours had some drainage problems and started filling up.

The staff is nice. The hotel is at the end of a long uphill walkway with a gate at the bottom well out of view of the lobby. I suppose they have a camera down there. Someone on the staff has to be seated at the hotel desk for that gate to be opened when you push the buzzer. Hopefully someone is sitting there when you do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milesandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel after being unable to find a room at some other hotels that received higher ratings on Tripadvisor. While the reviews were mixed, I took a chance since there was little else available. This proved to be a mistake. First, the A/C in the room did not function properly requiring that the windows be kept open at night to avoid getting too hot. The problem with this is that I could not block the train noise from the nearby track. I tried to call the front desk to report the problem with the A/C but didn't know how to use the phone since no instructions were given on its use. The TV was very small and poorly positioned near the ceiling. The mini bar did not cool properly and it was never clear whether the few items it contained were left there by previous guests or were for sale by the hotel. If for sale, there was no mention of this.

There is Wi-Fi but you had to pay extra for it. I did not so am not sure how well it worked. Also, the bed is rock hard and, for me, very uncomfortable.

The service I was received did not make me feel as if the staff cared whether my stay was pleasant. Not once did anyone inquire whether I had a pleasant stay.

The one plus - the only plus really - was the breakfast. The choices were good - eggs, meats, cheeses, croissants, cereals, juices, coffee, and fruits.

I cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: most rooms offer no view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moosemizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterosso al Mare hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Hotel Villa Accini was just gorgeous. The rooms were spacious and clean. Our friends room had a view out over the sea. It was well positioned for the beach and train station.
The staff were friendly and accomodating. We were able to sit in the garden surrounds and drink our own wine before heading into town for the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

For €170 per night you should have better standard In the rooms. Some of the rooms are smaller and have no view, but still the same price. No WiFi.
Very nice breakfast and the location is nice. Many Scandinavian couples there.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Loifus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel is on a steep hill, and there is no help with luggage, so beware. It is right near the beach. The beds are very uncomfortable. There is a 6" mattress, but no box springs, just a wooden bed underneath. NOTE: The concierge leaves the hotel at "middle night" and you are locked in. In case of a fire I suppose we would have broken a window to get out. Only one of the hotel employees spoke passable English. The rest were not helpful at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkwammack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Villa Accini was a great disappointment to us. It claims three star rating but falls well short of that standard. The building and grounds generally are tired and neglected, in need of repair/ renovation and also routine maintenance and cleaning. There were many issues, but the one which most affected us was the damp problem in our room (number 11) which had lifted paint and render from a substantial section of wall and caused the growth of mould with the associated bad odour throughout the room.

We were charged an inflated price for the room. I found hotels of much higher standard actually in the town of Monterosso at around two-thirds of the cost. I queried management of Villa Accini about this and they responded by telling me that I had come through a booking agency (which interestingly had advertised 'lowest rates guaranteed') and they had loaded their normal rate to cover the 16% commission charged by the agency. The loading actually worked out to rather more than that.

Therefore my issues with Villa Accini relate partly to the hotel itself as it is not up to the standard claimed and is overpriced even at what they quoted as their direct booking rate. There is also the matter of booking through an agency when the room rate is loaded so heavily, allegedly to cover the agency commission. Of course that was not disclosed at the time of booking. As the saying goes, ’let the buyer beware!’

On a positive note, the staff were pleasant and the buffet breakfast was good.

However, overall we regard Villa Accini as an unsatisfactory hotel at an inflated price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David12362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Accini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Accini

Property: Hotel Villa Accini
Address: Via Molinelli 16, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Accini 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Accini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accini Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Villa Accini Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing