We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in the heart of Monterosso!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Il Maestrale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2006

This hotel was the highlight accomodation of our 2-week trip to Italy. It's small - only five or six rooms, so make reservations early because it will fill up. Breakfast is served in the sitting room, which is centrally located among each of the hotel rooms - a great way to get to know the others who are staying in the hotel with you. There is also a fantastic patio that overlooks a main street in Monterosso, so you can view the street life from above day or night. Most rooms are quite large - we learned that we were in the smallest room, which was still large by European standards, in our opinion. Bed was very comfortable. Hotel is clean. Walking distance to the beach and Cinque Terre trails, to the train station, and to fantastic eateries. I've recommended this hotel to friends, and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DKB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 243 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2006

Locanda Il Maestrale was a great place to wrap up our honeymoon in Italy! When we first arrived in Levanto after a very long train ride, it was about 11pm and we were very travel weary. As we knew we were arriving late, we had phoned the owners earlier in the day and they had told us to simply call when we arrived. We did so and they had a taxi for us in minutes. While Monterosso is very small and definitely walkable with luggage there was a festival going on and they thought we might get turned around in the crowds. The short cab ride took us right to the hotel door, which may have been slightly difficult to find otherwise... It is in a great central location, the entrance is just not very obvious. From the outside it looks like you're entering a private apartment building or something, but go up the marble stairs and you will find the "real" entrance to Il Maestrale.
It is a charming accommodation, with marble tile floors, very high ceilings, a cute breakfast room and fantastic patio overlooking the cobblestone street below. The space used to be a 16th Century palace, but the owners have added a somewhat modern decorating style to the historic charm, creating a combination that we really loved. Our room, the Monterosso, was just wonderful. The very high, beautifully frescoed ceilings allowed for the owners to install a loft in the room, which really added to the modern flair of the room as well as adding a lot of space. (The "bedroom" area is upstairs, of course.) The room was very clean, complete with giant windows, one which looked onto the patio, and the other onto the street. The street is for pedestrians and the occasional scooter, so it is relatively quiet most of the time, however keep in mind that Italians tend to keep much later hours that we Americans...
The breakfasts were simple but good, with fresh fruit, baked goods, bread, meats, cheeses, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, juices, and coffee or cappuccino. The owners were a bit reserved for what I had expected given the small, intimate size of their establishment, but still polite and accomodating.
(Completely unrelated dining hint: go to the restaurant Ciak just a short stroll away for their spaghetti with mussels cooked in a large earthen pot-- delicious!!)

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moxiebijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

We stayed 3 nights at the end of August in Monterosso at the Locande Il Maestrale. We stayed in one of the Rooms. I believe the Corniglia. The room was good size and the bathroom had great water pressure and always plenty of hot water which was much needed after a long day of hiking. There was air conditioning. However, we slept with the window open and didn't need it. The Maestrale is centrally located in the middle of many great restaraunts and shops, and was about a 1/2 mile walk from the train station. Luckily there are no stairs and there are sidewalks the entire way, which made it nice as we had rolling suitcases. The morning cappucino (at 8:00) at breakfast was probably the best we had on our trip to Italy, and we drank our good share of cappucinos...We also enjoyed the croissants and the other breakfast food. It was a great way to start the day. The only negative is that they are very strict on the 8:00 breakfast time, so you can't even plan on eating a few minutes before 8:00 which was hard on our last morning as we were trying to catch a train and wanted to eat before heading out. One night we did experience a bit of noise from somewhere above us, but my guess is that pretty much everywhere you stay in cinque terre runs the risk of being noisy given how small it is and how close together all the houses are. Overall, we immensely enjoyed the Maestrale. I appreciated their communication over e-mail (within 24hrs), and they do accept credit cards. Monterosso is a great place to stay in Cinque Terre. There are tons of restaraunts to chose from, and we enjoyed walking along the beach at night after dinner. This can't really be done in any of the other towns as they are too small and don't really have a water front. We enjoyed one afternoon on the beach which was nice after two days of hiking, and found it to be quite pleasant as well.
If you are looking for someplace that is nice, comfortable, good size, and charming, this is a great little hotel. We really enjoyed staying, and I would reccomend it to anyone travelling to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bopsysv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Upon arriving at Locanda il Maestrale, my husband and I thought we may have finally struck out. After many wonderful days in Italy, the entrance to this hotel gave every impression we had been duped. But appearances are deceiving! This hotel was as charming and as spacious as their website describes, and judging by the appearance of the other hotels in the Cinque Terre along with the stated warnings about accepting a rental offer on the street, this hotel seems to be one of the best deals in the whole Cinque Terre.

The hotel was previously a stately palace, so the ceilings throughout are incredibly high. Our room - the Vernazza - was a double-decker suite, an excellent use of the space. The daily breakfast was delicious - the brie particularly excellent. The location in the town - in the Old Town - was particularly lovely. There is very little vehicular traffic, and noise was at a minimum. The hosts were, at times, aloof but were willing to offer suggestions if approached with questions.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Locanda il Maestrale! You will, too.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank Piper81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2006

My husband and I spent 5 nights in the Cinque Terra during our Italian honeymoon in early June. We were prepared for relaxation after 2 jet-lagged nights in Venice & before our 4 nights in Florence. Locanda Il Maestrale was the perfect spot. It is a intimate charming hotel run by two women. We stayed in a impeccably clean, two-level suite overlooking the beautiful street life below. Giovanni & Stefania were both very sweet, though spoke little english. Every morning a delicious breakfast spread was displayed consisting of cereal, fruit, croissants, cheese, ham. My mouth is watering just thinking of it!

The location is in the Old Town which we loved for its character and charm. Overall the Cinque Terra was a dream filled with breathtaking beauties. We would highly recommend this spot to our closest friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sugar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank otiv711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Service
22  Thank parpaillou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
631 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Locanda a Ca du Gigante
Locanda a Ca du Gigante
#20 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Il Maestrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Il Maestrale

Address: Via Roma 37, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $103 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Il Maestrale 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inn Il Maestrale is a small refuge for those who like beautiful things and accurate, but informal atmosphere. Stefania and Giovanni are the owners and the managers of the XXVIII sec. building, which has been recently restored following modern stardards. The terrace of the inn overlooks the historycal centre main street and the inn is a short step from restaurants and shops. The beach and the ferry boats dock are just 2 minutes away as well as the path n.2 leading to Vernazza. We will do our best to give you a special holiday at the Cinque Terre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Il Maestrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Il Maestrale Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Locanda Il Maestrale Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing