We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Monterosso! Stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Il Maestrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda Il Maestrale
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem in Monterosso! Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Spent 4 lovely nights in the Cinque Terre room. It was clean, well positioned & serviced daily. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. Giovanni makes the best cuppachino in Italy and i enjoyed our daily chats about the area. The terrace is stunning, feels like sitting in a botanical garden. The view is wonderful as is the whole vibe of the place. Delicious breakfast served daily along with comp fruit and pastries in the afternoon.
Beautiful place to stay, right near great restaurants and quaint shops. Reasonably priced too. Easy walk to train station, less than 10 mins and flat all the way. Same distance to the beach. Stay here you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    42
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
146
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent two nights here in mid June. As everyone has mentioned, it is a very good B&B in a very good location. We arrived by train, and the walk is not bad at all. Old town is the place to stay; if you want to get more touristy, it's just a few minutes walk to the newer area. I have included a picture of a restaurant we had supper at just a couple of minutes walk up the path, it's the first picture. Both the food and view were excellent. One big reason I wanted to go to the Cinque Terre was to hike along the trail from south to north, but the section we wanted to hike was still closed from the floods. We did have a very enjoyable boat ride along the coast, just sitting back and enjoying the scenery on a round trip ride from Monterosso to Riomaggiore. I can't imagine that any other place in Monterosso has something as nice as the terrace at Locanda, it is a great place to unwind. I highly recommend staying here, it was recommended by some friends of ours. Hope you enjoy the pictures.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My partner and I spent a night in this B&B and absolutely loved it! The service was excellent and the people running it were both lovely and always available.
The Locanda Il Maestrale provided beach towels for its guests as well as tea, coffee and fruit from 5 to 7 each afternoon.
The room we stayed in was in perfect conditions, with air conditioning and a flat screen tv. The bathroom was also very clean and the shower (which is of paramount importance to me) was absolutely brilliant!
Breakfast was of course brilliant as well, with a lot of food available for the guests.
It was fantastic value for my money and will definitely book it again if ever back at Monterosso!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and absolutely loved it!!! The hotel itself is very small with only 7 rooms but it was what we were after. Such a lovely hotel with a great vibe and unlike any of the other bigger hotels in the new town. This one is located in the old town, which is so much nicer and only a.10min walk to/from train station. Stephania and her husband were absolutely lovely and always there to help! My husband Came down with the flu while we were there and stephania was sooo helpful and accommodating and moved us to an upstairs Room So my husband can get well rested. either way the hotel was soooo quiet at night and we slept really well. Breakfast was small but good and our highlight was the freshly squeezed orange juice that was available for free on the terrace all day. Ahhh the terrace! It was the place we retreated to for a bit of rest and our favourite place in the hotel. Thank you so much for making our stay in monterosso so memorable. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to come back here one day in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OjiaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Locanda Il Maestrale for two nights during our trip to the Cinque Terre. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking to spend a couple nights in Monterosso.

The common areas, location and aesthetics made the B&B a memorable stay. The decor of the place was cheerful and bright yet comfortable. The inside of the B&B was fitting and authentic to the Cinque Terre. The outdoor terrace was perfect for enjoying an afternoon break from the beach, hiking or sightseeing.

Giovanni & Stefania take great pride in their establishment and work hard to make every stay comfortable and guest welcome. The breakfast was excellent. A lot of options including fruit, pastries, cereal, meat, cheeses, breads and wonderful cafe drinks including a must-have cappuccino.

The room was snug yet comfortable. The bathroom was small but functional with private stand-up shower but considering the great location and all to do in the Cinque Terre spending a lot of time in the room isn't high on the priority list. Our room had a nice window but no view as we looked out on a small couple feet wide alley. Noise traveled easy from the common areas into the room. However, given the small number of guests in the 5 room B&B hopefully this won't be an issue. Unfortunately, the obnoxiousness of a group of drunk girls staying in the B&B our first night made for a poor sleep and noise experience.

Overall, this is a wonderful place to stay. If we ever return to CT again we would stay here without even looking at alternatives. Book early and enjoy the stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I just stayed one night in a standard room at this hotel. It is located in the old city, which is probably quieter than the hotels which are on the beach. The room itself was clean with a large bed, but had an unpleasant sewage-like odour which we smelled intermittently, although we seemed to get used to it once in the room for a while. The bathroom was quite small with an archaic, barely operational blow dryer. The room was cool at night as the air conditioning worked well and there was a window, which we could have opened. There was a lovely outside terrace where one could have breakfast, which was included in the cost of the room. The staff were friendly.
Word to the wise, for those who don't know, Monterosso is a pedestrian town, so one can not park a car at the hotel, although there is a large car park not far from the hotel. This hotel is one of the farther ones from the train station, which is very close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coco057toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

An absolutely wonderful place to stay! Nicely furnished and decorated rooms and an incredible breakfast. Freshly squeezed orange juice, chocolate filled croissants, made to order cappuccino, fresh juicy peaches, organic granola, pumpernickel and soft cheese...all while sitting on their nice veranda filled with flowers and hearing birds chirping while admiring the beautiful view. My wife and I stayed 2 nights here on an 11 day trip to Italy in June and we wish the stay at this charming b&b could have been longer! The location is great as well - in the middle of beautiful "old town", a 5 minute stroll from the beach and perhaps 10 minutes from the train station. Monterosso is the best base to explore the cinq terre towns and this is a fabulous place to stay while doing that.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aroon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Il Maestrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Il Maestrale

Property: Locanda Il Maestrale
Address: Via Roma 37, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Il Maestrale 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Locanda Il Maestrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Il Maestrale Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Locanda Il Maestrale Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing