We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a lovely village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Degli Amici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Degli Amici
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a lovely village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I spent four nights at this hotel with my girlfriend in May 2012. The hotel is located in Monterosso, which a good base from which to explore the wonderful region of the Cinque Terre.
Not so much to say about the hotel except that while not luxurious it was clean, well situated and functional.
The breakfast buffet was okay except that the tables were very close to each other.
Don't forget to visit the beautiful roof garden: very relaxing and superb views on the city and the sea.
I'll finish by saying that the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    118
    41
    20
    6
See reviews for
51
115
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Ok hotel, but still expensive for what you get, like most of cinque terre. The hotel was good located, from the parking, 10 min to go, and nice location in the historical center. The room was small, and we had some minor problems with the bathroom. It was also quite noisy as you hear the elevator and the other rooms. Breakfast was quite good, and the people working in the hotel seemed helpful. The roof garden is really nice, a fantastic view. And the free wifi is just on the ground floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5Ella5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our room was big and clean, with nice view to the mountains. Great breakfast, way better than expected. We missed the rooftop terrace, I'm sorry that no one told us about it :)) It's well positioned for the old town, for us it was a bit more difficult to reach as we parked our car at the Fegina parking, which is 1km far.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaRazvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I can not say enough good things about this hotel. Great location, clean, welcoming. The rooms are well appointed with great views of the city and beautiful hillside. The food in the restaurant is delicious and fresh. Breakfast is plentiful with variety. The best part? The rooftop terraces! So romantic and cozy. And the view! Overlooking the city and the beautiful Ligurian sea. From the lemon trees to the wine vending machine, there wasn't anything that didn't impress us. I believe there are 5 total terraces, one even has a ping-pong table and foosball! The foliage and flowers were gorgeous and the wonderful smell of honeysuckle was intoxicating. We laid on the lounge chairs that overlooked the sea and felt as though we were in heaven. I would not hesitate for a second to return to this gem of a hotel and I plan to as soon as I can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I fell in love with this quaint, wonderful hotel. It was a perfect end to a perfect Italian vacation. Anyone who had issues with this hotel is either lying, or has never done much traveling in Europe, or Italy specifically.

The size of the room was exactly what we expected, and had all the amenities. ALL showers in Italy or on the small side, unless you are staying in a luxury/big dollar hotel or resort. It's ITALY for goodness sake! Our room was very clean, comfy, and looked out over the town. Breakfast was quite delightful, and hit all the notes that is a typical Italian breakfast.

The location was excellent, and we loved the small town to no-end. We wish we could have stayed a few more days.

Now to the best part of the hotel......the multi-tired garden terrace with lemon trees, plum trees, fig trees, olive trees, and wonderful cats that roam the grounds. Oh...and it has the most amazing view of the town, and the sea. We could have stayed up there for hours upon hours. And to have a soda pop machine loaded with water, beer, and dare I say WINE....was quite fun itself.

We will definitely be back to Monterosso, and will stay no other place. The Albergo Degli Amici adds to the overall Cinque Terre experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank norcantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

It is about 10min walk to the Monterosso station. Location is not bad. The room is quite basic. Our shower room is small - water seemed to drip from a corner of the shower room no matter how closely you shut the doors. Breakfast spread is good, you can make your own poached eggs too. The gem of the place is the rooftop garden - it's like a sanctuary of its own with lots of lemon trees. It's pretty special though I think the room is overpriced for the quality of the rooms you get ( it's not run down, it is just very basic). For that price I actually expect wifi in the room. You can only get free wifi for 1 hour at the reception area.

Hotel provides beach towels with no charge - definitely a plus. Staff service overall is good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

While it does not have any ocean views from most of their bedrooms, they do have a fantastic multi tiered garden above their rooftop! That alone is worth spending an afternoon or evening at.

The rooms were clean and basically did the job. Like most old Italian hotels, the bathroom was quite small. The position was only 50m away from the centre of Monterosso east, with many shops restaurants just a few steps away.

It was priced a little on the high side but it was quiet, clean and service was friendly.

We still highly ecommend this place.

P.s. it had free wifi but can only be accessed on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor. Some rooms have private courtyard balconies. Plus the garden above the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stray-Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Accini
Hotel Villa Accini
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Degli Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Degli Amici

Property: Albergo Degli Amici
Address: Via Buranco 36, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Degli Amici 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Degli Amici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Degli Amici Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Degli Amici Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing