We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cinque terra (Monterrosa), Baia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cinque terra (Monterrosa), Baia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We decided to take a train trip to Cinque Terra not knowing anything. When we go to the train station in Monterrosa we asked if there were any Hotels.They gave us a list and high lighted Baia. Baia is just steps away from the train station. We asked for a room with a view (120 euros) vs a room in the back (100 euros) Since we were there for only one night we went with the beautiful view of the Mediterranean Ocean....bellisima. The room was small (as most are in Europe), clean, and the breakfast was good. We did not have any problem with the staff, they were lovely (it may have been because if was starting to be off-season.) They only take VISA. Usually the restaurant only take cash, but again, since it was off season they were will to take our VISA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FriedaLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    113
    87
    30
    58
See reviews for
59
187
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beautiful location directly opposite the Mediterrainean Sea, very romantic, lovely large rooms and very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful, but obviously smokers !!
The restaurant was too expensive to have dinner at but breakfasts were convenient although not delicious, thank heavens for fruit (tinned) & yoghurt.
The second night we were there the hot water was cut off due to broken boiler, the staff were very apologetic but the owner outright rude, in hindsight we should have asked for compensation.
Wifi only worked in front foyer.
It was also a very noisy hotel from within and outside, Saturday night was very noisy.
We were charged 10 euro each to use there beach, even though we were already paying customers, plus 2 euro each for a towel each, so an afternoon at beach cost 24 euro.
Overall far too expensive, certainly not value for money.

Room Tip: I'd avoid this place despite excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We tried to get into every hotel in monterosso without any success. We eventually got the last room for the Thursday Friday nights. It is an expensive hotel, but then again, that is most of Europe. Yes, there are flies. Yes, the internet is only available in the foyer, but it is free. The beach is across the road and it is a short work to almost everywhere. The ferry is five minutes away which is just five minutes walk away, as is the station. I would have much rather have stayed at the hotel le spiaggia next door, but we missed out on the last room there by just a minute. The room was clean, but very basic. Breakfast was a typical Italian deal with cheese and ham etc. The bar doesn't open until five which is annoying when I wanted to use the internet, sit in the sun and have a glass of wine whilst watching the world go by at about 4pm.

Beware. You can book using your Amex card but can't pay for your bill with it. Doesn't seem to make sense.

If I was ever there again, I probably would chose somewhere else. And yes, the old Italian bird is a bit of hard work. Would be nice if she smiled once in a while.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelCraigSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The room was nice, the view was great, however before we checked in, we were told by email that our first night was going to be billed in advance. We had confirmation that it would be billed in advance and that only our second night would be due when we arrived. When we arrived, they wanted full payment for both nights.

After much going around - she apparently does not speak English, we paid her, expecting to cancel the overcharge when we returned. Upon further investigation, we determined that they had not done what they said they would do but rather got an authorization on the card and the full amount was indeed due. This was not at all what they said would happen and this is not the kind of confusion you want to be greeted with after an 8 hour flight!

The woman was always waving her hands and shouting obscenities at everyone and it made what would otherwise have been a beautiful setting, a horrible experience.

I would not stay at this hotel again - even free!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Primusix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterosso al Mare hotels

Pacifica, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The owner was an elderly Italian man who was extremely rude on multiple occasions. Their internet access was not working and I asked for them to check on it and he ignored me and simply shrugged, "Oh Well".. I walked next door to La Spezia Hotel and they were awesome.. They let me use their internet and sit in their lobby.. The wife of the owner at Hotel Baia was also not very helpful with questions about the area, no effort at all.. Again, La Spezia Hotel was awesome in helping.. To their credit, the ocean view room had a great view, but very basic.. I would never stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone.. STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Stay Away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shawmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel to be very clean, although rundown and shabby. There are two things that stand out in my mind as being fairly ordinary though. The first thing is the amount of flies in the hotel, especially the lobby. They were a nightmare. You'd think they would supply some spray or something. The flies were also in the room, but not as bad. The second thing is something (or someone!) who other reviewers have alluded to. We ended up calling her Mamma...the woman who runs the hotel is a cranky beast! Don't ask her for anything or you'll cop a mouthful! Wifi only available in reception which is a pain in the patootie. Would I stay there again? Only if I could be assured I didn't cross Mamma's path!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pinkpetuniasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel in which we stayed for 2 nights, is beautifully located across from its own private, small, beach. The hotel room we had was OK but a bit small and the bathroom likewise. On the plus side the room had air-conditioning which we weren't expecting. On the downside the whole hotel seems tired and in need of refurbishment, particularly the lift which will only carry luggage. No people!

With one minor exception the staff were really nice and helpful. Breakfast on the terrace across the road next to the beach was a delight, as was evening drinks and late night coffee and ice-cream in the same place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philipW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
4.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Accini
Hotel Villa Accini
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Property: Hotel Baia
Address: Via Fegina 88, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Baia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing