We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, good location.”
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a hotel that is very close to the train station, you actually just get off the train, and walk out to the main street, on the beach, turn right and you are almost there!
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The ocean views out the window and the sound of the waves is amazing.
The breakfast was great, had alot of good food to choose from, and it is served right in the restaurant in the hotel.
The staff were nice too.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view to the ocean, and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctrip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 375 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

Location was absolutely picture perfect, we checked in to a room with a partial sea view and this just made us want to speed things up and to step on to the beautiful Monterosso beach that lay before us!
To say this is a prime location is an understatement, to be able to walk right outside, cross the road and right onto the beach was heavenly!
The staff at the hotel were a mixed bag of quirkiness but everything went smoothly and we were grateful for the help in checking in, purchasing wifi (yes u have to pay, this area has very little internet/wifi coverage at all) and also a smooth check out process.
Only downside was the lack of parking but the hotel cant be blamed for this as its more a result of the area itself. 15euro a day was little bit high but in the scheme of things worth it for the peace of mind having the car in a safe area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzRider16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Coming to monterosso all we wanted in our hotel was a nice view, air conditioning, close proximity to the beach and friendly staff and that's exactly what we got ! The hotel was only 200m from the train station which made it easy to get our stuff to the hotel, although the hotel requires you to climb the stairs to your room they have a lift for your luggage. Also the proximity to the beach was wonderful! It was right across from the hotel, the hotel also had it's own "private beach area" though this area was only available if you wanted to pay the price of 10 euros for a umbrella and 2 lounge chairs and if you wanted 2euros for towels, this was a down point for us because already paying 181 euros for a room made this beach holiday a little to pricy!
We also discovered that paying the extra euros for the sea view room made us able to get the originally quoted 30 euro breakfast for free, the breakfast was nice and was your regular crossiant juice and fruit breakfast
although the rooms were cramped and quite outdated, the view and very friendly and helpful staff made up for it and made our holiday quite enjoyable !

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are for sure the way to go! and make it a more enjoyable stay having the sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Pictures look good but reality is rooms are small ( wide as a king size bed) , smallest bathrooms I've every seen, clean, acceptable breakfast, curtious front desk attendant (young man very helpful and pleasant), great location wth short walk from train station. We liked the proximity to beach and the main street/walkway. Slept with windows open and listened to ocean waves.... Old town is Short walk up hill. We won't Stay here again for the 150 euro per night price. Many others to choose from.

Room Tip: Book a room in this area early. The better view rooms are assigned first. Monterosso is great locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Location is so close to the train station so the convienince of being right there is great. The rooms are what you'd expect from a small European town, clean, small with great windows.
If your worried about lugging your suitcases or back packs up and down the stairs I'd suggest somewhere else, we didnt have any problems with this. They claim they serve you breakfast in the mornings but everytime we went there was litterially maybe a roll left in there buffet section.
The staff is so unfriendly you dont dare to ask if they could bring you more. We always opted to grab coffee and a crousant at the bar/cafe next door. I'd say you could find much better acommidations on the otherside of montarossa, a short walk but well worth the value of your money. I notice upon checkout they charge different prices to different guests, and for the price we paid $150 Euros I wouldnt go back, we ran into people who had much better places for around 100 Euros...Sorry Hotel Baia you didnt impress these Canadian backpackers....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank new2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Location very close to train and right on the beach. Ideal to sit under umbrella and enjoy the water. Staff was polite and helpful. We left bags while we hiked and picked up later in the day. Hope to stay ther again. No problem to use lift for heavy bags.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank drwmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The location was great - very near parking area of town. We knew beforehand that we had to use the stairs - so the 3rd floor room was no shock. The room was very basic but clean. The two young guys who worked there were friendly and obliging which is more than can be said for the older women. The younger women who did breakfast obviously doesn't like her job - & breakfast was a joke - never enough of what small amounts of choice of food was available - had to ask for more bread rolls every morning - it just seemed as if they were hesitant to bring out anything extra.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - we were down one side & could see a little of the sea out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
791 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Address: Via Fegina 88, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $141 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Baia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing