We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Cinque Terre....amazing views, amazing rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pasquale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pasquale
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Cinque Terre....amazing views, amazing rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed in Hotel Pasquale over the Italian Labor Day weekend this year and it was INCREDIBLE!

We came here upon the recommendation of Rick Steves and he has not steered us wrong yet!

This hotel is BEACHFRONT and every room has a spectacular view of the ocean and of the coastline. From the outside, it looks very quaint...it is built into the hill and there are even portions of the hotel built around rock! Inside...wow, I was not expecting such a modern hotel with so many amenities!

The first place I look in the hotels I stay in are the bathrooms. This one passed the test. It was small but beautiful and it had an INCREDIBLE shower with amazing hot water and water pressure. Seriously, it was a like a spa showerhead, it was so great. Everything was so clean and the towels were luxuriously thick.....a nice change from the other places we stayed in Italy. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom as well as an outlet that had a USA adapter built into it! I thought that was very thoughtful.

The bed was firm, but comfortable and took up most of the room. there was also a flat screen TV with English CNN and the air conditioning worked superbly. There was also a nice wardrobe to hang your clothes.

When we first checked in, we had a delightful glass of the renowned sweet wine that Cinque Terre is known for...called sciacchetra. Ask for it when you check in. It is DELICIOUS! The staff was so cordial and accommodating. Not only did they make reservations for us at a restaurant we wanted to try (Miky's...it's GREAT!), they also kept calling the local masseuse to try to track down an appointment for my boyfriend!! Talk about service!

Also, the hotel itself has a computer with internet that you may use for a very minimal charge as well as a sitting room with tons of magazines and books to browse. You can also rent beach towels from them at a low cost to use on the beach outside.

Finally, the breakfast....oh my goodness, the breakfast here was SO GOOD I don't know where to start. First, they give you this delicious brioche with powdered sugar on top. Then you have a choice of drinks (coffee, cappuccino, tea). They have an assortment of organic jams and jellies and fruit juices. I had this carrot juice that is like no other carrot juice I have ever tasted before...it was spectacular. And try the lemon marmalade that is a specialty of this region. Yum. There is also a variety of cheeses and cold meats as well as cereal and yogurt. And if you desire, you may also get a fried egg or omelet to order!

The service at this hotel is EXCEPTIONAL. Everyone was so kind and accommodating and we had such a great experience here. It was an extremely comfortable place to stay and although it was close to the train station, we barely heard the noise at ALL. And actually, being close to the train station made it easier with our luggage. This hotel is one of the best in this whole region. I've already recommended it to 2 different friends who are going to the region this year.

When I go back to Monterosso....this is where I am going to stay! :-) Thank you Hotel Pasquale for a wonderful time!

Gina, Marcus, Anna & Royce

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghuang3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    156
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
243
749
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

I loved LOVED this hotel! The hotel was a short walk away from the train station and centrally located in Monterosso. We were just a stone's throw away from all the restaurants, the beach and the famous Cinque Terre hiking trail. From our room, we had a great view of the beach where people laid out as well as the town square where the locals hung out at night. Also, another great part about the hotel was the pastries at breakfast. YUM!! I would have to say that the only drawback that I can think of is that although the rooms were pretty spacious, the bathroom was TINY. The toilet was practically in the shower, but it didn't matter because the rest of the stay was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fliesfromsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

Great location, right on the beach and an easy walk to both the train station and the restaurants of Monterosso. The room was small but had a full bathroom and was very adequate. Windows overlooked the ocean, cliffs, and town. Breakfast in the morning was great. Reasonably priced internet access is available. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krod628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

We were looking for a place in Cinque Terre that was reasonably priced and in a good location. We stayed for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was great (near parking and near the train station and ferry for quick and easy transportation to the other Cinque Terre villages). The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast -- a traditional continental-style breakfast included in the price -- served was a great way to start the day. The view from the room was beautiful; it overlooked the beach and mountains and was a great sight to wake up to each morning.

With the windows open, the trains could be heard through the night, but it was something you get used to and didn't bother us. When we closed our windows, we could hardly hear the trains, so that was a viable option for dealing with the noise as well.

The only drawback would be that the cost of parking is so high (EUR 12/day), but that is unavoidable really.

Of the five villages, we found Monterosso to be the best base to operate from and would consider staying at Hotel Pasquale if we returned. Transportation is easy between the villages and Monterosso has the most beach real estate, so it is a good place to explore Cinque Terre from. The room was a little small (even for Europe), especially with a baby cot, but it served our needs just fine and we would recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cspoe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanquedoc-Roussillon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

We found Hotel Pasquale to be charmingly old-fashioned (but in the best way). The owners were warm & helpful with all requests. We're already missing the great croissants for breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashewnougat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

Seriously? I cannot believe all of the glowing reviews on this site about this property.. its like a little dorm room on the beach. Location is great.. although VERY noisey with the trains all night and the crowds right outside our window. The room was just large enough to fit two twin beds.. and no space on either side.. maybe 2 ft in between. tiny tiny tiny. this is a 2 star at best. For the price.. sooo not worth it. We went up the hill to the heavenly hotel on the cliff and only paid 40% more. (150 Euros for Pasqueale and 223 for Hotel PortoRoca). The difference was night and day. Thankfully the owner of Pasquale let us leave early.. We wouldve been very miserable to stay there another moment. More like a hostel then a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

My husband and I just returned from four days at Hotel Pasquale. The room was delightful and the staff made us feel at home. We overslept due to daylight savings time and were served breakfast an hour after it was over. They helped with train schedules and, despite the March rain, our visit there was warm and lovely. Our view out the large, open, window was spectacular. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italy-4-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pasquale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pasquale

Property: Hotel Pasquale
Address: Via Fegina 4, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pasquale Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Pasquale Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing