We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgruntled!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Affittacamere Lo Scoglio
Calgary,Ab
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgruntled!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Upon our arrival to Monterosso we wandered from the train station to the main road. With absolutely no signage as to the Lo Scoglio, a couple from a balcony called down to us yelling "Lo Scoglio? ". If they weren't standing there we would have NEVER found our hotel as there is NO indication to where it is. The gentleman came down and took us up three flights of stairs with NO elevator! Further; if you don't ask for the main door key to the building you will be LOCKED out! Luckily my husband noticed this door and conveyed that we needed a key for this door. The man gave us a key off of his own key chain and it was our saving grace that we got this key as the door was locked and again NO way to contact the hotel! Being that we were there during their off season you couldn't just walk down the street to contact someone.
There is no English spoken what soever, and there is no staff to be found 24/7!! If you have questions or concerns, go luck! We had to write a note regarding our departure. Luckily the maid was in the common area the next day so we could pay.
Needless to say we were very disappointed with the lack of Lo Scoglio's staff's presence.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineRas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at the Lo Scoglio and were very surprised to find it totally reconditioned with modern, upscale facilities. A balcony with ocean view made the stay very pleasant. Located 5 minutes walking distance from the RR station, one block from the center of town and 100 ft. from the ocean made this property one of the best in our entire 30 day trip. Second floor, no lift.
A/C and breakfast included.

Room Tip: For a couple or small family ask for room #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

I booked the B&B and had a confirmation # and everything, once we arrived in Montersso we searched for the location for about 30 minutes. When we finally found it we were VERY disappointed to hear that they didn't have a room for us. They called made a call and found room for us at a hotel, most likely run by another family member. Everything about the substation hotel turned us off. The location was not at all as desirable as Lo Scoglio, and the room that we were to stay in was a HUGE let down considering what we were expecting. There obviously was a reason why the hotel they sent us to had vacancies while pretty much everything else in Monterosso was booked up. I'm sure if we actually stayed here we would had loved it, but honestly, running around the city, finding an alternative place to stay completely ruined our visit Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterosso al Mare hotels

Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Beautiful view of the cinque terre from our window.  Modern room with a great bathroom. Although we knew the exact location of the hotel, there was no mention of the hotel name anywhere on the building and we had difficulty in finding the entrance. A couple on the 3rd floor balcony indicated that we should come up to the 3rd floor - with the help of an interpreter. Next day we had a bit of trouble finding out where breakfast was - in a different location - but although it was just a basic breakfast, everything was fresh and absolutely delicious. Only problem with the room was that there were no glasses or cups of any description. We later found a kitchen area that we assumed could be shared between guests. We probably had the only sandy beach  on the Cinque Terre opposite us. 

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Accini
Hotel Villa Accini
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Degli Amici
Albergo Degli Amici
#12 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Villa degli Argentieri
Hotel La Villa degli Argentieri
#32 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alle 5 Terre
Alle 5 Terre
#20 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi di Sole
Camere/ Rooms Le Sirene & Raggi ...
#43 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affittacamere Lo Scoglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affittacamere Lo Scoglio

Property: Affittacamere Lo Scoglio
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 3, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Affittacamere Lo Scoglio 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Affittacamere Lo Scoglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affittacamere Lo Scoglio Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing