We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and good value”

Ristorante L'Alta Marea
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a lovely meal here during our stay in Monterosso. The Fish raviloi which was recommend to me by our waitress was exceptional and I was so glad she recommended it. Really good Italian cooking - definately worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    81
    27
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here last night. Had the bruschetta to start with which we found lacking in zing. Had a bolognese pizza and bolognese ravioli for our main and they were delicious. Beautiful Italian home style cooking with excellent service from the owners themselves. If you are looking for good genuine Italian food then stop by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meehan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food was excellent . The restaurant was way too hot inside but the outdoor seating was good. They prepare seafood very well at this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This place came highly recommended through Trip Adviser. We had to check it out. On a cold night, where most the restaurants are empty, this one was full of life! We opted for an outside table for a more intimate meal.

Service was very friendly and professional. The menu was full of great options, however my husband was sad the squid ink pasta had sold out. He did however love his seafood pasta "spaghetti fruits de marre" and I lost my mind over the steamed mussels which were lightly seasoned with salt and lemon.. Very large servings of both! For main, we both opted for the mixed seafood grill. Whilst the seafood was very fresh, I found it to be a bit heavy on the oil. However, I understand this is the preference of some people. The only other critism was the bread was very dry. Almost a blessing though, as my pants are getting tight!

With a bottle of sparkling water and a side salad this set us back 80 euro, inclusive of tip. Definitely great value!

Enjoy!

Kate x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have been to Cinque Terre twice and both times went to this restaurant in Monterosso. The seafood pasta is delicious. I had the seafood ravioli. My husband had the rabbit and it was great as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante L'Alta Marea also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Ristorante L'Alta Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing