We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Homely, lovely, peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterosso Alto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Homely, lovely, peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this little inn. Located a short shuttle ride away from town, you get the most perfect stillness and quiet all around. The couple that run this inn was incredibly accommodating of our very active baby, with the cook whipping up food for her and making us feel relaxed and at home (as opposed to many places we travel, where we're constantly apologizing and walking on eggshells chasing after our rambunctious little one).
The food was terrific, and the inn charmingly simple and sweet. If you're looking for a relaxing, peaceful stay, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiredfeethappyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    52
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
30
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Situated top of the hill above Monterosso, no views, but good shuttle service to town. Comfortable room, tiny bathroom, very friendly staff, fine breakfast, good restaurant and full bar for lunch and dinner. Great location for hiking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJ-HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a lovely experience and we would happily return. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and went above and beyond to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. The manager/owners were helpful in providing guidance and recommendations regarding dining and touring, and even drove us into town when our bus did not arrive. The rooms were not glamorous, but were clean and comfortable, and well worth the price. As we had come for the location, we were not looking for anything luxurious, but felt as if this more than met our expectations.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CassinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel, ( which is more like a hostel/lodge) is located WAY up the hill and requires transport to and from town. Upon arrival, the owner, Jonathan, provided us with various information, to include the free shuttle schedule. I thought I heard him say that the shuttle ran every 15-20 minutes. Anyways, Later, that evening, my husband and I walked past the owner, and went outside to wait for the shuttle that we thought ran every 15-20 minutes. We had a dinner reservation in town. After waiting and waiting, my husband asked the owner when the shuttle would arrive.. He said 5 minutes. More time passed. No shuttle. After several additional attempts to talk with the owner about when the shuttle would come: the owner made it clear that he had given us the shuttle schedule and obviously we had not STUDIED it! He noted the shuttle was not coming. ( why did he let us stand outside soo long waiting for it? ) My husband then asked for a taxi to be called. The taxi arrived and we started to get in,but then the owner and taxi driver started yelling back and forth in Italian and we were gestured to not get in the taxi, after a bit more yelling, we were told we could get in the taxi... Then the owner yelled at us as we left! Unbelievable! We have never experienced such rudeness, especially from someone who has a business dependent on customers and the feedback they provide others. Fortunately we did not have to deal with him again during our stay. I would not recommend this place based on the owners rudeness and lack of basic customer service. Also, the location is very inconvenient.

Room Tip: The rooms are BASIC. Tiny, capsule like shower! The lock box in the room is a tackle box, bolted to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CalleaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We booked a quad room at monterosso alto and we were pleasantly suprised. We got to choose between the room with a bath or the one with the shower and as we were two couples we chose the bath one because it was two separate rooms with a bathroom in the middle! The rooms were nice, clean and fresh but the first night we didnt get a blanket in either bed so had to request one the following morning and the room with the pull out sofa had no room to put suit cases! Overall the hotel was lovely the location wasn't too bad except if you end up with the grumpy shuttle driver. Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly and helpful even making us a breakfast bag for our 6am departure! I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wantedtotravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been in monterosso and we stayed in hotel called Monterosso Alto. When we arrived on our first day it was so wonderfull. The workers are so hospitable
And nice persons. We ate a dinner on our first day. It was very fantastic. Food are great and service was very nice and gentle.

Then on our first day morning first day of breakfast it was very great. The buffet table was completed occupied with foods.
There is a lot of foods on buffet. Fruits etc. Yoy can choose your varriety breakfast. And the coffe service was fantastic. A Filipino guy who served my first latte macchiato he s gentle and friendly. My Staying in MonterossoAlto was so petfectly Wonderfull.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank solciks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterosso Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterosso Alto

Property: Hotel Monterosso Alto
Address: Loc. Colle di Gritta, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monterosso Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monterosso Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterosso Alto Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing