We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is TOO FAR from town!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This hotel is TOO FAR from town!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We arrived to Monterosso and went to where they told us the taxi/shuttle to the hotel stopped.
We waited 45 minutes or more!! Finally the van which is shared with the other hotels located uphill, arrived and took us for what felt like a adrenaline charged rally ride (15 minute ride going fast) up the mountain. The location is nice, cooler than town because it is high which can be a plus in summer but IT IS NOT WALKING DISTANCE from town. The shuttle runs once an hour, so those are the times you can come and go from town to hotel, so you'd better not forget something there...
Rooms were decent, the bathroom was tiny, how tiny? I had to sit in the toilet at an angle because my legs would not fit between the toilet bowl and the shower ( i am 5'6" and my legs are not long and have small feet... so 6 footers beware...)
As it is surrounded by forest, it is nice and cool at night,there is no AC but you cannot leave the window open at night unless you apply some repellant because of the mosquitoes.
The day we arrived we were tired and decided to dine at the hotel restaurant - we were the only diners, not a good sign - and the food was mediocre at best - we didn't eat there again.
Breakfast was really skimpy - some cookies, yogurt, a basket with some fruit, and that was about it. No cheese, no meats of any kind, nothing cooked, you get the picture.
Personnel was nice but we found the hotels minuses far surpassed the pluses.
Shop around for a hotel in town if you don't want to schedule your activities around the shuttle hours which are not really dependable either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    56
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
33
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We hired a car in Italy and looking for places to stay around Cinque Terre. Hotel Monterosso Alto was perfect as it is located 5-7 minute drive from the village of Monterosso with hourly (free) shuttle (to and from).
The hotel has a restaurant - we dined the first night. The food was nice and homey and they have a great selection of local wines.
The rooms are good size (bathroom was a bit too small), very clean and friendly staff - it is a family run business so you'd feel warm and welcome. The owners are quite young and a bit shy!
We parked the car during our stay as we caught the free shuttle (ask for the timetable). Monterosso is the largest of the 5 villages and you have more option for restaurants, dining and other facilities such as laundry/dry cleaning and etc.
It is a quiet and romantic place which is also suitable for families with children. I'll be there during my next trip for sure.

Room Tip: If you are driving, I'd say this hotel is a great option. I didn't check other places in Mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjang A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here as a group of four girls and found the Hotel to be very good. The room we had was two bedrooms with double beds in each. We chose this hotel as we wanted to stay in the one room and it's difficult to find somewhere that caters for a four people in the one room. The location is quite out of the way and is about a 10 minute drive to the main centre. There is a regular shuttle service run by the taxi company for the hotel and is free of charge. Upon arrival you will be given a timetable for the service. We had no issues with using the shuttle service and found it was great to meet and chat with other travellers on the ride to and from the hotel. The restaurant is very nice, spacious with indoor and outdoor dining and great food. There is a small bar which is a great spot to have a late night drink or cocktail and relax on the couches after coming back in from town, even late at night. The rooms were adequate, we also had a bathroom that had a low roof over the bath/shower which was an inconvenience but overall the whole hotel was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast in the morning was superb and free wifi was included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Lovely stay but a very inconvenient location. Jonathan and Delia were very nice and extremely helpful. The staff is outstanding, the hotel is spotless, the continental breakfast was a nice spread, served on the terrace. If you have a car, it's a great place to stay away from the craziness of high season in town. There is a shuttle that runs to town, but keeping to a schedule is not what you want to do on vacation. You can always have them call a taxi for you, but coming back from town is difficult to find a taxi. The rooms are VERY small, but clean, comfortable beds and all amenities. NO air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamcraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We came during high season so can't complain too much as prices are automatically higher. Location is terrible specially if you don't have a car. Although the shuttle 9 times a day does help. the pictures on the website are a little deceiving as it appears closer to the beach or that it at least has beach views which is not true. Breakfast was great and it was nice and quiet being so far out of town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Hotel Monterosso Alto, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
good day!

thank you for your review ,we useful for became better in future.
but I'm sorry that you find some deceptive pictures, because I'm sure that we don't put any beach pictures and especially pictures about beach view rooms ...
I would like you can help me to find this not true pictures and eventually I can remove it.
I know you have make the reservation by booking.com, you can read and see on the map, is very specified that we stay at 4 km from monterosso al mare.
my preoccupation is that you make some confusion about the hotel.
the hotel awaits your more informations about because our interest is that all our guest are happy and not think that we deceipt them.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Staff friendly ,the room we were in had low roof to bedroom and bathroom , had to sit on a stool for a shower as could not stand up .breakfast was included not flash and bring your own toaster ,as they don't do toast.
On the positive great restaurant .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ijlmdperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinsville, nj
Level Contributor
287 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Nice small family run hotel. The owners, a husband and wife who are expecting their first child very very nice and helpful.
The food in the restaurant was among the best food, for the money, in Italy. We ate there both nights that we stayed in thre hotel.
It is far from town, so that a car is necessary so you don't have to relay on their taxi service. Parking is free in a large lot.
The hotel is next to one of the hiking trails.
Rooms were small and overproced, but there does not appear to be much in the way of accomadations in the area.
Only downside was the maid service. The second day they took the half used toiletries, but did not replace them. Didn;t give us more toilet paper either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertmaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
5.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterosso Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterosso Alto

Property: Hotel Monterosso Alto
Address: Loc. Colle di Gritta, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monterosso Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterosso Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterosso Alto Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing