We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Nice small family run hotel. The owners, a husband and wife who are expecting their first child very very nice and helpful.
The food in the restaurant was among the best food, for the money, in Italy. We ate there both nights that we stayed in thre hotel.
It is far from town, so that a car is necessary so you don't have to relay on their taxi service. Parking is free in a large lot.
The hotel is next to one of the hiking trails.
Rooms were small and overproced, but there does not appear to be much in the way of accomadations in the area.
Only downside was the maid service. The second day they took the half used toiletries, but did not replace them. Didn;t give us more toilet paper either.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertmaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monterosso Alto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

This little hotel turned out to be like staying at a friend's resort home. It is not a big chain hotel with everything in the same cookie-cutter condition but if you let go of your preconceived notions of what makes for a wonderful holiday, you will come away richer for the time spent here. The rooms seem simple at first and we talked about canceling but then we realized, we didnt know what the other facilities would be and we knew we had agreed to a comittment with the reservation so we'd have to forfeit montey if we left after one night. But the beds turned out to give us a wonderful night's sleep and the only drawback was not leaning of the shower knob which changed the temperature or turned off the water. The free shuttle made getting to Monterosso and linking to the other four villages on the Chinque Terre by trail or train as easy as pie. The big surprise however, is that there is plenty of parking for those of you who don't want to take luggage on the train and then climb a hill and stairs to get to a room with no view where you can't hear the sea. It was peaceful and quiet at the hotel without the sound of the taxis, shuttle buses, and grandmothers shouting down to people on the street from third floor windows. We couldn't hear the sea at night but enjoyed it all day so it was not a hardship to be in this peaceful paradise on a lovely green hill in the evenings And do not miss dinner at this restaurant! Breakfast is wonderful and don't forget to try the cakes Jonathan makes but dinner is even better! The chef is an artist whether its his amazing pot of sizzling minestone brought to the table on a butcher block or the pastas and steaks and abundant fresh fish or game. If you are into wines, this is the place with the most choice we've seen. All in all, this family-owned hotel is a little gem and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehdi and Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I did a reservation for just one night, at 08:38 am of May 30 2012, through Booking.com.

In the same day, 3 hours later, at 11:42 am, I cancelled the reservation, by e-mail sent direclty to the management, because I was going there by car and the road was terrible and very dangerous.

But they charged me the entire rate of the night! 110 euros for 3 hours of reservation!!!

I cancelled just 3 hours after I reserved. It was before the check in time. But they said that they would have to charge the whole stay just because it was a non-cancellation reservation.

Booking.com said that this decision is entirely of the hotel, so they decided to steal us.

Is it fair to charge 110 E for a reservation made for the same day, and cancelled in the same morning, just 3 hours later?

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matheus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Pro: Great service with amicable friendly staff. Good breakfast

Con: Out of the main track with free hourly cab rides during most times.

They were very friendly and went out of the way to help us with the little things.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lac5q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was a nice hotel with a B&B feel. The room was small but cozy and comfortable. We arrived late on a Friday evening but still in time for dinner at the hotel restaurant. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and we were surprised by the WiFi and plentiful cable channels. This is a great base location for hiking around Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were booked in late October, 2011 for 2 nights at the Hotel Monterosso Alto in the Cinque Terre. Unfortunately, Italy experienced very heavy rains which caused floods and landslides at the time, destroying the villages of Monterosso and Vernazza. We received an email that the hotel had to cancel our reservation as it had been severely damaged. Nevertheless, the Hotel charged my credit card for one night's accomodation as a "cancellation penalty".
It took me 2 months to reverse the charge, working with my credit card company and providing all my proof that I was not the one who cancelled my reservation. The Hotel then simply turned around and put a new unauthorized charge through against my credit card for the same amount, which I now have to take more of my time to dispute.

Whatever the experience may be of the hotel's facilities, they clearly have an attitude of cheating the public, and I strongly recommend against anyone booking with them.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
15  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelMONTEROSSOalto, Direttore at Hotel Monterosso Alto, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

First of all we would say we're sorry for what happened and then inform you that the hotel never closed and never had problems because it is located on the hills of Monterosso al Mare as it surely will have noticed at the time of booking, the booking.com contract is clear and can not be changed by us, because we had the room reserved in his name until the day of cancellation, which was sent to us by booking.com without knowing who or why it was done with the permission booking.com the same contract, you agreed and signed at the time of booking, allowing the hotel to withdraw from his credit card as a guarantee that you chose and sent us without reserve, on the first night , we regret to read his review, (the only negative) made ​​in a moment of impulsive and inexplicable anger toward us also because unfortunately we could not know and you could not see the daily work we put in our hard work to succeed satisfy all our customers with generosity and helpfulness.
hope that one day the Cinque Terre are a happy memory for you and whether or not you choose us for your future stay you wish to spend beautiful moments in our places.

Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've not stayed here but called in on my way back from Central Italy. Arrived by bike having ridden some really great roads up from the coast. The food was really superb and the staff very friendly despite by slightly bedraggled appearance. I so love France and Italy great food, great people and no pretensions

Room Tip: I only ate in their restaurant but would thoroughly recommend it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5cottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
6.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
200 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterosso Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterosso Alto

Address: Loc. Colle di Gritta, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $87 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monterosso Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterosso Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterosso Alto Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing