We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISHONEST MANAGEMENT. Only interested in your money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DISHONEST MANAGEMENT. Only interested in your money.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I did a reservation for just one night, at 08:38 am of May 30 2012, through Booking.com.

In the same day, 3 hours later, at 11:42 am, I cancelled the reservation, by e-mail sent direclty to the management, because I was going there by car and the road was terrible and very dangerous.

But they charged me the entire rate of the night! 110 euros for 3 hours of reservation!!!

I cancelled just 3 hours after I reserved. It was before the check in time. But they said that they would have to charge the whole stay just because it was a non-cancellation reservation.

Booking.com said that this decision is entirely of the hotel, so they decided to steal us.

Is it fair to charge 110 E for a reservation made for the same day, and cancelled in the same morning, just 3 hours later?

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matheus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    56
    26
    14
    5
See reviews for
33
75
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Pro: Great service with amicable friendly staff. Good breakfast

Con: Out of the main track with free hourly cab rides during most times.

They were very friendly and went out of the way to help us with the little things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lac5q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was a nice hotel with a B&B feel. The room was small but cozy and comfortable. We arrived late on a Friday evening but still in time for dinner at the hotel restaurant. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and we were surprised by the WiFi and plentiful cable channels. This is a great base location for hiking around Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were booked in late October, 2011 for 2 nights at the Hotel Monterosso Alto in the Cinque Terre. Unfortunately, Italy experienced very heavy rains which caused floods and landslides at the time, destroying the villages of Monterosso and Vernazza. We received an email that the hotel had to cancel our reservation as it had been severely damaged. Nevertheless, the Hotel charged my credit card for one night's accomodation as a "cancellation penalty".
It took me 2 months to reverse the charge, working with my credit card company and providing all my proof that I was not the one who cancelled my reservation. The Hotel then simply turned around and put a new unauthorized charge through against my credit card for the same amount, which I now have to take more of my time to dispute.

Whatever the experience may be of the hotel's facilities, they clearly have an attitude of cheating the public, and I strongly recommend against anyone booking with them.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelMONTEROSSOalto, Direttore at Hotel Monterosso Alto, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
First of all we would say we're sorry for what happened and then inform you that the hotel never closed and never had problems because it is located on the hills of Monterosso al Mare as it surely will have noticed at the time of booking, the booking.com contract is clear and can not be changed by us, because we had the room reserved in his name until the day of cancellation, which was sent to us by booking.com without knowing who or why it was done with the permission booking.com the same contract, you agreed and signed at the time of booking, allowing the hotel to withdraw from his credit card as a guarantee that you chose and sent us without reserve, on the first night , we regret to read his review, (the only negative) made ​​in a moment of impulsive and inexplicable anger toward us also because unfortunately we could not know and you could not see the daily work we put in our hard work to succeed satisfy all our customers with generosity and helpfulness.
hope that one day the Cinque Terre are a happy memory for you and whether or not you choose us for your future stay you wish to spend beautiful moments in our places.

Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've not stayed here but called in on my way back from Central Italy. Arrived by bike having ridden some really great roads up from the coast. The food was really superb and the staff very friendly despite by slightly bedraggled appearance. I so love France and Italy great food, great people and no pretensions

Room Tip: I only ate in their restaurant but would thoroughly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5cottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had an amazing time in this hotel. We arrived late by train and Delia(one of the owners) came to pick us up with no problem. The hotel is a short free shuttle ride(in winter runs till 5:00 pm)from the train station. We stayed in Monterosso just after the unfortunate landslides but still had a wonderful time even though most of the city was shut down. Honestly, we had no problem just relaxing at the hotel while drinking wine and sitting next to the fireplace with" Elvis"( their very cute dog.)The room was very nice and clean, and they provided some nice bath soap and lotion. The bed was also very comfy. You should definitely eat at the restaurant as well, and the pesto pasta is a must! We felt like part of their family, and would/will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We were staying here right when the rains came and the terrible flood/landslide hit Monterosso. Fortunately the hotel is situated high on the hill and was not damaged, however we were stranded in Lavento and unable to return to the hotel overnight. Hotel owners Delia and John were most helpful during this crisis. They were extremely concerned for our safety and assisted us to be able to return to their hotel and then kept us informed about the situation and helped us to plan our transportation out of Monterosso during an extremely difficult time for themselves and their friends and families. The hotel was very comfortable and welcoming, the restaurant is fabulous, even as the drama unfolded a beautiful meal was prepared for ourselves and also the many emergency service personell who had made the hotel a comand post during the emergency.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
5.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterosso Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterosso Alto

Property: Hotel Monterosso Alto
Address: Loc. Colle di Gritta, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monterosso Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monterosso Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterosso Alto Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing