We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel just outside of Monterosso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel just outside of Monterosso”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was a nice hotel with a B&B feel. The room was small but cozy and comfortable. We arrived late on a Friday evening but still in time for dinner at the hotel restaurant. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and we were surprised by the WiFi and plentiful cable channels. This is a great base location for hiking around Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    58
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
34
83
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were booked in late October, 2011 for 2 nights at the Hotel Monterosso Alto in the Cinque Terre. Unfortunately, Italy experienced very heavy rains which caused floods and landslides at the time, destroying the villages of Monterosso and Vernazza. We received an email that the hotel had to cancel our reservation as it had been severely damaged. Nevertheless, the Hotel charged my credit card for one night's accomodation as a "cancellation penalty".
It took me 2 months to reverse the charge, working with my credit card company and providing all my proof that I was not the one who cancelled my reservation. The Hotel then simply turned around and put a new unauthorized charge through against my credit card for the same amount, which I now have to take more of my time to dispute.

Whatever the experience may be of the hotel's facilities, they clearly have an attitude of cheating the public, and I strongly recommend against anyone booking with them.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelMONTEROSSOalto, Direttore at Hotel Monterosso Alto, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
First of all we would say we're sorry for what happened and then inform you that the hotel never closed and never had problems because it is located on the hills of Monterosso al Mare as it surely will have noticed at the time of booking, the booking.com contract is clear and can not be changed by us, because we had the room reserved in his name until the day of cancellation, which was sent to us by booking.com without knowing who or why it was done with the permission booking.com the same contract, you agreed and signed at the time of booking, allowing the hotel to withdraw from his credit card as a guarantee that you chose and sent us without reserve, on the first night , we regret to read his review, (the only negative) made ​​in a moment of impulsive and inexplicable anger toward us also because unfortunately we could not know and you could not see the daily work we put in our hard work to succeed satisfy all our customers with generosity and helpfulness.
hope that one day the Cinque Terre are a happy memory for you and whether or not you choose us for your future stay you wish to spend beautiful moments in our places.

Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've not stayed here but called in on my way back from Central Italy. Arrived by bike having ridden some really great roads up from the coast. The food was really superb and the staff very friendly despite by slightly bedraggled appearance. I so love France and Italy great food, great people and no pretensions

Room Tip: I only ate in their restaurant but would thoroughly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5cottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had an amazing time in this hotel. We arrived late by train and Delia(one of the owners) came to pick us up with no problem. The hotel is a short free shuttle ride(in winter runs till 5:00 pm)from the train station. We stayed in Monterosso just after the unfortunate landslides but still had a wonderful time even though most of the city was shut down. Honestly, we had no problem just relaxing at the hotel while drinking wine and sitting next to the fireplace with" Elvis"( their very cute dog.)The room was very nice and clean, and they provided some nice bath soap and lotion. The bed was also very comfy. You should definitely eat at the restaurant as well, and the pesto pasta is a must! We felt like part of their family, and would/will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We were staying here right when the rains came and the terrible flood/landslide hit Monterosso. Fortunately the hotel is situated high on the hill and was not damaged, however we were stranded in Lavento and unable to return to the hotel overnight. Hotel owners Delia and John were most helpful during this crisis. They were extremely concerned for our safety and assisted us to be able to return to their hotel and then kept us informed about the situation and helped us to plan our transportation out of Monterosso during an extremely difficult time for themselves and their friends and families. The hotel was very comfortable and welcoming, the restaurant is fabulous, even as the drama unfolded a beautiful meal was prepared for ourselves and also the many emergency service personell who had made the hotel a comand post during the emergency.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Monterosso Alto for one night, at the end of an unpleasant day. I'm very happy to say that the inn, the restaurant, and the staff went a long way to restoring a pleasant mood.

As mentioned in previous posts the inn is located at the junction of SP38 & the local road leading "down the hill" to Monterosso al Mare proper. It's not far to the village, but if you've ever traveled the roads in the Cinque Terra you know that there is very little relation between distance and travel time so even though it's only about 5 km., it still takes 20 minutes via the free shuttle to get to town.

The rooms were quite modern and very clean, bathrooms were also nice and clean. I overheard one guest comment (not in a nasty way...more amused than anything) that the rooms looked like they followed the "modern IKEA" motif, but I think that is just a reflection of the modern type of furniture as opposed to the "Holiday Inn" standard you'd find in North America. It didn't detract from the room at all and, in fact, I found it most appealing.

We arrived later in the day, in the early evening. After checking in we decided in favor of an early relaxing meal instead of taking the shuttle in to town...I had the ravioli bolognese and my wife had, if I recall correctly, a penne dish with a cream sauce. Both were homemade and very tasty. The house red wine was local, and quite good. Following the meal I hung around the bar/dining room and talked to the proprietor for a while (he and his wife are a young couple)...got to have my first taste of grappa, which I later described to one of my friends as "like tequila without the nice tequila taste"...and yes, I AM being facetious. Grappa is not to my taste.

Breakfast was pretty typical "continental buffet" fare...fresh breads and some pastries, fruit, juice, cappuccino. I can't recall if there was hot food available for an extra charge - sorry, didn't pay enough attention. The outdoor patio area was nicely decorated and a very pleasant atmosphere for breakfast - it was also a very pleasant place to have a glass of wine or two the evening before.

To summarize, a very nice little inn with friendly and helpful staff. Made our time in the Cinque Terra that much more enjoyable and I wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: It appeared that at least one room didn't have an attached bath (ours did, but the room next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We only stayed here 1 night...just to get a taste of Cinque Terre. The hotel was about 20 mins away form Monterosso as such but there were local buses and the hotel provided a free shuttle to and from the town. The rooms are on the small side but beautifully furnished and had good bathrooms. There is a great outside seating area for a drink and breakfast. We were given a great recommendation for dinner in Monterosso...the most romantic setting right on the cliff top...amazing to be sitting outside looking at the sea and candles on the steps. The meal was fantastic. We had a car so the free parking was very welcome. The staff were excellent - young and enthusiastic.

Room Tip: Wehad a room at the back. Initially we were concerned about what seemed to ge noise from a generato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naples64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
6.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
296 reviews
5.2 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterosso Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterosso Alto

Property: Hotel Monterosso Alto
Address: Loc. Colle di Gritta, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monterosso Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterosso Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterosso Alto Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing