We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice old church”

Church of San Francesco - Capuchin Friars Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.12*
and up
Cinque Terre Sailing Day Trip from La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reconstructed in 1632 after the previous church was destroyed, the Church of San Francesco contains some fine art including a Crucifixion by Van Dyck, two canvases by Flasella, a marble triptych by Domenico Gare (1529) and the Dead Christ from Maragliano. Nera the church there is the Monastery of Capuchin Friars a very ancient structure with great garden where Friars live. It is a place of Peace and spirituality with a gorgeus view on the seaside.
Eisenach, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A nice old church”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

It s a wonderful place to visit since the panorama on your way there is spectacular. Be sure to take a lot of pictures.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank lauragabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    114
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Funky church”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We liked photographing the statuettes. The gray and white striped exterior is beautiful.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A reverent, beautiful, and tranquil setting above the sea.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I found this church on a hike when I was without a destination, which made it all the more special. The stained-glass window with its "M" was so pretty with the light streaming through it. The entire Cinque Terre area was so unique --- probably my favorite place in Italy. I hope the recent flooding there did not harm this beautiful church.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A quiet spot above the crowds”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Like the previous reviewer, we found this church and cemetery by accident. We started walking on a path that headed above Monterosso, and quickly came to the church, and a little further up the path, to the cemetery. Both are peaceful spots - the church was open and very beautiful - a world away from the busy town below. The entire walk with looking around took less than an hour, and there were also some nice views of the water, Monterosso and Vernazza. Bring you camera.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PegSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The backway up is a trip”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We followed a footpath up to the Cemetary and Church. It was one of those paths you find if you are not looking. It passed the police station and then on past a winery overlooking the hills until you reached the top where the surprise of a well cared for cemetary with hundreds of crypts were found. Some very old and some new. A place of reverence overlooking the beautiful village and sea of Monterosso. The Church was remarkable with old paintings and beautiful sedated natural light. We followed the more reasonable cobblestone path back down to town and found our favorite restaurant in Monterosso, Pizzera da Ely. See review in restaurant section. This is worth the visit. Remarkable find.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank tricianaples9891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of San Francesco - Capuchin Friars Monastery also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Church of San Francesco - Capuchin Friars Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing