We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Porto Roca
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Beautiful views, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in the Cinque Terre at Porto Roca and enjoyed it very much.
Our room was extremely comfortable. We had a suite facing the sea, which consisted of a bedroom and adjacent sitting room, a good-sized bathroom and a large balcony which had 2 chaise lounge chairs as well as a small table and 2 chairs. The bed was nice and firm and very comfortable with flat heavy pillows, but when I requested a soft, feather pillow it was supplied immediately. The windows are equipped with shutters and drapes which are perfectly effective for those of us who like to sleep in a very dark room. Climate control in the room was adjustable and quiet. The bathroom was modern and clean with one of those European combined bath/shower/spa units with excellent water pressure. There was a very large closet. Maid service was once a day, no turn down (who cares). In short, although I've been in many more luxurious places, this room was as comfortable, clean, modern and well equipped as one could ask for. It's only drawback was poor internet service.
Breakfast in the dining room has ample choices, you can also have it in your room. Every member of the staff was helpful, polite, welcoming and appropriate. A drink on the outside terrace of the restaurant is a delightful experience, an eqxuisite setting and perfectly mixed cocktails. The hotel has reserved chairs on the lovely beach at the bottom of the hill which we enjoyed in the late afternoon after a day of hiking. It also has a sundeck, but no pool.
We loved the hotel's location, perched above the sea with spectacular views, just a short walk into the center of the delightful town of Monterosso in one direction and right onto the hiking trail in the other direction. A caveat if you have health problems: the walk into town is a short, but steep, paved road.
In short, we felt very lucky we had selected Porto Roca for our stay in the Cinque Terre. If we return to the region we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYMD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    191
    60
    40
    14
See reviews for
103
325
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

I will always have a soft spot for this hotel, as I proposed to my fiance while staying here. But that said, there are probably better value options out there.

PRO's

* A hotel that you can book in advance vs. the many B&Bs in CT
* Probably one of the higher end places in CT
* Beautiful beautiful views - if you can stay here it is probably worth it just to splurge for the view rooms - we did not have a view but I'm sure those rooms are stunning. But the breakfast area, bar, patios all have ridiculous views
* Has access to private beach area (included)
* Free train pick up

CON's

* Pretty expensive for what you get
* Long walk up a steep path from the main town - didn't bother me but I could see others not liking this
* Don't know if this was just our room, but the walls were paper thin - could hear when neighbors were getting busy and they could probably hear us

Overall it is a nice place with beautiful views, and one of the few higher end places in CT - but that said I'd probably start looking elsewhere first (and you should consider staying in Vernazza vs. Monterosso)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingBGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

After booking through an online booking service, I received an email from someone at the hotel that there was some confusion in the booking and that the room I had booked was not available but they would offer me another room that was on the cliff. I was hesitant at first but I agreed. They assured me that I would be very happy with the reservation and I was.

When we arrived after 2 long days of traveling I was more than pleased. It was just amazing to walk up this room, on the side of the cliff with a breathtaking view of the Mediterranean. The room was in the side of a cliff with our own private terrace. We had even arrived later than expected because we had missed the train we had had planned on taking and even still, we had a taxi from the hotel pick us up from the train station and bring us to the hotel (definately worth not having to walk that - although we did see plenty of people walking from the train station to their various hotels with luggage). My husband had also spoken with the staff at the hotel and had a bottle of wine and cheese and a beautiful bouquet of flowers waiting for me. The hotel was also so kind to help my husband arrange a vow renewal with a local church, which was also simply beautiful.

The food (breakfast) was fine and included in the price of the hotel. We did the hike between all the islands and it was stunning, and at times a bit difficult, and we did it in 3.5 hours. We thought it odd to see people with children in strollers on the hike though.

I would highly recommend this hotel. If you go down to the private beach, just make sure you bring proof that you are staying at the hotel.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melani9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

Perched on a cliff several hundred feet above the Mediterranean, the Hotel Porto Roca is pricey but worth it. We walked from the Monterosso train station with our luggage, but I wouldn’t recommend it. Unless you’re fairly fit, call the hotel and arrange for a shuttle or taxi. The beach in Monterosso is the best in the Cinque Terre and the Porto Roca has a fairly large reserved area on the beach for hotel guests. The staff is friendly and helpful. The view from the seaside room private terraces is spectacular. The included continental breakfast is a typical European breakfast buffet. Weather permitting; breakfast is served on the terrace adjoining the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC_Travel_247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

We booked this hotel for our stay in Cinque Terre. It was a beautiful upscale hotel. The staff was so pleasant and our room had a beautiful view. Breakfast was delicious and the service was perfect!! Thank you Porto Roco for the wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

The service at the hotel was excellent. Our rooms had a beautiful wiuv. The room was smal, but we liked it. The food at the restaurant was also excellent. We enjoy our stay and will like to tell our friends to visit your hotel. We hope to come back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svendsen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

It was very expensive for this kind of hotel(280 eu per room).
Very old hotel.
I think the last repair was made minimum 15-20 years ago.
It is not more than 2 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klava69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
4.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Property: Hotel Porto Roca
Address: Localita Corone 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel
Hotel Porto Roca Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing