We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical fairy tale position for a delightful getaway.”
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Porto Roca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Although the postion of this hotel renders it inaccessable by car ,the inclusive taxi service from the train station makes the arrival quite spectacular. This inaccessability is definately part of the charm of this hotel. The wecome is warm and the staff extremely efficient, giving all the necessary information and advice to maximize your stay in this unique area.
The nices way to begin a day is to have breakfast on the summer terrace overlooking the harbour and beaches of Monerosso. We enjoyed our time there completely .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabian35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 622 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2010

Even though this hotel was a bit more than we would have liked to pay, it was well worth every penny. The rooms were beautiful,clean, and spacious. The service by the concierge and the waiters was impeccable. The views from the balcony were breathtaking. It also was close to the beginning of the national park trail that connects the five towns in the Cinque Terre. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to treat themselves for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmmPomptonLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We loved the hotel in respect of location, comfort, staff and meals; this was our third visit there.

We also like Monterosso and the beach reserved for hotel residents is perfectly adequate considering the large number of holidaymakers and the areas suitable for bathing. However, this year we were disappointed to note that the sea was unclean, not just rubbish but also unmentionable detritis.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gubbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Hotel Porto Roca is a hidden hotel gem in the Cinqueterre and fabulous for a family vacation. It is on a promonitory providing outstanding views of the Med. Sunsets are special and dinner al fresco in the hotel is a treat. Food service and quality are terrific and the staff all speak English. Both seafood and meat dishes are worth trying. Local white wines are inexpensive and refreshing. A sandy beach, somewhat unique for the Med, is a bonanza and the water is calm and warm. Rooms have been recently renovated too. The more mobile and adventuresome should take the scenic walk from behind the hotel to the next town of Vernazza which takes about 90 minutes. The views are breathtaking! And don't forget to take the ferry boat service to get another different panoramic view of this region. You will come back again and again just like we have for over a decade!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dosco114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The location was excellent. A great view of the sea and surounding area. The room was nicely appointed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They even provide a pick-up and delivery service from the train station. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good. We did not try the hotel restaurant in the evening as there were many restaurants nearby to try. The last morning we left before the breakfast was open but they provided us with coffee and croisants. If you plan to stay in Cinque Terre then this Hotel is an excellent choice. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The only thing this hotel had going for it was the views. We had booked two rooms explaining to them at the time of booking (7 months prior to trip) that this was a family trip of six women we wanted two doubles with an extra cot in each room so there would be 3 people per room. They quoted us a price and we accepted. When we got there we were shown our rooms which were completely at opposite ends of the hotel (real convenient) The one room the air conditioner was broken and leaking all over the floor. When we complained about the location of our rooms and also the AC situation they basically told us they were booked and couldn't do anything about it. They did send someone the next day to repair the AC which he was able to stop it from leaking but it did not cool the room. We were then informed at check out the price quoted would be higher because of the 3rd person in the room. We ended our stay with an argument witht he hotel manager showing her the paperwork we had clearly stating that the room quotes were given to us with the understanding at the time it was for 3 people in each room. They did finally settle on the price that we were told we would be paying at the time of booking but it was awkward and frankly embarrasing. Needless to say I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are too may beautiful places to stay in Italy and we found all of them. This was the only blemish to our trip

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imsthepines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portoroca, Direttore at Hotel Porto Roca, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2010

In reply to your comment here above, we would like to underline the fact that you decide to reserve two double rooms without sea view, which are less expensive. The prices quoted in the confirmation were clearly the prices of a double room (for 2 people), not for a triple.
You booked the rooms by yourself on line where all the information about our reservation policy, together with the possible extra charges, are clearly stated. When we showed the reservation form of the booking , you denied to have read it.
As soon as you arrived when we found out that there were six of you, all adults, we made every efforts to meet your needs, finding it difficult given that the hotel was fully booked at that moment and it was late in the evening. But we immediately prepared a third bed in each room.
As far as the air conditioning is concerned, it is not true that it was broken, it was simply turned off. The second day we turned it on and worked perfectly.
One last thing: everywhere in Europe, maybe also in the U.S.A., there is always an extra charge for the third bed and anyway there is a cost for the breakfast. It came as a surprise that despite our clarifications, and our offer to find an agreement: making you a non charge for the first night when the air conditioning “was not working” and a discount of € 25,00 for each of the other nights and for each bed you did not agree on paying not only the third bed supplement, but nor the 2 extra breakfasts you had for the entire stay, as well as for the extra chairs and umbrellas at the beach, and the shuttle service back and forth from the town many times per day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Porto Roca for four nights. Upon arrival, the hotel sent a taxi to pick us up from the train station, which was great so we didn't have to lug our luggage up the big hill. The hotel is on a major hill overlooking the beach and town. GORGEOUS view! View is the main reason to stay here as the rooms were average. Our room was small and the AC did not work very well and the bathroom was tiny, especially the shower. I don't know how a large man or woman would have easily gotten in or out. Also, the beds were very uncomfortable. We had two single beds and they seemed to be made for short people - and we are not tall! Good closet space. We had a great terrace with a phenomenol view - two chairs and two lounge chairs. Breakfast buffet included in area with amazing view. Again, the view was great. But rooms...not very impressive. The hotel, being on a hill, was in a challenging location. Any time your return to the hotel from being in town for the beach, restaurant, ferry, train, etc, you need to climb the long road/driveway to the hotel, which can be challenging after a full day of sightseeing. Or if you forget something in your room...it is not easy. If you have trouble with walking up inclines, it could be problematic. The hotel is right on the Cinque Terre trail, which was great. It also has a deal with the private beach so you can go down and have a reserved umbrella and two chairs daily. Definitely the best view in town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgalTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#4 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Address: Localita Corone 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $189 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel
Hotel Porto Roca Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing