We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porto Roca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2006

It is probably the best location in Monterosso, but it is completely overpriced. Very nice view, but rooms are pretty small. Furthermore, despite the steep room price (280 EUR) they are charging an additional fee for everything: beach towels, internet ect…The restaurant was ok, but nothing special. To summarize: It is a nice place, but quality-to-price ratio is really poor. I would love to go back to Monterosso, but would definitely be looking for a different accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mpoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 621 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2006

Summarizing the Porto Roca is simple: 2 star rooms and public areas with a 4 star view. Specifically... Rooms: We stayed in a corner king room on the top floor w/ocean view terrace. If you have traveled across Europe, you will immediately recognize the rooms as 2 star: poorly decorated, tired, minimally maintained and not-at-all comfortable. These are NOT rooms that you will want to hang out in or look forward to coming back to after a day at the beach or of site seeing. Again, if you expect a 2 star room, your expectations will be met. If you expect 4 star, you will be sadly disappointed. We expected 4 star so we checked out after the first night. Terrace: Most of the rooms on the 3rd floor facing the ocean have very large terraces, and we had one (the other floors do not have the giant terrace). They are, by far, the best feature of the property. They come with 2 lounge chairs, an umbrella, and beautiful view. Public Spaces: We knew the hotel was going to disappoint the moment we arrived in the tired and worn lobby. We also became worried when we saw that the room keys (and other guests' passports!) were left totally unsecured for anyone to easily grab (again, typical of 2 star hotels). Another bad sign: the 3rd floor hallway is partially outside and you feel as if you're in a cheap & awful US motel. Service: The hotel has a 3 night minimum stay. Initially, when we went to check out after the first night, they tried to charge us for 3 nights. However, they quickly relented and we paid our 280 euros for the one night and left. We then checked into the brand new, 3 star Hotel Margherita where we spent 8 awesome nights! Bottom line: Know what you'll be getting at the Porto Roca - a 2 star hotel with a great view.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Louis1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We are a healthy couple who climbed all 5 towns! (top to bottom and bottom to top whatever!) But, when I have my high heels on and want to go out for a nice dinner, I do not want to climb back to my room panting and sweating! Especially since there is definitely a problem with the air conditioning in this hotel. So, when you finally reach your room, there is no relief from the heat!! DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 218 no matter what!! Bad views and no air. Luckily, I found myself a fan! In fact, best to not even stay in this hotel. Go to Villa Steno or somewhere in the town. You can always have dinner in the Porto Roca.
The staff and common areas are just fine but if you get a bad room at this hotel you will be miserable. That is my 2 cents!!

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank carmelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Grat location on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The room was old, overused, dirty and small. The shower was very small, the air condioning ran 24/7 but couldn't keep the room cool, the balcony was really small, the hill to the hotel from the town is steep and could be a problem for some people. Friendly staff and a decent breaktfast (included).

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jholtco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MilleMiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Harboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rdouglass7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Address: Localita Corone 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $190 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel
Hotel Porto Roca Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing