We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant value for money”
Review of Pietre di Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pietre di Mare
Reviewed November 2, 2011

my husband, one year old son and i traveled to monterosso for a cinque terre trip in october.

i had struggled to work out which town on the cinque terre was the best for babies, but having traveled there now, i would definitely say monterosso - it is the flattest of the towns and also one of the most lovely in my opinion.

pietre di mare was fantastic - great value, fabulous location, wonderful host (sabrina was so very helpful, really really lovely), comfortable and everything we could ask for in a b&b.

the room - we had the purple bedspread room from the pics - was really comfortable, the shower was wonderful, the room was spacious, the bed absolutely fine.

the breakfast - we had breakfast in 2 places. the first was right around the corner and you could choose from an american or a european breakfast. we had one of each and the european was the best in our opinion. the baby enjoyed eating croissants and also had some of the egg but it was fairly basic (but enough). the second place was a couple of lanes away but way friendlier, but another fairly basic breakfast. we had the 2nd place because the 1st place was closed one day. both were adequate to get the day started.

the town was great - check out the restaurant belvedere, they had really great food for good prices (some of the other places were over priced).

all in all, i would definitely recommend this place and would most definitely stay here again if we were to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tallpoppylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Pietre di Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 102 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

Very friendly owners, met us at the private garage where we could lock our car away, and walked with us the short distance to the b&b. Lovely little room, secure, clean, nice bathroom, all freshly decorated. Vouchers for breakfast allowed us to choose from a couple of local cafes which we loved. All in all we would highly recommend, really fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w3dnesday_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Cinque Terre is beautiful but crowded with tourists. Of the five villages Monterosso makes the most sense as the one to make as your base. We liked our stay at Pietre di Mare. It's only two rooms and ours was tiny but Sabrina, who owns them, is very nice and a pleasure to deal with. Breakfast can be added to your room charge but don't bother. It's around the corner at a local restaurant and not very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Propasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed two nights in sept. The rooms are all newly decorated less than two years ago. Immaculately clean, and included in our very reasonable price was a free parking spot in a private individual garage 15 min walk from the room, to which we had the key ! It was great to just take what we needed and leave the rest in the car. The beach was 5min away. All in all great location beautiful room and Sabrina was so nice and accomadating.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunrise352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife & I stayed at this Pietre di Mare for 3 nights while exploring the Cinque Terre. The B&B is an easy 10 mins walk from the rail station. We were given the room 'with the white bed' on the 1st floor (2nd level) which overlooked via Vittorio Emanuele.

Our room was large enough, well equipped (including a bar fridge) and very clean. In the early evenings the street noise from the restaurants & bars in the street provided some nice atmosphere. Later, things were quiet so there was no problem sleeping.

Throughout the booking process and our stay, Sabrina was the perfect hostess - relaxed, obliging, efficient and unobtrusive.

Monterosso is a beautiful village and a perfect base for a Cinque Terre visit - it is touristy of course, but not too so.

We ate at Pizzeria La Smorfia, Ristorante Al Carugio, and Da Eli and would recommend each of them.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pietre di Mare for 2 nights but we now wished we had booked a couple more nights. The room was clean and comfortable. The air conditioning worked great. The bathroom was great, again very clean. The B&B is located in a great part of the town, it was just perfect in my mind. We chose the option that included the breakfast and I'm happy we did. She gives you little breakfast cards to go to the resto just outside from the B&B. You have the option of a European style breakfast or an American style breakfast. I had the European style both mornings and was in heaven. It was delish.

Sabrina also has a couple business partners whom we met because we arrived later at night. They were all very nice and helpful. We even got to meet Sabrina's mom and her little daughter. Absolutely wonderful little family.

Sabrina was absolutely exceptional. When we arrived a couple days earlier in Genova (about 1.5 hours by train from Cinque Terre) our luggage didn't make it so she helped us so much to make sure that our luggage would eventually reach us. She spoke with the people at the Lost & Found and even the courier service that was to bring me my suitcase. She even delivered my suitcase to me at 11:30pm at night when it had finally arrived. She was wonderful and I cannot wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GenRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This B&B is in the historic section of Monterosso, the western most town of the five in the Cinque Terre. The location is extremely convenient with several restaurants and wine bars close by. It is about a 5 minute walk to the train station and the beach. Although Sabrina, the owner, was not there when we arrived, she arranged for someone else to meet us and there was no trouble checking in. We met Sabrina later and she was very friendly. The room was fairly quiet and was very clean. There was a tv, refrigerator and electric tea kettle provided for use. The bed was a bit hard and uncomfortable and the shower was small. There was also limited hot water, but enough for two people to shower. Overall, however, the room provided a nice location from which to tour the Cinque Terre and was a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#2 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#4 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Albergo Degli Amici
Albergo Degli Amici
#12 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Antica Terrazza
L'Antica Terrazza
#9 of 49 in Monterosso al Mare
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pietre di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietre di Mare

Address: Via San Martino 2, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $130 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pietre di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietre Di Mare Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Pietre Di Mare Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing