We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN ABSOLUTE MUST DO!”

Matilde Navigazione
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Friendliness and hospitality will accompany you as you discover the scenery of the "Cinque Terre”. From Monterosso to Portovenere, away from the tourist spots, in absolute relaxation, making your holiday unforgettable as you become surrounded by history and the beauty of the Levante Riviera where everything is hidden and protected by wild, inaccessible nature, where only the fish can say they saw more of the "Cinque Terre” than you...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“AN ABSOLUTE MUST DO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

First of all, Stefano Mil Gracias.
If there is one thing you must do in Cinque Terre, this is it. Stefano's passion and knowledge about the place he lives in comes through in all the information he gives you, which is limitless! We learned more in the 2 and a half boart ride we took with him, than all the books I had bought on Cinque Terre. Stefano is such a warm and caring "Gentleman", that you finish the tour wishing you had booked a longer tour with him. His love of the land and simple philosophy to life made this a trully remarkable experience. We left the tour enriched not only by the magnificent views of the 5 Terre,,, a real must, as the perspective is totally different than the one you get on land...but also by the essence of the person who takes you. It was very easy to book online, with quick responses back and Stefano was exaclty where he said he would be, right on time. The white wine/ proseco was chilled and the foccacia one of the best I have ever tasted. Stefano will tailor the trip to whatever your requirements are, and we had no problem with understanding him at all. If we had to rate this trip it would definetely get a 10/10. Everything was perfect from beginning to end. Thank you again Stefano. You made the day a trully special one and when we think of Cinque Terre, the time we spent with you on your Matilde will be what we remember first.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible day with Stefano in Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time on a 3 hour tour with Matilde Navigazione and our Captain for the day Stefano. We had friends that chose to explore the region via the traditional land route and we saw and learned much more in our time there than they were able to do...This is a truly unique way to see the Cinque Terre and I would highly recommend it!

The Cinque Terre was a day trip for us as we were on cruise that stopped in Livorno for the day. So we took the train to the Cinque Terre and it was definitely worth the 2 hour ride. We pre-arranged our reservations via the Matilde Navigazione website and then via email with Stefano's wife. She speaks English very well and was enthusiastic about helping us plan an itinerary that would meet our families needs. We arrived in the Cinque Terre about a half hour early and Stefano was there waiting for us. He showed us where to go to change into our suits and then we started our tour.

Stefano had everything we needed for the day; water, incredible snacks, towels, and swim masks. His English, as he readily admits is not the best, but his enthusiasm about the area and it's history outshine any deficiencies. Our tour was a combination of water sports, beautiful views of the coastline and towns, along with exploration and history of the Cinque Terre.

Stefano grew up in the Cinque Terre so he knows all the best places to stop and takes time to explain the history and culture of each town/region. It was very hot the day we were there so between towns we stopped to swim and snorkel at incredible spots. Stefano took us to a natural waterfall that ends in a private cove, secluded beaches, a sea cave, and a small grotto. Our daughters 16 and 26 said they felt like they were getting to see postcard views with "Pirates of the Caribbean" adventures. All in all we had the most incredible afternoon in the Cinque Terre. It was relaxing, refreshing, and educational. Thank you Stefano for your hospitality and incredible attitude. We will never forget the wonderful day we shared with you!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland/London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Day of our Trip - Skip the public ferry and pay a little more to see the Cinque Terre properly by sea, privately”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My boyfriend, myself and my little Yorkshire Terrier had the best 2 hour trip with Stephano on his boat. He warned us he may be running a little late and he was, but we were happy as we already knew and chilled at the dock in Monterosso. His boat is lovely. We lounged on the front in the sun and he fed us with foccacia and wine...... which was so good! If you're going for a longer trip than 2hours, remember to pack some more food and water etc.
We slowly toured around each of the Cinque Terre, with Stephano stopping the engine to come sit with us and explain the history of each of the areas.
He is such a nice guy and he loved my dog so much, so he was a an instant hit with me!! He cuddled him whilst we jumped in the sea for a little swim.
Overall it was so nice to be able to get those all important ''picture postcard shots'' you see, for yourself, in your own private environment without the hundreds of other tourists on the public ferrys! Yes, it's not as cheap as the public ferry, but if you want privacy, without the crowds, and its certainly a lot more reasonable than another boat trip we looked at from Monterosso which wasnt even exclusive hire. I think it was great value for money.
Other tip - dont forget a beach towel to put down on the deck for some sunbathing!!!
If I was a little richer, I would have hired Stephano each day to drop us from port to port rather than the public ferry and obviously the more of you there is, the cheaper and much more reasonable it gets at only 80 Euro an hour. Given that a one way ticket to Romaggiore is 11 Euro per person..... why bother fighting with the crowds.... make your trip that little more special and splash out!!!

Thanks Stephano, we hope to be back x

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank GypsyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best way to view the Cinque Terre towns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

A casual and active way to get the best views and perspective of the five coastal towns. Stephano is extremely helpful and his love of cinque terre is obvious. We did the two nor tour, which I would recommend, and has time to view all towns from the ocean and stop for two swims, including an amazing cave swim. Stephano provided a bottle of white wine which we enjoyed. All you need is your swim suit and a camera....a great two hour adventure.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 22lucky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The highlight of our Cinque Terre trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

The boat tour was definitely the highlight of our trip. We are so glad we took this tour with Stefano, the owner. He was very eager to share his knowledge about the 5 lands (+Portovenere). He was very generous with his time and stories. He gladly obliged to the many stops stops we requested for us to take pictures and for him to take our pictures against the fantastic views.

Great meal on board with assorted foccacia, fresh mozzarella and cool white wine.

My best tour ever.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RagBagTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matilde Navigazione also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Matilde Navigazione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing