We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks, Andrea!”
Review of Albergo al Carugio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo al Carugio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We would highly recommend this B&B. We felt very safe and comfortable in our simple room, and really enjoyed the beautiful patio outside. Andrea is very present, and has wonderful recommendations for things to do in town. He genuinely cares about his guests, and we wouldn't hesitate to come back. We took advantage of the rafts and beach items available for a great day on the beach too!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel isn't a bad place to stay, but that's not what this review is based on. Andrea is what makes this place exceedingly great. My wife and I felt like we were staying in a guest room at a friend's house... he couldn't have been more welcoming or consistently kind. We don't hesitate at all in recommending this hotel.

(This hotel was also reviewed by Rick Steves if you want further information).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at either end of the hallway - the ones closer to the lobby door are a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theloyalnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was looking for a good base to explore Cinque Terre. Monterosso and Albergo al Carugio were the perfect choice.

The hotel is very close to the old town, about 10 minutes walk from the train station. Andrea, the manager, is highly attentive. His recommendations on where to eat, what to do/visit were excellent!

The rooms are simple but have all you need. The last thing I wanted to do during my stay was to spend long hours in my room, so if that is what you are looking for, this hotel is probably not a good option for you.

The only problem was that they do not offer breakfast, but that is easily solved by walking to the local bakery and ordering a cappuccino and a bombolone.

I loved Cinque Terre and I look forward to visiting this beautiful area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were pleasantly met by the host Andrea who was very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. Andrea also recommended some local restaurants which were great value for very good food. Andrea is very fluent with English and has a great sense of humour. Facilities at the property are fantastic, our room was modern and clean, I have to say the best shower since my travels began in Italy. The wifi connection was free and very fast.
The location is in the old town which oozes more character than the new area, and is about a 10 minute walk from the train station.
Thank you Andrea for making our stay enjoyable and relaxing we will be recommending you to all our family and friends. Sonia and Scott - UK

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I would definitely recommend to stay at Andrea's B&B. The place is easy to find, it's situated on the main road of the older part of Monerosso, but far enough from the busy squares full of nice restaurants and pubs. Shops, pharmacy are very close to it, the beach can be reached in 10 minutes. Andrea is very nice, he suggeted us good restaurants and gave good advices of where to go out of Monerosso. Rooms were cleaned every day, towels were also changed. The boat port is also very close, the train station is about 15 minutes walk. I checked a lot of B&B-s before choosing this and I have to tell that this was the best offer for this price. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I rested at this hotel in Agust 2013. Chose it as read many positive reviews on tripadvisor. All of them were true. The hotel owner Andrea, very good-natured and sympathetic person. In his hotel feel like visiting relatives. For me and my husband are very important such feeling for beach holiday. At the beginning of stay, Andrea has prepared for us a map with the placement of the most successful restaurants for breakfast and dinner. In these restaurants to hotel guests to provide discounts. All this was very nice of him. The hotel has a very convenient location, especially for those who travel by car. The entrance to the city forbidden and all the parking spaces at the entrance. When you have large bags it is very important that we should not carry them through the city. We have the great pleasure to stay in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel is great, perfect location about 10 min walk from train station and pretty much right on the main drag. Very clean and comfortable. Andrea was an amazing host, giving great tips on where to eat (recommended a mind-blowing bakery), how to get to the other villages, etc. We would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevanMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Punta Mesco
Hotel Punta Mesco
#11 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alle 5 Terre
Alle 5 Terre
#17 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo al Carugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo al Carugio

Address: Via Roma 100, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $69 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo al Carugio 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo al Carugio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Al Carugio Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing