We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo al Carugio
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Souvenir(Monterosso al Mare)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Monterosso Alto(Monterosso al Mare)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Adriana(Monterosso al Mare)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suisse Hotel Bellevue(Monterosso al Mare)
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Degli Amici(Monterosso al Mare)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Spiaggia(Monterosso al Mare)(Great Value!)
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Steno(Monterosso al Mare)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pasquale(Monterosso al Mare)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Colonnina Hotel(Monterosso al Mare)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Stella della Marina(Monterosso al Mare)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
149
54
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
54
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshost andreatrain stationold townproviding mapscinque terretrain timesrecommended restaurantsroom was cleanspoke very good englishwould stay here againvia romafree wifidecent sizesmall fridgehiking trailsstayed here for two nightsa lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 212 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

What we loved most about staying at Al Carugio is the relaxed happy vibe that exudes in the place. As mentioned many times in previous reviews Andrea the owner is a gem. He cares about all his patrons and tries to give them the best advice to make there stay in Monterosso special. I think his positivity is infectous. The area in front of reception is a great place to hang out. People talk to each other and chat about their day etc. The accommodation ticks all the boxes - good shower, comfortabe bed and the room cleaned daily. The rooms are small but are well laid out. This hotel is great value for money. I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhiloKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As the other reviewers state the actual accomadation is pretty basic, however it is spotless and well maintained. The location is perfect as a base for exploring the town and Andrea provides fantastic restaurant suggestions and is a very welcoming host.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September. Easy to find & just at the top of the old town with no really steep climbing. About 15 minutes from the station when lugging suit cases but an excellent location for restaurants & bars in the old town. Our room was small & compact with an outside terrace, but very clean & ideal for what we wanted.
I agree with some of the other reviews regarding Andrea. He is a really friendly & helpful host who seemed genuinly pleased to see you & have a chat. He recommended some really good places to eat & Lauras' bakery for breakfast is really good. Try the doughnuts filled with a custard cream filling. Awesome.
Also, your room is kept very clean by the wonderful cleaner Edna. She is very friendly & is another asset to this small hotel. All in all an excellent stay & I would certainly return here if I went to Monterosso again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 616Bergkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers. Room was very basic but clean (thankfully no carpet) and reasonably priced. Great location - close to the train, the beach, and all the little shops/restaurants. Andrea was lovely - so kind and helpful. If you are a light sleeper, sound could be a problem - we could easily hear people taking in the halls but fortunately this did not last for too long. Overall, great place to stay - hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank glowingheart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Wow... what a find... Accommodation is extremely pricey and hard to find in Monterosso... So we consider ourselves really fortunate to have found this place. The location is great - a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and right on the busy main street in Monterosso... Couldn't have been better. The host was kind - he chatted with us - told us best places to eat, how to get around. He even gave us a cute red wine stopper as a little memento as a reminder of our stay. The room was small and bathroom, even smaller.... But suited our needs just fine! The shower is almost sitting right on top of the toilet, but the water pressure was amazing! When you come to cinque terre - do yourself a favour - try trofie & pesto and eat lots of focaccia.... These 3 foods are truly at its best here... We would for sure come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlezack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews