We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay In Monterosso”
Review of Albergo al Carugio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo al Carugio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September. Easy to find & just at the top of the old town with no really steep climbing. About 15 minutes from the station when lugging suit cases but an excellent location for restaurants & bars in the old town. Our room was small & compact with an outside terrace, but very clean & ideal for what we wanted.
I agree with some of the other reviews regarding Andrea. He is a really friendly & helpful host who seemed genuinly pleased to see you & have a chat. He recommended some really good places to eat & Lauras' bakery for breakfast is really good. Try the doughnuts filled with a custard cream filling. Awesome.
Also, your room is kept very clean by the wonderful cleaner Edna. She is very friendly & is another asset to this small hotel. All in all an excellent stay & I would certainly return here if I went to Monterosso again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 616Bergkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Albergo al Carugio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers. Room was very basic but clean (thankfully no carpet) and reasonably priced. Great location - close to the train, the beach, and all the little shops/restaurants. Andrea was lovely - so kind and helpful. If you are a light sleeper, sound could be a problem - we could easily hear people taking in the halls but fortunately this did not last for too long. Overall, great place to stay - hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank glowingheart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Wow... what a find... Accommodation is extremely pricey and hard to find in Monterosso... So we consider ourselves really fortunate to have found this place. The location is great - a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and right on the busy main street in Monterosso... Couldn't have been better. The host was kind - he chatted with us - told us best places to eat, how to get around. He even gave us a cute red wine stopper as a little memento as a reminder of our stay. The room was small and bathroom, even smaller.... But suited our needs just fine! The shower is almost sitting right on top of the toilet, but the water pressure was amazing! When you come to cinque terre - do yourself a favour - try trofie & pesto and eat lots of focaccia.... These 3 foods are truly at its best here... We would for sure come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlezack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for 2 nights and this place can not be faulted. From the moment we walked through the door we were welcomed with a warm smile. Andrea deserves a special mention as he was kind, accomodating and full of useful information on the local area. The place itself is basic enough but it is spotlessly clean and has air conditioning which was needed when we were there as it was 34 degrees!! Overall i would recommend this place as a perfect base to explore the Cinque Terre. Laura's bakery was recommended to us for breakfast by Andrea and it did not disapppoint! Worth a look if you are staying in Monterosso.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donegalboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Although the hotel itself is very basic, it is clean and a great place to stay in a beautiful town. The location is great, just a short walk from the water.
Andrea is so kind and accommodating! He provided us with a great map with restaurant suggestions (all of which were AMAZING).
We would definitely return, and highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a clean place to stay in beautiful Monterosso.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_S_1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed for 1 night at Albero al Carugio. Had no issues with anything. It's almost hostel-like. Very basic rooms with a shower in the corner of the tiny bathroom (very powerful shower!). Air conditioning unit in the room also. The property is at the top of Via Roma. Andrea at the front desk is an absolute delight and could not have been more helpful. He takes genuine care in making sure you have everything you need for your stay and readily gives advice on making the best use of your time in the Cinque Terre. It's very much a no frills place to stay but who needs frills when all you need is somewhere to store your stuff and head out exploring!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfitzpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

This B&B has a great location, its one of the first you meet when entering Monterosso, so it saves you a lot of carrying luggage up- and downhill. The room is spotless and the shower, which you def will need when hiking around, is very strong. The owner is very helpful with information of about everything wich happens around in town.
The hiking path from Vernazzo back to Monterosso, which he pointed out, was indeed beautiful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Punta Mesco
Hotel Punta Mesco
#11 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#2 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo al Carugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo al Carugio

Address: Via Roma 100, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $71 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo al Carugio 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo al Carugio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Al Carugio Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing