We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinque Terre accommodation”
Review of La Serra sul Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Serra sul Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a very nice bed and breakfast establishment, the breakfasts are SUPERB! The hosts are very helpful and friendly and it is a very easy walk into town. The walk back is a bit longer and steep but there is a shuttle bus that runs quite regularly if you do not feel like an uphill walk. I would recommend the B&B but we unfortunately stayed in the only room with no private balcony. Would have preferred a room with a balcony but this did not detract from the other positives as we did not spend a lot of time at the B&B. I would choose this establishment for a return visit.

Room Tip: If possible request a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited at the end of July on route to Lucca music festival, but stopped one night in Monterosso.
La Serra sul mare is well situeded to explore the other villages, on fantastic walks along the coast to Vernazza & Monterosso "A Mare"
The views from the balcony were
Magnificent, the room clean & well appointed. But the star of the show must be the Breakfeast we were presented in the morning served by the owners, you just have to try works wont do it justice
We will return here as it was too brief visit I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinumest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

La Serra Sul Mare sits along a lone road on a quiet hill awash with lemon trees and green (about a 5 min drive from the town centre of Monterosso). It was like something from out of a storybook - complete with a brick path that leads to the rooms, a flower terrace, a sofa swing, a mewing kitten affectionately called ‘cat’.

Our room was lovely and welcoming - perfect for our honeymoon stay. It was decked with hydrangeas and had a gorgeous sea view. Sabrina’s mom left the husband’s favourite lemon cake slices (he raved about them at breakfast) as a surprise afternoon snack. Talk about sweet. :) They’re probably the loveliest hosts we could've ever hoped for in Cinque Terre.

Breakfast here was replete and delightful. We fortified ourselves with croissants, crepes, omelettes, fruit, sweets, tarts (they kept coming, plate after plate!) as we enjoyed the breeze and watched boats dance across the mass of blue. (Coming down for breakfast in your PJs is probably a bad idea because you might feel underdressed for the occasion.)

At night, La Serra Sul Mare is dreamy and has a romantic glow about it. Don't be daunted by the climb from the town centre, the view is well worth the evening stroll up the hill :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehillsarealivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

From the moment we walked in, La Serre sul Mare kept getting better.
The rooms and bathrooms have all the amenities, including fresh baked goods from superbe chef Fanny, and breathtaking views of Monterrosso.
We loved this location about 1 km outside the city on a hill - we walked to and from town easily every day, although there are shuttles almost every hour.
Host Sabrina was so wonderful and helpful with all our travelers questions - the whole team added so much to this charming family run business!
Will definitely be back - for those that are looking for luxurious romance, fab views and the best breakfast EVER, this is your place.

Room Tip: We had fioredalisa room - white blues and yellow with amazing views and great private sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic_nmkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful vista, amazing breakfasts, family run b&b, small but quaint bedroom, stunning views with a quiet and peaceful location. You will love it. I defy anyone to eat the entire breakfast. And every day the breakfast varies.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doged0g01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

When travelling you out all day and this is one of those places you look forward to returning to at the end of the day. Its wonderful just to sit on the balcony of your room, sip wine and complimentary snacks while watching the beautiful coastline. The rooms are decorated beautifully and there is attention to detail !
The breakfast was the highlight of our trip to Italy. The courses keep coming each presented with a smile and each day it was a different array of italian specialities !
The family are so friendly and truly made one feel welcome. The complimentary shuttle service is very punctual and can be relied upon although after that breakfast you may want to walk the hill at least once.

Room Tip: There is one room that does not have a direct balcony. Ask for a room with its own private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJvdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is truly a beautiful B&B. Mother and daughter have done a wonderful job. Our room had sea views that were simply breathtaking. Breakfast was delicious and will keep you going for the rest of the day. The rooms were spacious and had lovely decor. Really Cosy and so lovely. Drive there during the day as there are steep and dangerous roads to get there as most places in the area. It is a 20 minute steep walk down to one of the cinque terres.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
5.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#2 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serra sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serra sul Mare

Address: Loc. Serra, 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $225 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Serra sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serra Sul Mare Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
La Serra Sul Mare Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing