We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just super!”
Review of La Serra sul Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Serra sul Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just super!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Some friends,my wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. I cannot recommend it more highly. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the breakfasts were wonderful - in fact too much food for me! As others have said the hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from the hotel, but there is a shuttle bus service laid on. In fact the hotel staff took us to the village when the shuttle was not available - the staff were just great, helpful, friendly. Monterosso had a terrible mudslide about a year ago but is getting itself back together very well. The whole area of Cinque Terra is just magnificent and each of the villages can be reached by train rather than car. Go there - you will love it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our stay at La Serra Sul Mare was great. The room was big and very clean with a beautiful outside seating area. The location was great. A 10 minute walk to Monterosso Al Mare which is the biggest town out of the 5. La Serra Sul Mare also offers a free shuttle to and from the town. The breakfast itself was fantastic. All homemade food and lots of it. The staff was wonderful and the view from our room was breathtaking. I would recommend La Serra Sul Mare to any type of traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

It´s difficult to say about this bed and breakfast.
Location- It´s far from Monterosso, a 20 munutes walking up hill.Because of this they have own transportation,but not every hour.
Hotel is beside a road, with nothing close.And same time, is not a kind of farm hotel.
Very friendly and helpful staff and avery day they let a pie in your room..
Breakfast is a la carte , and change every day. Everything is home made,and they serve assorted pies, especially sweet pies.No cheeses,or assorted bread.
Confortable and quiet room,
No internet.If you need, go to Monterosso and pay a lan -house.
Hotel could have intenet.They have TV, so it´s not a matter about to stay away from civilization inside nature,why not internet?
I need information about my flight and had to walk down to Monterrosso and after back up hill just for this.
Also, location is a problem, despite hotel transportation.Very expensive,if consider value for money.

Room Tip: If you need internet , go to Monterosso and pay a lan -house.And take the opportunity , buy water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at La Serra Sul Mare for three nights early in Oct. It was perfect. We were three couples. All three rooms were wonderful. Our room was really beautiful. Big bathroom with two sinks and a great shower. Sabrina and her mom took such good care of us. They had snacks for us in the room each day when we got back. Each room had a a bar fridge with lots of water and wine. The view from here is beyond description. It is truly a magical place.
The breakfast each morning was a culinary delight. One wonderful dish after another. We didn't eat again until we had dinner each night in the beautiful town of Monterosso.
When we arrived at the train station the cab was waiting for us. It took all six of us and our luggage up the hill to the B&B.
The walk up the hill from the town may seem intimidating, but it is great and not as bad as it looks. You can take the shuttle if you are tired. We enjoyed our time in the Cinque Terre so much. We took the boat trip that Sabrina's Mom suggested to us, it was wonderful.
The day before we were leaving we asked Sabrina about taking the train to Rome. She called the train station and wrote down all the information we needed and arranged for the cab to come in plenty of time. It worked out perfectly.
If you are looking for a little piece of heaven on earth, this is it. When we were leaving Sabrina gave each of us a beautiful locally made soap. It was so thoughtful. My memories of our visit to this beautiful part of the world will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 154974Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesham, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What can I say, Sabrina and her mom took great care of us. The room was great, roomy, and decorated very nicely. A baked cake and fresh fruit waiting on the table for us at check in (without requesting) and not to mention we came in a little late and Sabrina stopped in promptly to get us all squared away. She was very helpful and told us where to stop in for dinner late in the evening, but I have to say the highlight was breakfast on the patio the next morning. The view was great but the food was fantastic, fresh squeezed juice, homemade omelets and crepes with fruit, more fresh fruit, peach filled croissant and another pastry that was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel was fantastic! Would actually call it a B&B as there are only six rooms. Selena and her mom cooked and were so wonderful. It is a true pleasure to stay there---the rooms were very large, as were the bathrooms, and we felt like honeymooners in a perfect location. Close to hiking, close to the slow boat, and the view was breathtaking!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! Would ask for a view of the Ligurian Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MemphisBubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at La Serra sul Mare, and it was a great experience, the service is very good, the rooms are very big, very well furnished and decorated, the view from the terrace of the rooms is simply amazing, you will find the view from the terraces of the rooms revitalizing. You can see and smell beautiful flowers. The breakfast is included and is amazing, every dish is delicious everything deserves to be tasted. Sabrina is really helpfull , she really knows how to pamper her guests.
The taxi service from the village to the hotel is included in the price, with Amico Taxis.
The Cinque Terre and Monterosso al Mare are beautiful if you visit them consider staying in this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocco2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serra sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serra sul Mare

Property: La Serra sul Mare
Address: Loc. Serra, 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Serra sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serra Sul Mare Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
La Serra Sul Mare Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing