We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best !”
Review of Il Timone Camere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Timone Camere
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were so lucky to find this B B on tripadviser , it is so special .
First lets talk about the only thing you need to have in mind , you will have to climb 4 flights of stairs to get to the villa .
The owner Francesco will help you with your luggage , but you will have to manage getting yourself up every time. This is not a show stopper, take your time, everything here is on a hill.
The rooms are lovely and spotless and so high tech !
The breakfasts on the roof top balcony are cooked to order and some of the best we've ever eaten ! The view from the roof top is super , we loved it .
We travel a lot and this is one of the best places we've ever stayed !
Highly, highly recommend ,

Mike

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 257 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Francesco, Federike & Mama thanks for making our stay with you this past May so wonderful. Your B&B was so warm & your breakfast meal was the best! My wife had an eye issue that developed on our 3 week tour but eveyone was so kind and helpful that the stairs were never any problem. We can not wait to return - however we did the next best thing and sent my cousin & husband to stay there a few weeks ago.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tk1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and we wish we could've stayed longer! This hotel was perfect! The breakfast was the best we had all through our 3 weeks travelling! The staff we great and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The rooms were immaculate and secure. Cinque Terre was the highlight of our italian vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon and were so glad we did! It was a perfect location for us, yes it did require lugging 2 weeks worth of luggage up some stairs but we did not mind in the least. It was close to restaurants, shops, and hiking trails. The room was spacious, comfortable, and very clean. The bathroom was cramped but again no problem for us. The rooftop terrace had wonderful views and we took advantage by relaxing with a glass of win there in the evenings. Breakfast was homemade, made to order, and really tasty. The family who runs the B&B are friendly and wonderful and really work to make your experience great. If we ever have the opportunity to return, hands down we would try to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Was booking our stay in Cinque terre a little last minute and was stressed because there was very little availability (we needed two rooms) I came across Il Timone and I'm so glad. We stayed in their Laredo property located right on the main street. It was the best place we stayed in Italy. The rooms are not only immaculately clean but also up to date and have a homey feel. Attention to small details are very much appreciated. Montorosso in my opinion is the best place to stay as a base for the cinque terre. This property does not involve hauling baggage up many stairs or hills. The owners are so helpful and friendly. Would stay here again hands down.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was one of our favorite places we stayed on our latest trip to Italy. We stayed in the il Timone Loreto rooms. Location was perfect; close to all the restaurants and shops in old town, but far enough up the road that it was quiet. Walking distance to everything. The train station is about a 10 minute walk. The rooms are spacious and were very clean. We had two rooms as there were four of us. One of the rooms had a nice balcony you can sit out on.

There is a small grocery store just 50 meters down the street. A lot of good restaurant options for breakfast, lunch and dinner right around the corner.

Monterosso was a great base for the other CT villages and going to Santa Margherita/Rappallo.

Francesca was an fantastic hostess. She was available for our every need.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VilniusSchoolmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

It was like staying with my long lost Italian family. The stairs were a long way up but it was worth it once you got up there. Of course, Francesco took our bags up. The view of old town was amazing and the rooftop terrace breakfast was the best of our three week stay in Italy. Having lemoncello in the evening was a delight. We really appreciated the fact that they washed some of our clothes while we were out for the day. My husband and I chuckle every time we think about our clothes hanging on the terazzo with everyone elses. Our room was the smallest of the three but very adequate and cozy, with all the amenities. Clean, clean, clean.
We loved our stay and would return in a heartbeat.
Thank you so much for your warm and gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: La Pinta was the sma;;est of the three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shari Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo al Carugio
Albergo al Carugio
#5 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
210 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Timone Camere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Timone Camere

Address: Via Roma 75, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $95 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Timone Camere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Timone Camere Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Il Timone Camere Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing