We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous breakfast and Great View”
Review of Il Timone Camere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Timone Camere
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the Santa Maria room at the Lerta property for 2 nights. We really enjoyed our stay. We met Francesco at the fast bar and he showed us to our room (we still did not receive our luggage but he talked with our previous b&b operator and got all of the information on our luggage and followed up on it for us with the airline/courier.) He gave us several recommendations which we used. The b&b is new, clean and modern. The patio has a great view and it was so nice to sit up there in the morning and have breakfast. The breakfast was awesome. Fresh fruit, 2 different types of rolls and eggs to order. It was all very good. They even have a computer available for guests .We visited with Francesco at night while he was tending bar at the Fast bar. It was a fun evening! If you can manage the steps....there were a lot of them.....I would definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WELOVE2TRAVL4FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 257 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Found this via a recommendation from a friend and could not have been happier. We had what looks like the smallest room, but Francesco the owner was very honest about that upfront and it was still big enough for two adults with two large suitcases for a couple of days.

Francesco's personal touch from meeting in the bar and carrying (or offering to carry depending on how fit you are) your suitcase up the stairs through to restaurant recommendations, information about the walks and the obligatory glass of Limincino on entry was fantastic.

This being the fourth venue of the trip so far including two large hotels, this was by far the freshest most pleasant breakfast. Cooked by Francesco's mother and served on the rooftop, this is quite unique but the freshness of what was served was spectacular. Wi-fi, Beach towels and laptop all available for use at anytime and make this a unique experience compared to others and considering the price also make it an absolute bargain.

Tell all of your friends because you definitely will once in get home!

Thanks Francesco and Mama!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Look no further, this is the place to stay in Monterosso! Great location away from the noise and busy tourist area but close to everything since the Cinque Terre towns are small. The rooms are a great size, nice bathrooms with amazing water pressure!! They have a cleaning service that will change your towels and clean your room everyday which is great. Francesco is an awesome host!! Super nice, sweet and very helpful. He makes you feel right at home and gives you many suggestions for good food & drinks nearby. He's such a great host and the place is exactly what you need we can't wait to visit again!

Francesco your Texas friends who forgot their passports hope to see you soon!!! Thank you for everything!

(Thats right we forgot our passports in the safe and Francesco called us 10 times until we finally picked up and safely had our passports for us! He's truly awesome and a wonderful person. Trust that you're in good hands!!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNDrews2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a beautiful review about us.It makes us so happy.
We are pretty glad that you had a good stay with us.
It was very nice of you to' say all these good things.
We try to' make a good job normally but it s not always so easy to' do it.
We really hope to' see you guys again sooner than later.
Thanks a lot for being with us.
Warm Regards,
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Francesco, his lovely mama and Frederika made it a joy to walk the 130 or so steps up to this b and b perched above the old town of Monterosso. Francesco cheerfully carried my suitcase up (and down again) above his head! He took plenty of time to orientate us to this paradise, suggesting various places to eat and explore depending on our preferences. We followed his advice in the free swimming beach; the walk to Vernazza; the peaceful walk to the monastry and cemetry overlooking the village; up market dinner at Belvedere ( huge serve of incredible seafood for 2 cooked in a big pot) ; cheap delicious pasta meal; ferry to Porta Venere and back with stops at villages where the track is presently closed and unable to be walked.

Our bed and room were the smallest but were still comfortable and little personal touches like embroidered sheets and comlimentary bottles of water made us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the valley was glorious. The freshest fruit salad, cappucino, creamy srambled eggs, cereal, pasteries. All were prepared fresh and carried up the stairs for us to enjoy sitting in the morning sun. It was like a little slice of heaven - very hard to leave.

Room Tip: Book early for bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buderimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you so much my friends !!It is very good of you to' write such a beautiful things about our place and our work.
We are always so glad to' receive so nice compliments:all that makes us happy and proud.
We are so happy to' hear that you enjoyed your stay here in Monterosso a lot.
We wish to' see you guys here again soon.
Thank you again for all and for being so nice and Kind with us.
Warm Regards,
Francesco&Federica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very warm, friendly and welcoming place to stay. Talk to Francisco for any advice, very helpful, and kind. I would recommend family, friends, and everyone to stay here. It has been an unforgettable and pleasurable experience. Looking forward to coming back! Ciao!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Ciao guys,
Thank you a lot for your beautiful words :WE are
pretty glad to know that your stay was good.
Thank you so much again for appreciating our work.
Hope to See you and your friend again soon.
It was a pleasure to have you all here with us.
Warm Regards,
Francesco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for five nights and was very pleased with the location, facilities and cleanliness of the rooms. I had Stella Marina at the back of the property so there was no street noise and it was shady so no need for air con. Unfortunately the building is very poorly sound proofed and the upstairs neighbour was particularly noisy from about 6.30am until 9am. I'm a light sleeper and was woken up most mornings; the point of the holiday had been to relax and sleep. I could also hear all the plumbing noises from other residents and them chatting at night. Other than that I would have been happy to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ph1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We really feel so sorry:it is never happened and for that reason i don't understand that Kind of noise.Besides,You spent five days here byyourself but during this stay you did not say anything to us about that problem.It was good of you if you had talked to' me about all these noises because no one heard those noises before.
I think there is a first time for everything!!!I felt so bad to' read what you wrote because when you left you looked happy about your stay and you Said that you were pleased with your room,wifi and location.
Anyways,hope to' see you again sooner than later.
Regards,
Francesco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in the smallest room at Il Timone in Monterosso and we felt like a King and Queen. Francesco and his family went above and beyond in serving us - welcoming, helpful, kind, great food. Our room was clean and modern. They served us breakfast on the beautiful terrace. Great Wi-Fi. Old town Monterosso is quaint and friendly! Just a few minutes walk to a lovely public beach. (Francesco hooked us up with fluffy beach towels - just ask). We loved the hikes between the towns! Book this place now because I'm sure it books quickly!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Ciao Emily,
It is very nice of you writing such a beautiful review:i am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves here in Monterosso by our place .That fills our hearts!!
I wish to' thank you a lot again for the terrific note that you left in the room for us.
Many greetings from our sea(i remember you like it a lot).
Hope to' see you guys again soon.
"I wish you good things"....
Warm Regards,
Francesco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
5.5 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo al Carugio
Albergo al Carugio
#5 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
210 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Timone Camere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Timone Camere

Address: Via Roma 75, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $117 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Timone Camere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Timone Camere Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Il Timone Camere Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing