We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling through Italy we found a gem!”
Review of Il Timone Camere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Timone Camere
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Traveling through Italy we found a gem!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very warm, friendly and welcoming place to stay. Talk to Francisco for any advice, very helpful, and kind. I would recommend family, friends, and everyone to stay here. It has been an unforgettable and pleasurable experience. Looking forward to coming back! Ciao!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Ciao guys,
Thank you a lot for your beautiful words :WE are
pretty glad to know that your stay was good.
Thank you so much again for appreciating our work.
Hope to See you and your friend again soon.
It was a pleasure to have you all here with us.
Warm Regards,
Francesco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
178
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for five nights and was very pleased with the location, facilities and cleanliness of the rooms. I had Stella Marina at the back of the property so there was no street noise and it was shady so no need for air con. Unfortunately the building is very poorly sound proofed and the upstairs neighbour was particularly noisy from about 6.30am until 9am. I'm a light sleeper and was woken up most mornings; the point of the holiday had been to relax and sleep. I could also hear all the plumbing noises from other residents and them chatting at night. Other than that I would have been happy to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ph1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We really feel so sorry:it is never happened and for that reason i don't understand that Kind of noise.Besides,You spent five days here byyourself but during this stay you did not say anything to us about that problem.It was good of you if you had talked to' me about all these noises because no one heard those noises before.
I think there is a first time for everything!!!I felt so bad to' read what you wrote because when you left you looked happy about your stay and you Said that you were pleased with your room,wifi and location.
Anyways,hope to' see you again sooner than later.
Regards,
Francesco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in the smallest room at Il Timone in Monterosso and we felt like a King and Queen. Francesco and his family went above and beyond in serving us - welcoming, helpful, kind, great food. Our room was clean and modern. They served us breakfast on the beautiful terrace. Great Wi-Fi. Old town Monterosso is quaint and friendly! Just a few minutes walk to a lovely public beach. (Francesco hooked us up with fluffy beach towels - just ask). We loved the hikes between the towns! Book this place now because I'm sure it books quickly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Ciao Emily,
It is very nice of you writing such a beautiful review:i am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves here in Monterosso by our place .That fills our hearts!!
I wish to' thank you a lot again for the terrific note that you left in the room for us.
Many greetings from our sea(i remember you like it a lot).
Hope to' see you guys again soon.
"I wish you good things"....
Warm Regards,
Francesco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This B&B was just perfect. We arrived at the Fast Bar to meet Francesco who was kind enough to carry my suitcase to the top of the stairs. BTW, steps and inclines are everywhere in Cinque Terre, so it's best to consider this when deciding to visit and do take it as part of the wonderful experience. All the steps made me feel better about eating so much pasta! The room we were in, Nina, was perfect for my husband and me. It was the cleanest place we have ever stayed. The sunroof is pretty awesome, being able to close the shutters if you want with a remote control. The safe in the wall kept our passports and money safe, and the refrigerator had bottled water for free, which was a nice touch. On to breakfast...I'm still dreaming about eating pastries on the rooftop terrace overlooking Monterosso. The food was fresh and wonderful with a selection of pastries, breads, cereal, eggs, juice and coffee or cappuccino. The best part of our stay was meeting Francesco and Federica, who made us feel so at home in Cinque Terre. They are so warm and welcoming and we were sad to say goodbye. If we visit Cinque Terre again, this is the place we will stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldenburgCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Ciao Krista,
Federica and i are very happy to' know that you enjoyed yourselves here in Monterosso and appreciated our hospitality.
Thanks a lot for your amazing words:what you wrote about us and our place sounds so good .You guys make us fell so proud and important.
I am glad to' hear that you think that our steps are not so bad and then in Cinque Terre the steps are belong to' the charm.
I wish you guys to' come back here soon again.
Greetings from Monterosso.
Warm Regards,
Francesco&Federica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May and what a fantastic experience! We were met by the very friendly Francesco and he showed us up to the room. Don't let peoples comments about the steps put you off. Francesco carried our bag for us and the steps are par for the course in the Cinque Terre, all part of the charm!
The room was lovely, very clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious. A selection of delicious pastries and a choice of omelette or eggs and tasty italian coffee all served by the family who run Il Timone.
Can't speak highly enough of the place, everything was lovely from start to finish and the family who run the place are very welcoming and eager to help. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandBBeardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Ciao!!
WE are pretty glad to hear from you and to know that you had a good time
Here in Monterosso by us and our place.
All your words fill our heart in joy.
I think you are so right when you say:in Cinque Terre
steps are part of the charm...It is a great feature
Of these Ours old places.
Thanks a lot for staying with us:hope to See you
Again soon.
Greetings from Monterosso.
Warm Regards,
Francesco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon for 4 nights in May. We based our decision on the great reviews on trip advisor. I would like to start by saying that I travel a lot but have never felt strongly enough one way or the other to write a review until now. This B&B is situated in the heart of the old town. It is up several steps, but worth the walk for the view. It is a small B&B with only 3 rooms and very well kept. The rooms are spotless, smell like fresh laundry and have everything you need to feel comfortable.

Although the rooms were fantastic, the best part about staying here was the hospitality. Francesco, his mother and Frederica were top notch. Francesco met us at his bar (fast bar), carried my luggage up the stairs and spent about 20 minutes telling us all we needed to know in order to enjoy our stay in Cinque Terre. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, and his family couldn't have been nicer. His mother even did our laundry, which I felt terrible about, however we were traveling for a month so this a wonderful bonus.

We also went to check out Francesco's fast bar one night which was packed with younger travelers. Even though it was so busy, Francesco made us feel like VIPs. Great night.

Last but not least, my husband left his wallet in the room and didn't notice until we were on the train to Florence. He was of course freaking out, but I wasn't. I had a sneaking suspicion that ounce we got to Florence, there would be an email waiting for us.....and there was. Francesco had tried to find us at the train station when the cleaning help found the wallet, but we had already left. He then mailed it to us in London which got there before we left for the states.

Overall our stay was amazing, literally amazing. Staying here made our time in Cinque Terre (which in itself is a must if traveling through italy) that much better. We will be coming back here to celebrate an anniversary in the future and I have recommended ll Timone Lerta to all of my friends that live in Europe as the place to be when in Cinque Terre. Thank you Francesco and you family for a wonderful experience. Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Ciao!!Thank you so much for writing such a beautiful review about our work and place.It was very nice o f you to' say that:we are pretty glad you had fun here in Monterosso and you enjoyed yourselves.It makes us so happy and proud!!!
Thanks a lot for appreciating our work and our commitment.
I 'd like so much to see you guys again here:i really hope soon.
Greetings from Cinque Terre.
Warm Regards,
Francesco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our group of 5 booked all 3 rooms. To a person, we were pleased and charmed far beyond our expectations. Federica and Francesco were the best hosts ever...absolutely every detail was handled from arrival through departure. The bedrooms and private baths are perfect...the rooftop breakfasts with panoramic views were unsurpassed.

We will all recommend Il Timone to all our friends.

Sincerely, Bob, for the Happiest Guests Ever!

Room Tip: I lvoed the glorious veiw over the Village from our room (Santa Maria).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollcus, Owner at Il Timone Camere, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Ciao Bob,Thank you so much for writing such a beautiful review.We are so glad that you guys enjoyed your stay here in Monerosso by us.You've been Kind and good guests as well.
It is very important to' know that you appreciated our work.
Hope to' see you and your wife again soon here.
Grazie mille to' recommend "Il Timone"to' all yours friends:we can't wait to' have all them as our guests.
Many greetings from Monterosso!!
Regards,
Francesco&Federica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#4 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
399 reviews
5.4 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Souvenir
Hotel Souvenir
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Timone Camere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Timone Camere

Property: Il Timone Camere
Address: Via Roma 75, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Timone Camere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Timone Camere Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Il Timone Camere Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing