We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location cute and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stella della Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2009

You don't expect 5 star in Cinque Terre as there really aren't any, but that is the beauty of it. Tracking down accommodation can be difficult. The region is simply stunning the walks/hikes, food and wine are just lovely. This simple little Albergo is well tended the staff are lovely. The hike up stairs to the rooms when you arrive can be a bit daunting but it is all part of its charm. The Albergo is a little rabbit warren right in the heart of the little town. The breakfast terrace, which you can also use anytime of the day, is very charming and has wonderful views of different aspects of the town. The rooms are basic but clean. We would return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2xNZTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 423 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed here at the end of May for 3 nights. We had tried to book in a cheaper place that was full and the owner sent us to the Stella for the same rate. The place is very quaint and old school. I saw some of the reviews about security and stairs etc. The Monterosso area is very safe (unlike other parts of Italy) and the hotel very family like. It's old, but well maintained. The breakfast is great, Elena the gal at the desk was so nice and helpful. We did have the climb the stairs to the 5th floor but the view was worth it and we needed to work off the food anyways. We loved everything about the Cinque, the Stella and the people and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchman1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were charming and ours had a sea view. Be warned, however, that the only rooms with a view are on the 5th floor (that's the 6th to us Americans!). That's quite a few steps with your luggage. However, we were warned about this when we requested the rooms and thought it was worth it. The other perk for this is if you are two couples traveling together or a family, there are only two rooms on this floor, so it is very private. Very nice reception at the desk with plenty of information about the area. There are several good resturants on the little lane, but nothing in Montorosso is far away. Extensive breakfast buffet.

The only real downside was the shower. I had three showers and never consistently got even warm water for any of them (of course, my travel companions all had very hot showers - figures).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Skeddadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Monterosso was amazing, the hotel was pretty good. We really loved the breakfast and the terrace, eggs made to order and a nice view of the town. The staff was also very friendly. The stairs were a bit much, 5th floor and no lift. Not recommended for older people or disabled. We traveled Italy on a budget on sought out the more affordable hotels. With that in mind I have to give the Stella Della Marina pretty high marks, though my wife wants to spend more money on better places for our next trip. We do plan to return to Monterosso, and I would consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JasonMTruckeeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We arrived in Monterosso without a booking (that is another story) and stumbled on this place up a little cobbled lane. The two Italian women sitting at the front door did not speak a work of English but a younger women assisted us and confirmed a room was available. We paid 130 Euro a night which is pretty expensive and more than we were planning to spend, however we had knocked on several other doors and they were all booked out. It was peak time after all. After climbing 68 very steep steps with our luggage we arrive at room 51 which had 2 windows, one overlooking the lively cobbled street below and the other onto the terrace where breakfast is served. If your are not able to walk up very steep steps carrying your luggage forget it. I looked on it as very good exercise. The room is basic but clean, friendly and decorated in warm homely colours. We had our own shower and toilet. Maybe we had the best room with regard to the view, but I'm not sure. All I can say is we loved it. We could climb out the window on to the terrace and the view was spectacular. The ocean with view to marina and fishing boats and the church bell tower. Waking up to the bells chiming was magical but to some maybe it could be annoying. The location is about 5 - 7 minutes walk from the Monterosso train station and right in the heart of the old part of Monetrosso. Restaurants are right at the door and it was the perfect location for us to walk the Cinque Terra. We loved it so much we asked if we could stay another 2 nights, which we did. Breakfast was one of the best we have had in Italy (except for Mama Camilla's in Sorrento which was spectacular). Fruit, croissants, bacon, eggs, omelets, cheese, meats, muesli and other cereals, cakes, coffee, tea, etc. This is a rustic homely enchanting place to stay, not a cold typical hotel room.
If you are looking for a 4 star hotel, this is definitely not for you. If you want a genuine experience and be situated in the midst of the old Monterosso, see if you can get room 51, buy yourself a bottle of wine or lemoncello and sit on the terrace and soak up the view.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtticusBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

**Note - not to be confused with "Albergo Marina" which looks like a much nicer hotel!**

The only thing good about this hotel was the breakfast. Good selection and variety.

The hotel begins on the 3rd floor, so be prepared for steps. There is no security, meaning, nothing between you and the street besides the lock on your room door. The entrance is "open air" and there is a private residence on the 2nd floor.

We saw a dog from the street come into the hotel and up to the second floor where he proceded to lift his leg on a plant in the hallway. Disgusting.

The room was small, and if you get a "quad"...they throw in bunk-beds to the already tiny room.

Not impressed.

Monterosso, however was beautiful!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRobs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DIEGO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella della Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella della Marina

Address: Via Venti Settembre 11, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range: $178 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stella della Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Stella della Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Della Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing