We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Stella della Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

LOVED this hotel. Our room was charming and immaculate, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the location was the closest to perfect you could ask for. Other reviewers commented on there being no elevators, but this was no problem for us, and the staff was great helping us with our luggage. Breakfast is delicious, and served on the rooftop terrace. Every day should start with cappuccino and a view that magnificent. We will definitely come back to both Monterosso and Hotel Stella della Marina as often as possible.

Room Tip: The rooms are unique and each one we saw seemed quite nice. Ours had two floors connected by a beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    50
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
63
205
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Monterosso was our final stop on our Italian adventure and Stella della Marina was a great way to end our trip. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were quaint and quiet. The breakfast was OVER THE TOP. Made to order omelets, fresh cut fruit and cappuccinos like you've never had before. The view each morning at breakfast was breathtaking. Definitely worth waking up to. The location of the hotel was perfect. Located right in the heart of Monterosso within walking distance of the beach. Be sure to have Cinque Terre's specialty pasta, Trofie pasta, and the Gnocchi with homemade pesto at Ciak. I highly recommend Stella della Marina, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Please note: showers and bathrooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Some were local and knew about festivities and such and this was especially useful info. The Breakfast was WAY more than I expected- hearty and delicious (it is included in the price of your room!). The room was charming. It was a FANTASTIC LOCATION. I was so glad I chose this place. And what a deal! The WiFi was spotty one night, but the rest of the time came through good and clear. I just can't say enough nice things about this place. Star of the Marina indeed!!!

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor. I didn't have a problem as I travel very light, but there is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dufflyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel was what it said, great value and in a great location. Monterosso is the flattest of the Cinque Terre and the easiest to get around. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in both the old and the new towns.
The hotel has five floors. Floor five a long way up a lot of stairs but walk in to the room and open the window and you forget about the climb. The view is over the church and the marina and just fantastic.
The terrace on the fourth floor serves as the breakfast room and the breakfast provided is terrific.
The staff were friendly and helpful and overall staying at this hotel was a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask where your room is before lugging cases upstairs. If you are on an upper floor take one bag up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BubbaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The accomodation is a 2 star Italian experience with comfy beds and very very clean rooms and small bathroom but the service is just great. Max and his team went all out to make sure we were happy and well looked after. He made sure we had water before our walks, was happy to accomodate a last minute room change due to a personal matter and the breakfasts except for the juice were just great. The roof terrace is underused! Every night me and my girls bought salami and mozzarella and had our aperitif up there...

really great for the price and the location is fab!!! Best restaurant nearby is alta mare

Room Tip: depends how fit you are..no elevator..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent Location and the roof top was a must to take in the views with a bottle of wine before venturing out for dinner.Best of all was Max's friendly approach and his local knowledge which he was always keen to share.The breakfast was the best in 4 weeks traveling in Italy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Max, the manager, worked hard for us. He handled luggage, took care of repairs, and did anything he could to make our stay enjoyable.

We loved the breakfast on the roof. The food was great (be sure to ask if you want eggs, bacon and or cappuccino, and not just settle for the buffet. And the view from up there was fantastic. We often went back to the roof deck in the afternoon with a bottle of wine to enjoy the space.

The building itself is very old, and has a lot of charm. Old stone stair cases and marble walls added to the charm. The bathrooms were small, but functional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouArab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#4 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
4.3 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella della Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella della Marina

Property: Hotel Stella della Marina
Address: Via Venti Settembre 11, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stella della Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stella della Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Della Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing