We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gabriella 1 in Rimaggore was amazing!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manarola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Gabriella 1 in Rimaggore was amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed here on my honeymoon in August 2010. It was amazing! A little hard to get a hold of Gabriella when we first arrived, but she and her daughter were very nice and accomodating. Just as a note this room is about 6 flights of stairs up with no elevator. Which was fine for us and makes for great views!

The room is perfect for two people. It has a little sitting area, kitchenette, nice size comfy bed and an amazing rooftop terrace. The terrace has views of the ocean and of Riomaggore. The terrance has a table and chairs and lounge chairs perfect for laying out and soaking up the sun. The shower is a little cramped, but works great and was nice and clean. Leave the little porthole windows open at night for a cool breeze while you sleep.

I loved staying here! The price was great and I would totally recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DZKathrynE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed in "Pamela 2" in Riomaggiore.
The apartment itself was very nice - it was at the bottom of the hill, which made it not as bad on your legs as some of the others we saw! It was on the third floor though, so you still get quite a nice workout. The balcony was gorgeous, with a great view of the water. The shower....I don't even know what to say. Yes, there was no curtain or door. Yes, it was just a handheld knob. Yes, you couldn't fully stand-up without soaking teh room or falling over, as there was a. step in the tub. Words can't really describe what an experience it was to try to shower after a long exhausting day of hiking! There is a standing fan in the bedroom though, which helped quite a bit with the heatwave they were experiencing while we were there.
Pamela herself, i will say, left a bit to be desired. We were told to call her when we arrived at the train station, so she could show us to the apartment. When I couldn't understand where she wanted us to meet her (since we had never been there before, and didn't know the area!) she hung up on us. When we did arrive, carrying our luggage and sweating, she practically ran down the street and up the stairs, leaving us to chase after her. Along the way she yelled things back to us about light switches, keys, etc, and then yelled at us again later that evening when we (surprise!) got it wrong, having compaletely missed it the first time.
So I would just say- force her to slow down, and you will be fine. It was a good location, and a decent place to stay.
One last heads-up - the apartment overlooks a little square where kids play (loudly!) - so if you plan to nap with the windows open...you may want to re-think that :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacers28NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Since this is a group of different houses I can only comment on Giorgio 2 in Manarola.

Our stay of 4 days was stunning. Giorgio 2 was clean, no spotless, with a killer view. Having a kitchen was a bonus, coffee first thing in the morning! The balcony had afternoon sun and every room in the place had a view. We would go back in an instant.

Every great place has its downsides. Make sure you have a cell phone to call Claudio when you get to town. Be prepared to walk uphill, the hills are steep and their are plenty of stairs. That is not a fault of Claudio 2, that is just the nature of Manarola. As with most things in Cinque Terre, be prepared to pay in cash. Some of the reviews state that the second bedroom is small and has a tight stairway, that is true. It would be good for someone who is extremely agile but otherwise this is a unit for 2.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liferaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Positives first: Claudio was very responsive to all my emails, and although he was not available when we arrived, his very nice wife met us and showed us to the apartment and tried to help us find a place to stay for an extra night. Service was very good. The view from the terrace is outstanding and the bedroom on the first floor is very nice with lots of storage and the terrace. I think the cost of the apartment was very reasonable. It's a steep walk to the apartment but that's why the view is so good. It's a few doors down from a great restaurant Trattoria del Billy.

Now for the negatives: Because I was traveling with a girlfriend, we asked to have the second bedroom available. I knew from the pictures that it was up a winding staircase, so that was not a surprise. But calling it a bedroom is a stretch. There's a twin folding bed with an okay mattress and a small nightstand with a lamp and that's it. Nowhere to hang clothes and no drawers, so I left my suitcases under the stairwell in the kitchen and just carried up what I needed which meant lots more trips up the staircase. The room stayed illuminated all night thanks to a streetlight. The window is frosted, but no curtain. It was very difficult to sleep and I was wishing I had a sleeping mask. I was very glad I did not have to use the bathroom during the night as the staircase is steep and narrow. For these reasons, I'd only recommend this apartment to couples using just the ground floor bedroom, or possibly a couple with a teenager.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjfcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

If I could go to sleep and wake up every night in this place, I'd never have a gray hair.
This is not one hotel, it's a collection of hotels and available rooms that have banded together to provide a service to the outside world. I stayed in Riomaggiore, Luciano 3. I was stunned at the cleanliness, the fact that a representative met me at the train station and walked with me, even carrying one of my bags.

Yes, there are a lot, a lot, a lot of stairs. Do not bring a giant suitcase or you will be sad. Mine is about 2.5'x18" and is about the max of what I would want to carry up and down the stairs. It's exercise!

If you're looking for turn-down service, this isn't your place. It's a room in which you get to experience an apartment in Riomaggiore, the sound of the ocean crashing into the rocks below, and the occasional drunken, obnoxious tourist ruining the sounds of a small village.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phreddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Claudio the host of acasa terre is simply charming and a wonderful host, and adds to the experience of the trip to Manarola! (www.acasa5terre.it - for more info on his services - cooking,painting classes, etc.) The apartment we rented, the Giorgio 2 in Manarola, was just like the pictures on his website - immaculate, recently renovated, comfortable, and with a million dollar view of the harbor, the sea and the quaint little town. We had a roomy deck to relax on and enjoy the views while dining on meals we made after shopping in the little market in town. We've traveled around quite a bit, and this was a wonderful treat compared to many other apartments we've rented! Highly recommend. We found Claudio to be quite prompt with his emails - within 12 hours, which is acceptable, based on the time change, etc. And he was very accessible by phone, to coordinate meeting us in town to show us to the apartment. What a great trip - Thanks Claudio!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matinaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Our family of four stayed in Francesca 1 in May while we traveled in Italy for a month. It was the one place we all said we would return to if we have the opportunity. We LOVED Manarola and our apartment was perfect. It had the most spectacular view of the sea and the village. The apartment was clean and is just as described by the website. The bedrooms are large and roomy. The kitchen was well-stocked with dishes, etc. The living and dining areas are together in one room. There are two comfy chairs, so not really enough for a family, but we sat on the balcony most of the time, so it didn't matter.

Our preference of towns to stay would still be Manarola. It is a lovely fishing village that is just touristy enough to have great restaurants. Vernazza was too busy and feels more touristy. Monterosso would be our second choice with the lovely ocean front walk and beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arpaiu
Arpaiu
#4 of 17 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vandiris
Vandiris
#8 of 19 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere San Giorgio
Affittacamere San Giorgio
#2 of 17 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da Paulin Rooms and apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola

Property: A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola
Address: 20, Via Di Corniglia, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Manarola
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Casa Cinque Terre is a family-run business located in Manarola. With our network of collaborators we provide our guests with attentive and personalized service during their stay in the Cinque Terre. Each of our offerings is a private apartment for private rental. A Casa also offers activities like cooking classes, wine tasting, yacht rental and day cruises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Casa Cinque Terre Manarola Hotel Manarola
A Casa Cinque Terre Manarola Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing