We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blu Mare apartment - a little piece of heaven”
Review of Alla Porta Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Porta Rossa
Ranked #12 of 18 Manarola B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2007

We visited Cinque Terre in July and booked under a week before travelling. The Blu Mare apartment is not for those who don't like to climb - it's perched high up in Manarola with a decent climb up steps to get there. However, every step is worth it. The terrace alone makes this apartment. The view of the harbour at Manarola is offset by the real vine growing overhead with bunches of grapes hanging through the trellis. The terrace is a good size and can be accessed from the kitchen or the main bedroom. A second small single room is also in place but you spend every minute you can on the fabulous west facing terrace.

The apartment is simple and comfortable and the view is spectacular. Manarola is one of the quieter villages of Cinque Terre with rail access to the other four easily available. You can swim in the harbour and from the rocks in all bar stormy conditions and there are a number of excellent and friendly restaurants.

Cinque Terre is unbelievably beautiful, has fantastic walking (if you have good knees), excellent public transport and while there are a lot of visitors it also has a real character. The place is almost inconceivably romantic and this apartment would be a perfect place to go with someone with whom you are in love.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank TravellingKIttyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2007

We have just returned from 5 days in Cinque Terre, staying at Alla Porta Rossa in Manarola and would absolutely recommend it! We stayed in the Raggio de Luna apartment which was perfect, with a bedroom and bathroom downstairs and a small kitchen leading out on to a terrace upstairs. The views of the sea from the terrace are simply amazing, and it was the perfect place to have breakfast or dinner to the sound of the waves crashing below. Barbara and Laudina were both really helpful & gave us great advice on restaurants etc to try in the area (Marina Piccolo and Trattoria Dal Billy). Plus we were able to leave our suitcases in their office until 5pm on our last day so that we could do a boat trip to Portovenere. We spent time in each of the 5 towns and loved them all (especially Vernazza and our day on the beach in Monteresso) but we loved coming home to Manarola & Alla Porta Rossa in the evening.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank GEGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

We had heard that we must visit Cinque Terre on our Italy trip. Our travel agent emailed, inquiring about Alla Porta Rossa, and Barbara responded. We are so thankful that she did, as our stay there in Manarola was absolutely wonderful. There were six in our party and the apartment was perfect for us. It had three lovely bedrooms and a breath-taking view from the balcony where we enjoyed eating and relaxing. We would strongly urge everyone to include Cinque Terre in their Italy itinerary and reccommend staying in Manarola's Alla Porta Rossa. It was trul;y paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ArkansasSmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

My husband and I recently travelled throughout Europe & part of our stay was at Alla Porta Rossa Hotel in Manarola. We absolutely loved it here. Our room was so cozy & romantic with a lovely view of the ocean. Barbara the owner had a wonderful personality & always made us feel welcomed with her warm smile & sincere interest in how were enjoying our stay. Cinque Terra is amazing & after visiting all 5 towns we felt Manarola is the jewel of them all. We loved wandering through the town & hiking in the terraces where you could see an amazing view of the area. I highly recommend visiting this truly beautiful place and if your looking for a romantic accomodation, you will not be disspointed at Alla Porta Rossa.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

A friend and I stayed in the Creme de Caramel apartment in Manarola this past May--truly, it was one of the most beautiful spots and views I have seen. This particular room was the size of a large studio, with a comfortable queen size bed and a pull out couch; the apartment was lovely and very well stocked--we cooked in several nights. But the true draw was the terrace, which was unbelievable. Large, with views of the ocean, distant pastel-colored villages and the terraced hills in the front; open ocean from the terrace in the rear. We spent many sunsets on both. Though Alla Porta Rossa runs apartments, not hotels, the service was wonderful (we had maid service every day but one), and we were able to find everything we needed in the apartment, from corkscrews to coffeemakers. I highly recommend it!

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank romewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Alla Porta Rossa was my favorite hotel of the four I stayed in while in Italy. I stayed in one of the rooms (not apartments, although they looked wonderful too). It had a small balcony with a view of the sea, was nicely decorated and had a beautiful bathroom. Checkin is not like a normal front desk checkin, you will need to coordinate your arrival time. Barbara was very patient and accommodating during my pre-arrival emails and phone calls. It is a little bit of a walk up the hill and as mentioned in another review, there were little old Italian ladies that sat outside the building talking and sewing, everyday. It was absolutely perfect. I do wish that they provided breakfast, but there were a few snacks in the room and very good chocolates on the pillow when I arrived. I tried to extend my stay because I loved it so much, but they were booked. I can understand why, it was great!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HD1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

My husband and I flew last July to Milano, from where we took the train to Manarola (about 20 € one way). We stayed in Alla Porta Rossa for four nights. We would have liked to book an apartment, but since they required a minimum of 5 nights stay , we booked one of their rooms, as we couldn´t change our flight tickets.

We had a room with a window to the sea and a balcony (we recommend this instead of the room next door). The room was quite basic, clean, and small, as was the balcony. However, we were happy to even get a room with such short notice, and considering that we were in the room only for the nights (sleeping), we didn´t mind.

It is quite an easy walk up to Alla Porta Rossa reception from the train station. It is a quiet area, where you will have the local ladies knitting, playing cards and talking to each other outside during the evenings. Charming! Barbara was also very helpful before arrival and responded to all my inquiries very quickly, and she had a nice surprise for us upon arrival.

Manarola is a quiet place all in all, and we loved it there. We made day trips to Portofino and all the other small Cinque Terre villages (with boat). We also fell in love with Vernazza, which would have been a great place to stay as well. Very cosy, more lively, extremely beautiful. But the trains go late between the villages, so it doesn´t matter that much where you are staying.

We recommend the walk from Vernazza to Monterosso, as well as from Manarola to RioMaggiore. The boat trip to Portofino was also beautiful.

The only "negative" thing we experienced (which is very typical for Italy) was the last night in Manarola, when we were going to buy our train tickets for the next morning to Milano --- a train strike was starting during the night lasting the entire next day! Our last evening, which we had planned to be "calm and nice, enjoying a good meal with wine, and participating in the festivities in Vernazza" turned out to be everything but that, when we had to start arranging for a way to get from Cinque Terre to Milano. So please remember to take this into consideration: train strikes are quite normal in Italy :)

Attached you will find two pictures taken with my mobile phone.

This summer we are going to the Amalfi coast and Capri, which we are lookign forward to as well.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
4.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
629 reviews
3.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#14 of 39 in Vernazza
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
#10 of 18 in Manarola
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vento di Mare
Vento di Mare
#4 of 32 in Riomaggiore
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#5 of 32 in Riomaggiore
389 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marvit Affitta Camere
Marvit Affitta Camere
#4 of 153 in Cinque Terre
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Porta Rossa

Address: via Aldo Rollandi | 246, 19010 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range: $130 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alla Porta Rossa in Manarola/Cinque Terre in the heart of the National Park. We can offer rooms & apartments with stunning view over the blu sea, the "little marina" with its inlet and the magic village... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alla Porta Rossa Hotel Manarola
Alla Porta Rossa Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing