We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little room in the best town”
Review of Alla Porta Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Porta Rossa
Ranked #11 of 19 Manarola B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in one of the Eco rooms, it was clean, comfortable with a mini balcony with a gorgeous view. It was situated away from the main street, so it was nice and quiet.

Barbara was so helpful from the outset, and even nicer in person.

Manarola ended up being a good choice, like others have said it is less touristy and very relaxed. Also had THE best pistachio gelato of my life just down from our room.

Also Alla Porta Rossa is easily accessed from the train station. Yes, it is all up hill but not a lot of winding stairs to carry your luggage up!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

On our 3 week trip of Italy, my husband and I stayed at this gorgeous place for only 1 night and I can guarantee that of all the places we saw, we would return to Manarola and Alla porta rossa again and again. The view was perfect with the perfect balcony to see the sea, mountains and village.

The apartment had everything you could ever ask for and more. The design of the place was so stylish and Barbara was so beautiful that we have even befriended her. Ciao barbara... You are welcome to our place anytime.

Definately stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mg121209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laudina, Proprietario at Alla Porta Rossa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you soooo much for your kind words! It has been a pleasure to meet you by chance, you have been so lovely. The sweet present you gave me upon your check out is always with me! Can't wait to meet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and fell in love with the town of manarola, the prettiest of the five in our opinion. We walk the high walk and the low walk, amazing views of the sea, olive groves and grape vines. The high walk shows the true nature of the hard working people of the area. Will be going back for sure. The room was everything and more. Location close to main area.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for choosing our property for your 4 night stay here in Manarola. And thank you for your time in writing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place has the best decor of any place I've ever stayed anywhere! We loved it! The location was also fantastic--away from the noise of the main street, but still very accessible. We visited all 5 Cinque Terre towns and Manarola was the most beautiful at night. It was also more affordable and less touristy than most of the others. It was also the best town we swam in--no beach, but some rocks near a crystal clear swimming cove. The owners of Alla Porta Rossa were very friendly and helpful, even though their English was very limited. Great AC. My only complaint is that it was a little pricey.

Room Tip: Sapore di Sol was beautiful! It had balcony with a view and gorgeous modern fixtures and decor. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in the newest 1-room flat (I don't know the name, sorry!) for three nights in the middle of a two-week trip. Upon arriving, we immediately asked Barbara for an extra night. Though we didn't speak any Italian and she did not speak English, she could not have been nicer.

The flat was amazing - a wonderful break from the cities we had been in up until that point. Impeccably clean, very well equipped with kitchen supplies, coffee, toiletries, laundry supplies, maps and guides, etc.

The location was close to town, but still up high enough to have a great view of the water.

Bottom line - if I had known how much I was going to love Cinque Terre and how nice the Alla Porta Rossa was, we would have spent our entire two weeks here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear guest, thank you! No words enough to thank you! Look forward to meeting you soon again in "your" paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in the top room Creme Caramel and it was superb.Views to die for, large balcony front and back and a kitchen with an automatic washing machine/dish washer(if you are going to cook your own meals then everything you need is there). As with most villages on the Cinque Terre you have to walk or train everywhere and they are steep villages with lots of steps and hills. You can take a car there but you have to leave it at the top car park and walk down into the town.There are a number of restaurants i the village plus one that does breakfast. Meals are reasonably priced and very good. Barbara (proprietess) is very helpful and charming.Manarola stole our hearts in 2010 and again in 2012 and with bit of luck again in 2014.

Room Tip: Top room(Creme Caramel) has the best view and a balcony with heaps of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for choosing us again! It has been a pleasure to meet you here again! Can't wait to seen you in 2014! :) Barbara & Laudina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here on our way from Florence to Venice, and wish we could have stayed longer. It was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Raggio di Luna apartment and could not have asked for more. The view from the balcony was stunning. The weather was perfect. We kept our windows open and would fall asleep with the sound of the waves crashing below us. Although it is somewhat a hike up the stairs to get to the apartment, it is easy to see that most of the town is built that way. Also, our room was a very short walk to Billys (yum!). We did not get to meet Barbara, as she was working, but her father Orfeo checked us in. Now although he spoke limited English, he was very welcoming and suggested the Marina Piccola for dinner (also very good food, though service wasnt excellent). Manarola is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed and are very anxious to return. Must do the walk of love, and try the pesto. It is amazing!

Room Tip: Raggio di Luna has balcony view of the ocean, terrace area, with optional kitchen use for extra pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear guest, grazie so much! It make me happy to know that you did enjoy your stay with us! Hope to meet you next time... Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
4.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#14 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
0 mi away
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
#12 of 19 in Manarola
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Porta Rossa

Address: via Aldo Rollandi | 246, 19010 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range: $130 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alla Porta Rossa in Manarola/Cinque Terre in the heart of the National Park. We can offer rooms & apartments with stunning view over the blu sea, the "little marina" with its inlet and the magic village... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alla Porta Rossa Hotel Manarola
Alla Porta Rossa Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing