We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Alla Porta Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Porta Rossa
Ranked #12 of 19 Manarola B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here on our way from Florence to Venice, and wish we could have stayed longer. It was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Raggio di Luna apartment and could not have asked for more. The view from the balcony was stunning. The weather was perfect. We kept our windows open and would fall asleep with the sound of the waves crashing below us. Although it is somewhat a hike up the stairs to get to the apartment, it is easy to see that most of the town is built that way. Also, our room was a very short walk to Billys (yum!). We did not get to meet Barbara, as she was working, but her father Orfeo checked us in. Now although he spoke limited English, he was very welcoming and suggested the Marina Piccola for dinner (also very good food, though service wasnt excellent). Manarola is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed and are very anxious to return. Must do the walk of love, and try the pesto. It is amazing!

Room Tip: Raggio di Luna has balcony view of the ocean, terrace area, with optional kitchen use for extra pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear guest, grazie so much! It make me happy to know that you did enjoy your stay with us! Hope to meet you next time... Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 215 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Amazing view, wonderful place to stay! Newly renovated, beautifully appointed, breathtaking view, can't think of anything that was missing, except maybe an elevator. There were a lot of stairs!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morecountrysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you! Just a quick reply to thank you for choosing our property. Barbara&Laudina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were travelling on honeymoon and decided to stay in the Raggio di Luna apartment . We were so glad we did!
Barbara who greeted us was very welcoming and helpful. She showed us to the apartment which was just perfect for the two of us.
We opted to pay the small amount extra for use of the kitchen which was outside and up some small stairs in our courtyard. It was worth paying the extra just to do a load of washing. I had high hopes of cooking a meal but didn't get that far!
The view from the terrace and balcony was amazing.. Straight down the cliff to the sea.
When we arrived and went into our bedroom there were rose petals scattered on the bed- very cute.
The small windows had ocean views and with the windows open we could hear the sound of the waves crashing below which was lovely.
Would stay here again if we're lucky enough to go back :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwiinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

... and we are waiting you! Thanks a lot for staying with us! Barbara & Laudina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in the 'Sapore di Sol' for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The room was fresh, clean, decorated tastefully and has a sensational view. It is very well located only a short stroll down-hill to the main street of Manarola where there are a number of excellent restaurants and alimentari. Barbara was extremely helpful with the booking and check-in process. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Grazie mille! Thank you so much! We are really happy that the room Sapore di Sole has been a good choice for you and your wife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was a great spot for a few days of relaxation. The room was superb with beautiful views across the sea. We even were given some easter eggs on arrival. The room has a small fridge and a balcony where you can enjoy a drink and take in the view. It is a 2 minute walk down to the main street and less than a 5 minute stroll to the train station. Barbara the owner was super friendly and helpful. We loved this place and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sapore di Sol which has a great balcony with a view over the sea. The room was spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

The most important thing to us is to meet our guets' needs and we are really happy when you are happy and you did enjoy your stay! Thank you for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our room at Alla Porta Rossa was 'Sapore di Sol'. The view was amazing. Most hotels in Italy are tiny, and this was no exception. The room was well equipped with a small fridge, coffee-making facilities, tiny easter eggs and suprisingly good toiletries. The bed was super comfortable and we slept well. The room was spotlessly clean and made up each day.

Manarola is (in my opinion) the best of the five villages to stay in. It has excellent food and has retained its charm. It's the start of the Via del Amore walk. The path to Corniglia was closed when we went, so we caught the train instead.

I'd stay here again, definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnMyWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

We want to thank you for your very kind review and your comments. Hope to see you soon again! Barbara & Laudina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed in the Creme Caramel for 5 nights which gave us ample time to walk the trails, visit the towns and have a fair share of relaxing. Sitting on the deck with a good local wine and watching the sun go down over the Mediterranean is about as good as it gets. The room was large enough for the two of us and seemed to have all we required. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear guest, sorry for my delay in getting back to you: I really want to thank you for spending your 5 night stay here with us. Barbara & Laudina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
4.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
631 reviews
3.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#12 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vento di Mare
Vento di Mare
#4 of 32 in Riomaggiore
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
#11 of 19 in Manarola
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#5 of 32 in Riomaggiore
389 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marvit Affitta Camere
Marvit Affitta Camere
#6 of 154 in Cinque Terre
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Porta Rossa

Address: via Aldo Rollandi | 246, 19010 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range: $127 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alla Porta Rossa in Manarola/Cinque Terre in the heart of the National Park. We can offer rooms & apartments with stunning view over the blu sea, the "little marina" with its inlet and the magic village... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alla Porta Rossa Hotel Manarola
Alla Porta Rossa Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing