We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, just avoid one room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Torretta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Torretta
Ranked #1 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, just avoid one room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Had one of the best experiences at La Toretta with gab and crew. Called ahead from la spezia to inform time of arrival and golf cart was waiting at train station. This luggage ferry service is essential if you have heavy bags and dislike steep inclines.
Greeted with warmest hospitality with canapé and sparkling wine. Check in was fast. We booked the room directly above the reception counter.
Room was quaint, cosy, done up in a rustic country Italian style with antique furniture. Bottle of champagne awaited with a free mini bar. All was good till... The phone rang. Echos reverberated from reception counter to our room and soon everything from conversations, laughter and phone ringing to door slamming were commonplace.
Good if you spend the whole day out. At night, though reception is closed, occasional guests from other rooms bang on the reception door thinking the house keepers stay above. Really disturbing.
Breakfast, served in the room, was a decent spread but lacked cold cuts. Just 2 bread and 2 pastries, yoghurt, some fruits and juice.
Service was amazing and more than made up for our inconveniences. We had to leave at 6am and they were so kind to prepack breakfast the night before and left in our room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldtanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    49
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
360
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I wanted to go somewhere special for my husband's birthday, so decided to splash out and book in at La Toretta. The room and view was gorgeous, the staff are really helpful and it's nice to have a mini bar you can raid for no extra charge!

Cinque Terre is one of my favourite places, and staying at this lovely hotel certainly helped make it one of my fondest memories.

The only thing to be aware of is that it is next to a church and you may be woken by the bells chiming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisA_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful one night stay in this hotel on our honeymoon. Easy to reach from the Manarola train station, it is a 10 minute walk uphill. A quick call to the hotel and they can assist with baggage either in person or sometimes even by golf cart. Every room has great views of the water and the minibar is included in the room. This is very thoughtful and includes soda, wine, and brandy. The room was spacious and the bathroom amenities were top notch. We were greeted with a welcoming snack and champagne and the evening happy hour was also very tasty. This hotel goes out of their way to make you happy and even have a hot tub that you can reserve in advance and is included in the room rate. Stay here. You will not be disappointed. The room decor was also about the nicest quality we've seen in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObanSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although the climb up to here was tough with luggage, it was well worth the climb. Once we arrived, we were served a drink along with snacks and made to feel very welcomed. If we had known our arrival time, Gabrile would have met us at the train station. Our room was small but the terrace and the view were stunning. The room was wonderfully appointed and luxurious. Breakfast was served in the room and cocktails and appetizers in the evening. Gabriele and the staff were very helpful. Highly recommend this if traveling to Manarola. We loved this place!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a terrace and view as they are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Manarola. Gabriele and the staff (Terry) made our stay so enjoyable. We were greeted with complimentary prosecco and shown to our room. We had a very small double room with a balcony and sea view. Free wine and snacks from 5 - 6:30. Great recommendations for activities in Cinque Terre, and managed all our dinner reservations. Our breakfast (included) was served in the morning on our balcony, although it could also be served in the solarium. The view from the common areas (lobby, solarium) is stunning. The hotel has many steps so this should be considered if you have physical challenges. It is also a hike to any of the restaurants or train/shopping area.This was a quaint, intimate, responsive environment. We loved every minute of our time here!!!

Room Tip: Check for rooms in the main building as they are a little larger (more expensive).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIG416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wonderful staff, wonderful location, authentic Italian feel, great views, would go back in a heartbeat! Gabriela was always available to help with travel questions..La Torretta was quaint and offered a unique vacation experience..would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schroomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived around 5pm on Friday to La Torretta after a hectic day of traveling from the US. The staff was so wonderful from the moment we stepped onto the terrace. We were welcomed with a glass each of Prosecco, and we shown to our room, which had a private balcony as well. The views were stunning! We stayed in the "1 Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View" and requested the double (room 5). The room was very small, like all rooms in Italy, but we had a private bath with a decent sized shower stall. Every day they have a complimentary wine tasting on the shared terrace with snacks. The breakfast was brought to our room each morning and was tasty!. The espresso machine in our room was also a welcome treat. The restaurant suggestions we received were great, and all the food was delicious. If we ever come back to the Cinque Terre we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandTtraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 31 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta

Property: La Torretta
Address: Vicolo Volto 20 | Piazza della Chiesa, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Hotel Manarola
La Torretta Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing